We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Experience!!!!”

Private Greece Tours
Ranked #2 of 296 Tours in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Our private tours are exactly what you need so as to avoid the monotony of typical tour itineraries and the chaos of big tour groups. Our private tours take you to places and areas that big buses can't reach and offer you the flexibility to stop anywhere, anytime for whatever reason (photos, lunch brake, health needs etc). We are happy to offer you the rarest luxury of our times, individuality, in very competitive prices. You will just sit back and enjoy the personal attention given by your guide who will be willing to satisfy your requests with professionalism and courtesy.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Stairs / lift
Chicago, IL
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Fantastic Experience!!!!”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We were a group of seven (4 adults and 3 teenage girls) and spent the day in Athens with Dominique. He picked us up at our cruise ship right on time in a very comfortable touring bus/van. We saw all the major sites in Athens and appreciated his super knowledge of Athens and it's amazing history. Dominique was a great guide and he also was very flexible about staying longer at one place or shorter at another. We loved ending our day at a lookout spot which overlooked the Acropolis and city of Athens. It was an amazing day! We highly recommend their services!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank AMChicagoIL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,089 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,015
    58
    8
    3
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Allendale, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A wonderful day in Athens”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We just returned from a cruise on the Norwegian Jade that included a day in Athens. Before leaving home, we had arranged a full day tour for our married children and ourselves (6 people) with Nikos Loukas and Private Greece Tours. We decided to just have a driver and car rather than an additional guide, which turned out to be an excellent decision. Our driver, Dominick,met us at the cruise pier at 8 AM in order to avoid the heat and the crowds at the Acropolis and other sites. Dominick was thoroughly knowledgeable about the history and culture of Athens. Before we reached each site, Dominick gave a detailed explanation of what we were about to see. He took us to the Acropolis and other important ruins and then to the changing of the guards (not to be missed!). He brought us to the Placa for lunch, where we chose a restaurant and had typical Greek food. Private Greece Tours is very professional, well-organized and I highly recommend them to anyone with a day to spend in Athens.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank joanieh6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redwood City, California
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“BEST Experience!”
Reviewed 16 August 2014

We just returned from a 12 day cruise about the Norwegian Spirit, which included a full day stop in Athens. Prior to leaving for our cruise, we did our research and booked a full day private tour in Athens with Private Greece Tours. All our communication with the firm prior to departure was wonderful, and all done via email. The responses were quick, and everything was simple.
We were met at the ship by Mikas, our driver for the day. Mind you, in Greece (as in many other places) drivers are NOT allowed to go with you through the various sites - they are not licensed tour guides. But with Mikas this really was never an issue for us, as whenever we arrived at a location, Mikas would walk us through all the traditional tour guide information, and prepared us very well for what we were going to go see.
Mikas seemed to know everyone wherever we went - including the military folks at the Changing of the Guard at the palace. He took us to the furthest reaches (one of the distant hills in Athens) for stunning panoramic pictures of Athens, with the Acropolis in the distance, and the sparkling sea behind it.
He took us to a wonderful area for lunch, and while not recommending any specific place (I am always leery of a driver taking us to ONE place for lunch), what we found was an array of marvelous small cafes. Lunch was wonderful. Then, on the way back to the ship, Mikas took us by an amazing pastry and desert place - we just had to have our Baklava! When we returned to the ship, Mikas gave our daughters a book that he had signed for them.
Truly a WONDERFUL experience. I recommend Private Greece Tours VERY highly, and would always ask for Mikas!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank jonvanb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Athens in a half day”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We had only a day in Athens prior to leaving for Santorini. We booked the half day tour, but got in earlier than expected and asked to extend our tour to 5 hours rather than 4. Dominic picked us up at our airport hotel, took us to see all the highlights (Parthenon, Temple of Zeus, Olympic Stadium, Plaka, scenic vistas), and returned us to our hotel later than we originally booked because he wanted to make sure we got to do everything. The company was a pleasure to work with, and a great way to hit all the sights in a limited time. Only thing we did not do was New Acropolis Museum, which we heard was wonderful.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank MbSanabria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A great day - could not have asked for more!”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We were in Athens for one day as part of a Med cruise. I had tried to book an excursion with our cruise line but all were full, so decided to try my luck organizing my own trip. I was a bit hesitant, since the cruise emphasized how it thoroughly vetted the tours and would hold the ship if a tour was late, but when I saw the great reviews for PGT I decided to give it a try. I had excellent and speedy email discussions w/Nikos before we left so had a very good understanding of what we would do, and the whole day was a success in every way. We had a great driver, Alex, who was easy to find at the port, helped us see all the beautiful sites efficiently and had wonderful engaging explanations and history. The car was spotless, we could leave our stuff in it safely, and Alex was a safe and reliable driver. If he said he would meet us somewhere at a specific time, he was there, smiling, a few minutes early. We saw so many things (Acropolis, changing of the guards, olympic stadium, ancient agora, temple of Zeus, Athens' highest spot, shopping and delicious lunch in Plaka, etc.) and it was so fun for all of us (including 2 kids, ages 13 and 10). And we made it back to the ship on time! I cannot recommend it enough. I hope we have a chance to return, and would definitely book with PGT and hope for Alex! Thanks PGT!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Karen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Private Greece Tours also viewed

 

Been to Private Greece Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing