We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, helpful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Acropolis Hill Hotel
Ranked #27 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location, helpful staff”
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights after finishing up a group your of Athens & Greek isles. The location is perfect for walking around to all attractions, shopping and eating. The staff at reception were extremely helpful with any questions. Have us directions everyday and recommended great places to eat or have a drink. Rooms are on the smaller side but fine for a short stay.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sophie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

689 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    258
    304
    81
    23
    23
See reviews for
148
296
48
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
133 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

Like others have said- it is a great spot for doing the touristy things but the rooms are tiny- tight with two people. The pool is refreshing around three pm after a day in the heat. Breakfast is great and a five minute walk to the acropolis an Parthenon. Only there three nights and it was fine for a short stay.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank rella118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California Hot Springs, California
Level Contributor
161 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We were supposed to stay there, having booked nearly 7 months before, but on arrival, we found we had been "moved" to another hotel. That, after a very hot walk (by the way, don't swallow their web site talking about an east walk from the Metro - in summer heat at 2pm, it's a royal pain, cab it.) At that point we were pretty irked, but things got better. Antigone at the desk was VERY accommodating and apologetic and while that does not excuse being bumped, it smoothed thing considerably, She arranged cab to new hotel (see the review for the Ledra -- much to say about that), and through in a cab to the airport after our stay.
Oh, the hotel.... lobby looked nice.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mafac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broome, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Lovely reception after long ferry ride. Soo comfy bed. Location great as Acropolis just down the road and restaurants around the corner in a relaxing environment. Definitely stay again should opportunity arise!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ABCD6725
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
58 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

The hotel is a 5 minute walk to the Parthenon and has amazing views from the roof terrace of the acropolis and the city. The helpful and friendly staff made our stay very pleasant. The only complaint was that our double room was quite tight and the twin beds that were pushed together to create a double were on wheels and not ideal. Otherwise, a good value for a short city stay.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank cort99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Gatos, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

I booked 2 rooms for 3 days in this hotel a month ahead of our arrival. I booked directly through the hotel website ... not through Expedia or other booking site. The rooms were prepaid in FULL...this was not just a reservation. As a matter of fact, the entire booking charge was non-refundable in the event WE canceled. So they had over $1000 of my money for a month before we even showed up.

Because we were arriving late at night and I did not want to deal with the hassle of going to another hotel after 24hours of travel from California (and I'd read the other reviews), I emailed them twice about our late arrival. I emailed both the address from the confirmation and the contact email address on the hotel website. I emailed right after making the reservations and a couple days before we left. Obviously the contact address on the website must be monitored but I never received a reply to either email.

Sure enough, we got there and the guy at the desk told us no rooms were available. I told him I had emailed to confirm. He shrugged and said "well you didn't email me". As if I could know his personal email! If the rooms are paid in full no confirmation should even be necessary!

I was in a total daze from the travel but we were very lucky in that we had the world's nicest taxi driver. He didn't leave us and actually argued for us with the guy at the desk in Greek for a while before taking us to the other hotel (Hotel Divani Acropolis). He also refused extra money to drive us to the second hotel.

The Acropolis Hill guy told us the Divani was 5 stars as if we were getting a big upgrade. I don't know what the stars mean but I looked online and the price was only a few euro more than Acropolis Hill. We were told we would not have to pay anything extra but I had to pay 25 euro for WiFi which would have been included at the Acropolis Hill. The people at the Divani didn't know what I was talking about when I told the WiFi was supposed to be included. Since the situation was not their fault I did not argue. The Divani was OK (reviewed separately) but the rooftop dining was closed which was one of the major features I had used to choose a hotel.

The thing that really irks me is if we paid for the rooms they should be held regardless of arrival time. It is obvious this hotel overbooks regularly in the hopes of getting paid double for the rooms. The desk clerk's attitude that this was somehow my fault was really galling. Overall my trip to Greece was wonderful but this hotel was a very unpleasant start.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank VR0bbins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

The hotel was just as it was described on the website. It wasn't fancy, but it was clean, well-located, and the staff were friendly. It's a nice quiet location, but close to the main sites. The pool was cold but refreshing. The breakfast was good, for a free breakfast. I would definitely stay here again. We were a bit confused about the free transport from the airport (if you stay for at least three nights) - we tried to confirm the arrangement with the hotel but they didn't get back to us - but were pleasantly surprised to see a driver with our name on a sign at the airport.

Room Tip: We asked for an Acropolis view but didn't get one, but the view from the roof was amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Guapasmurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Thissio / Makriyanni
Philippos Hotel
Philippos Hotel
#24 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 974 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Acropolis View Hotel
Acropolis View Hotel
#45 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 557 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#16 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
Central Athens Hotel
Central Athens Hotel
#30 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,647 reviews
Omonia
Fresh Hotel
Fresh Hotel
#34 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,938 reviews
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#12 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acropolis Hill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acropolis Hill Hotel

Property: Acropolis Hill Hotel
Address: 7 Mousson (Filopappou), Athens 117 42, Greece (Formerly Austria Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Thissio / Makriyanni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Acropolis Hill Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The brand new Acropolis Hill Hotel opened in fall 2010 to welcome its guests in one of the most privileged locations in the center of Athens. Close to Plaka, Syntagma square and Monastiraki and right under the sacred rock of Acropolis, this hotel offers contemporary facilities and hotel rooms, most of which feature Acropolis view from their private balconies. Acropolis Hill Hotel in Athens is the ideal choice for a relaxing stay in Filopappou, an evergreen area, a breath away from the most important attractions and museums. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Bookgreece.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Acropolis Hill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing