We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Acropolis Hill Hotel
Ranked #25 of 282 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Stayed at the hotel for two nights in August after spending 3 weeks in the Cyclades. Had stayed there last year for a week the previous year and so requested rooms on the front with views of the acropolis, which i am happy to say we got. The hotel is modern and clean and the rooms are of a good size with a lovely bathroom. A bonus for me was the roof terrace with amazing views of the Acropolis and the Parthenon and also the city of Athens up to Piraeus. There is a good seletion for breakfast which sets you up for a day walking in the amazing city. The staff were very friendly and helpful.
I think the hotel would benefit from providing tea and coffee faciities in the room.
I will deffinately visit the hotel again on future visits to Athens.

Room Tip: rooms ending in 501 502 503 504 505 601 602 603 604 605 have views of the Acropolis.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Melanie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (749)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

301 - 307 of 749 reviews

Reviewed 2 September 2013

We stayed at the Acropolis Hill Hotel for two nights in September. We downloaded the instructions from the website on how to find it before we left and tried to follow them from the Acropoli Metro station. The instructions are not clear and difficult to follow and we ended up walking up and down the main pedestrian plaza trying to find Giravaldi Street - we then tried to get a taxi but the taxi would not take us as he said it was only ten minutes away. A good hour later - hot, dragging two suitcases in the dark, we finally found someone to point us in the right direction and we found the hotel. We pointed this out to the receptionist who informed us we needed to get off at the next Metro station...why this is not in the instructions on their web site he could not explain. We had requested a room with a view of the Acropolis and a double bed so were disappointed to have no view and two single beds. Too hot and tired to deal with it we expressed our disappointment with the receptionist and left it. On the positive side, the hotel in situated close to the Acropolis area so you can walk there easily and from there to some of the other points of interest in Athens. The beds are comfortable, the pool a welcome respite after a long hot day of sight seeing. The breakfast is good and plentiful and offered plenty of variety plus fresh fruit which is always welcome. The staff are pleasant and helpful. Wifi is free but can be a bit intermittent. The roof courtyard is a lovely spot to take your drink and look out over the city and the Acropolis - we had the bonus of being able to hear a concert from up there while enjoying our drinks. The staff even ordered in pizza for us which was delivered to the roof courtyard so we would recommend this hotel - but a word of advice - get a taxi or some better directions to get here.

Room Tip: Request an Acropolis view and hope for the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aotearoanz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TourHotel, General Manager at Acropolis Hill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor.
We were very sorry to hear that you had trouble reaching the hotel. The instructions on our website show that we can be reached from either the Acropolis Metro station or the Fix Metro station. However, we recommend guests get off at the Acropolis Metro station as the walk to the hotel is easier and indicated as preferable by many of our guests.

Concerning your request for a room with an Acropolis view, please accept our apologies for the disappointment this might have caused you. Whilst we try to satisfy all our guest’s requests, we are sorry that we were not able to do so on this occasion.

We were very glad to hear that you enjoyed the proximity of the location to the sights and other points of interest. Also, that you found the rooms comfortable, the pool refreshing and the variety offered at the breakfast buffet to your liking. The view from the rooftop terrace is admittedly breathtaking and even more so if you can hear the music from a concert taking place in the ancient theater!

We will be sure to pass on your positive comments concerning our staff members about their service and making you feel so welcome during your stay.

Whenever you return to Athens it will be our pleasure to welcome you back.

With Kind Regards,
The Acropolis Hill Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

It was my second time in Athens and this time we had my mother and my son travelling with us, my husband preferred a hotel which wasn't too expensive, but had a swimming pool at the same time;kids you know :)
Their room was good,but their bathroom was very interesting.The toilet was in the back which meant if someone was showering, the other party, can't use the toilet because the shower is in the middle :)) who is the architecture ???
Our room was too small, so we asked for a change, the room next to mom's was available, so why not give it to us in the beginning.
Ok, these were the negative things, but then we started to like the hotel.The breakfast was good enough. The staff, especially the reception staff was very attentive and it was close to the center.
So as a result, we enjoyed our stay and if we go back to Athens, we will stay there one more time; not the room with the weird bath though :))

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank splashIstanbul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Small rooms. Small bathroom. Regular breakfast, horrible coffee (try the expresso from the bar)
Very good location (10 minutes walk from Acropole museum, but placed at the end of hilly road. So, if you carry heavy luggages, prepare for some effort and sweat.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Valentin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

My partner and I stayed her for 2 nights recently whilst on holidays. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The rooms were very nice, spacious and we could even see the Acropolis from our balcony. They had a fantastic breakfast buffet and a swimming pool. There was even a courtyard upstairs with an amazing view of the city. It was in a decent area too.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lauren N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

compared to the hotels of Athens, Acropolis Hill is very good and in a nice place (very close to the museum and the Acropolis. Close also to nice restaurants and bars. Modern, comfortable, triple room quite big, bathroom very clean and modern. Service very nice when we arrived in the night with our two young children ( 4 and 1). Perhaps breakfast should be proposed with better products (no fresh orange juice or fresh bread, small selection of products). We didn't try the swimming-pool. We recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank aclb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

My wife and I were booked into this smart looking hotel towards the end of our month long holiday away from New Zealand in June 2013. We were booked for one night only. We arrived very late at night off a shocking ferry ride from Santorini, to be lodged in a basement dungeon. As the porter placed our bags at the door, a cockroach the size of a mouse scuttled under our bed. Then three of his mates showed up for the party! We were so tired, we placed our bags on our bed, we crawled in as well fully clothed and "awoke" at 6.00am to get out. The room was atrocious. Dark, dinger, smelly and next to a small courtyard reminiscing of a disused carpark. The staff were not at all sympathetic and we couldn't wait to leave. Summed up Athens really!

Room Tip: Make sure you get a good room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Grant D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Omonia
Athens Center Square
Athens Center Square
#23 of 282 in Athens
1,405 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#10 of 282 in Athens
2,417 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Philippos Hotel
Philippos Hotel
#20 of 282 in Athens
1,081 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
Hermes Hotel
Hermes Hotel
#16 of 282 in Athens
1,585 reviews
Omonia
Fresh Hotel
Fresh Hotel
#28 of 282 in Athens
2,142 reviews
Plaka
Central Athens Hotel
Central Athens Hotel
#32 of 282 in Athens
1,819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acropolis Hill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acropolis Hill Hotel

Address: 7 Mousson, Athens 117 42, Greece (Formerly Austria Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Thissio / Makriyanni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 282 Hotels in Athens
Price Range: £51 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Acropolis Hill Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The brand new Acropolis Hill Hotel opened in fall 2010 to welcome its guests in one of the most privileged locations in the center of Athens. Close to Plaka, Syntagma square and Monastiraki and right under the sacred rock of Acropolis, this hotel offers contemporary facilities and hotel rooms, most of which feature Acropolis view from their private balconies. Acropolis Hill Hotel in Athens is the ideal choice for a relaxing stay in Filopappou, an evergreen area, a breath away from the most important attractions and museums. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Acropolis Hill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing