We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nothing to complain about” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Acropolis Hill Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Acropolis Hill Hotel
Ranked #22 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
63 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Nothing to complain about”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

I booked this place for the location and it was fine. The staff were very helpful when I overslept after a transatlantic flight and I made both my excursions on the day before my cruise.
One man's comment about the shower amused me, because it was the first thing I noticed when I stepped in, and the doors to the shower did not fit snugly so water was all over the floor outside the stall. I had to use all but one of the towels to mop up the flood. So much for conservation. If you don't walk well this place could be a challenge, and street lighting is not their forte.
Folks, if your 'hot' food is cold, tell them, here or anywhere in the world. Don't complain on a review forum.
I sent 2 or 3 dishes back on my cruise, cold mulligatawny soup is not enticing, and I don't reckon cold scrambled eggs would be either.
I would stay here again.

Room Tip: This hotel had a key access system I had never seen in North America. Ask how it works before you le...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank butler69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

679 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    255
    299
    79
    23
    23
See reviews for
145
291
47
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

I like this Hotel. It feels at the edge of town and in the middle of town, both remote and central; on one side Philopappou, the steep hill of the pine trees, on the on the other, the panorama of the Polis, Athens, overseen by the Acropolis. It is a clean and quite place.

Room Tip: The side opposite the Hill. The road is quite and it is north facing - the morning sun can be too st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Savas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bucharest
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013

I stayed 4 nights and i recomand this hotel to everybody:best location, nice district, near Acropolis,near Plaka, is the right place to stay if you want to visit Athens.Rooms was clean, stuff friendly, they help you with everything,speaking good english, nice rooms, nice bathrooms. The food is very good. Excellent. The metro station is very close , near Acropolis museum, but you can walk and in minutes you can be in Syntagma square, Ermou street, Monastiraki, new Agora, Old Agora. Very close is the bus station for a tour of Athens and Piraeus. For sure i will be back in this hotel.

Room Tip: higher floors have better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank claudia04051973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kusadasi, Turkey
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

I stayed there 2 nights,Acropolis ancient city was the only reason for me to go Athens.I booked Acropolis hill hotel from internet cause of the Location.I didnt imagine it will be that close to Acropolis...Rooms was clean,stuff was friendly and speaking good english they help you with everything.Its a cute quality Athens hotel.

Thank you guys..Hope to visit there again..

Yuksel Tasdemir

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank adavegasT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

We stayed here as we've previously stayed at a sister hotel. Took the metro from the airport to Sytagma Square then got a taxi from here to the hotel. The taxi driver didn't know the hotel and he tried 3 others before arriving a the Acropolis Hill although he did still charge the pre agreed €5. The room we had was long and narrow with a small double bed and a sofa that was also a single bed. There was a small balcony with excellent view of the Parthenon/Acropolis. The bathroom was small but nicely fitted although the shower head was mounted at waist height (a theme of the holiday!) but at least it didn't soak the bathroom. Staff, especially on arrival, were very helpful and were happy to assist with any requests.

Room Tip: Try to get a view but if not just go to the roof terrace and enjoy it there!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shortbreadandwhisky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banbury
Level Contributor
40 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

This hotel is really well situated for the Acropolis being just a few minutes' walk away. We had a sidelong view of the Parthenon from our window. It's also only about a 600 yard walk from the nearest Metro station but be warned - heading up to the hotel is very steep if you have heavy baggage.

The room was really tiny with it being all you could do to squeeze through the gap between the end of the bed and the wall. Perfectly clean, although I do wonder why Greek hotels seem to mount their showers at waist height or not even have a holder at all.

Breakfast was distinctly average with the scrambled eggs being stone cold both mornings.

Given that this hotel was certainly not cheap, it struggled in a few areas and I can really only give it an average rating.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Obarmoth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

Stayed her for 2 nights October, great location about 500m from bottom of acropolis entrance, good cafes nearby and easy walk to other places, hop off bus also at bottom of acropolis, hotel modern, rooms small, not luxury,but everything you need. Rates for weekend a bit steep, but that's how rates are driven these days. Staff helpful, would recommend.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank saffy55151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Thissio / Makriyanni
Philippos Hotel
Philippos Hotel
#24 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 945 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Acropolis View Hotel
Acropolis View Hotel
#44 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#15 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,077 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
Central Athens Hotel
Central Athens Hotel
#28 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,610 reviews
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#9 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,082 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Hera Hotel
Hera Hotel
#25 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acropolis Hill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acropolis Hill Hotel

Property: Acropolis Hill Hotel
Address: 7 Mousson (Filopappou), Athens 117 42, Greece (Formerly Austria Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Thissio / Makriyanni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Acropolis Hill Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The brand new Acropolis Hill Hotel opened in fall 2010 to welcome its guests in one of the most privileged locations in the center of Athens. Close to Plaka, Syntagma square and Monastiraki and right under the sacred rock of Acropolis, this hotel offers contemporary facilities and hotel rooms, most of which feature Acropolis view from their private balconies. Acropolis Hill Hotel in Athens is the ideal choice for a relaxing stay in Filopappou, an evergreen area, a breath away from the most important attractions and museums. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Acropolis Hill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing