We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Would stay again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Acropolis Hill Hotel
Ranked #27 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Plano, Texas
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Would stay again”
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Small rooms but great view of the Acropolis. Very clean. Staff was friendly and helpful. Would stay here again. Enjoyed the balcony in the evenings. Very accommodating in the restaurant as we had to leave at 7:00 am. Breakfast isn't till 8, but they had some pastry and fruit and drinks available for us

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank retireingtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

690 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    258
    305
    81
    23
    23
See reviews for
149
296
48
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Having made the booking ages in advance through Booking.com we arrived to be told there was a large party staying at the hotel and so we had been moved. Not for the duration of our 5 night stay though. Just for 2 nights, after which we had to return to acropolis view. Lucky for us the hotel they moved us to was nice, but VERY inconvenient. When you work hard and go on a short break, call me fussy but I prefer to be able to stay in one place - in the hotel I actually booked!! You are at their mercy though and they know there is nothing you can do about it. Despite some pleasant reception staff who seem thoroughly embarrassed by the hotel's way of doing business - I would still say "shame on you Acropolis View Hotel! No way to run a hotel!"

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DellT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

I have to agree with some of the other reviews. We booked online and they told us we were overbooked. After a long travel day we were exhausted and refused to go to another hotel and they somehow managed to fit us in... This makes me think they are slightly unorganized however clean, comfortable rooms with the best yogurt I've ever had In my life. We almost went back just for the yogurt lol

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank BeachBummy0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Following a very tiring 22 hour flight we arrived at our hotel only to find that they had overbooked. By way of compensation we were kindly offered a drink and asked to wait until other arriving guests were attended to. We were told another hotel of equal standing had been organised the other side of the city. We were then put in a taxi together with our luggage. However along the way the taxi collided with another taxi and this resulted in another 3/4 hour wait. By now we were totally exhausted and looking forward to settling in to our next hotel. What we found was a hotel of much lesser quality. The room was tiny and the facilities very poor. Our bed ( and I was so exhausted I thought I could sleep anywhere) was the hardest and most uncomfortable I have ever encountered. We were so very disappointed that we could have been shuttled off like that by a hotel which had had such great reviews. Nor we given a refund of the difference in price. Why had they overbooked in the first place?

Room Tip: Confirm your room is available before you arrive
See more room tips
Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Alemap50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delden, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We stayed two nights at the Acropolis Hill Hotel. It was a nice place with modern decor. Our room was small but clean with comfortable bed and decent sized shower. The internet is free and with sufficient speed. We did not had a view of the Acropolis from our room, but you can go to the 5th floor to have a nice panoramic view over Athen including the acropolis. There is an outdoor swimming pool, located on the lowest floor, surrounded by 4 walls. It would have been fun if that pool was on the 5th floor! Breakfast was included and featured a nice variety of fresh items -- yogurt, fruit, cereals, breads, etc. However the cake was rather dry....
The staff was very friendly and helpful showing us on the map where the restaurants and shops are located. You can walk to get to the Acropolis and Acropolis museum (~10minutes). There are some good local restaurants nearby (down toward the metro station).

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

On my arrival at the reception, I was shunted out to a third rate hotel (Hotel Arion) far from where I was supposed to stay. The reason was that there were no rooms available even after having a confirmed booking!!
I have nothing more to say

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
2 Thank Ravinder K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bowling Green, Ohio
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

My husband and I stayed three nights at the Acropolis Hill Hotel. It was a nice place with modern decor. Our room was small but clean with comfortable bed and decent sized shower. We had a nice view of the Acropolis from our balcony. Breakfast was included and featured a nice variety of fresh items -- yogurt, fruit, cereals, breads, etc. The have a lovely, large, outdoor patio with GREAT views of the Acropolis both day and night. The Acropolis Hill hotel is ON THE HILL so if you have difficulty walking, you should either stay somewhere else or be prepared to take a taxi to/from the hotel. We accessed the hotel from the Fix metro stop and it's a steep climb up! (We are mid-40's and decent shape but it was a tough climb!) Once you are up the hill, you can walk up farther to get to the Acropolis and Acropolis museum. There are some good local restaurants nearby (down toward the metro station), and we were glad of this because we have eaten at other areas of Athens where the food wasn't so good. We would stay here again because it's a known entity and we know it's clean and comfortable. But it's a bit pricey for what you get.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElainieL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Thissio / Makriyanni
Philippos Hotel
Philippos Hotel
#25 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 976 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Acropolis View Hotel
Acropolis View Hotel
#49 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 557 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#16 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
Central Athens Hotel
Central Athens Hotel
#31 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,655 reviews
Omonia
Fresh Hotel
Fresh Hotel
#32 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,941 reviews
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#12 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acropolis Hill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acropolis Hill Hotel

Property: Acropolis Hill Hotel
Address: 7 Mousson (Filopappou), Athens 117 42, Greece (Formerly Austria Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Thissio / Makriyanni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Acropolis Hill Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The brand new Acropolis Hill Hotel opened in fall 2010 to welcome its guests in one of the most privileged locations in the center of Athens. Close to Plaka, Syntagma square and Monastiraki and right under the sacred rock of Acropolis, this hotel offers contemporary facilities and hotel rooms, most of which feature Acropolis view from their private balconies. Acropolis Hill Hotel in Athens is the ideal choice for a relaxing stay in Filopappou, an evergreen area, a breath away from the most important attractions and museums. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Bookgreece.com, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Acropolis Hill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing