We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel in a great location.”
Review of Plaka Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Plaka Hotel
Ranked #12 of 282 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 April 2011

Very friedly staff,willing to help and give tips where to go etc. Breakfast amazing :) Rooms nicely renovated,good heating. Roof terrace fantastic with a view to Acropolis! Excellent location!

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dubai77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DORINAPLAKA, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2011

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments on TA.
Customer satisfaction is our primary concern and is of the outmost importance to meet their expectations. I are very pleased you loved the location, the view from roof terrace and you had a nice accommodation in your room.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,420)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,242 - 2,248 of 3,420 reviews

Reviewed 9 April 2011

The perfect location, 2 minutes from the metro Monastiraki, in the center of Athens...you can visit, eat, drink, buy, dance and do whatever you want 24/24! They try to welcome us in the perfect way and they got it!Really good experience, good and nice people at the reception and a very sweet and romantic room with view on the Acropole, what else could we want?

Room Tip: Try to get the room with view on the acropole!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank italidoula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DORINAPLAKA, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2011

Dear Guest,
Satisfaction is our primary concern and it is always a pleasure to hear from guests whose expectations were met, particularly, with regard to staff service. We thank you again for your kind comments and look forward to welcoming you in the future.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2011

Having been in the travel industry for forty eight years and travelled quite extensively throughout the world, this property has the feel of a special boutique hotel, which is most unusual for three stars.

I experienced two type of rooms during my four night stay and both were spacious, also I was very fortunate that with my second room I had incredible views of the Acropolis! The rooms had recently been renovated and were quite modern with all facilities that you would expect in a room. The breakfast was excellent, although I believe a little more variety would enhance it even further by adding hash browns.

One feature that sets this hotel apart from others is its Roof Top Terrace, where you can enjoy a drink of your choice and have fantastic views of the Acropolis both day & night, with the view at night leaving ever lasting memories, as it is "spectacular!"

Whilst the reception staff are very obliging and helpful with information and directions, I believe they could be a little more friendly, as the General Manager has very good PR skills by mixing with all guests at breakfast and offers tips on sightseeing, shopping, places to eat and answers any questions you may have.

The hotel is located in the Plaka district, which is the only area to stay in Athens, as it is two minutes to Ermou Street which is the main shopping mall in Athens with excellent shops, five minutes to Syntagma Square and the Parliament where you can see the changing of the guards every hour on the hour (quite a spectacle.) The famous Acropolis is only ten minutes away.

The Plaka Hotel is idealy situated with shops and restaurants on its door step, plus it is only five minutes walk to the Monastiraki Flea Markets. Also the Monastiraki Metro Station is five minutes walk where you can conveniently catch the Metro to & from the airport and to Piraeus. The Moniastiraki Square located in front of the Metro Station has lots of character with amateur performances being performed most days & nights.

In summary I highly recommend the Plaka Hotel for all type of travellers, as I had the option of staying in a five star hotel on my tour, but chose the Plaka Hotel because of its location and what a little gem it is. Dont forget that "Roof Top Terrace" with amazing views of the Acropolis!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ron027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DORINAPLAKA, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2011

Dear Guest,

I am glad you returned home with such a positive impression from our hotel. We do our best to please every one and we are delighted when we read comments as such. We surely value your suggestions and I thank you for that as well as for the high score.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2011

Can't really add to what has been written before. Nice hotel, good service, very clean with a good sized bed. Excellent location.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KeithfromPattaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DORINAPLAKA, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2011

Dear Guest,

I am very pleased to know that you liked the location , the service and the rooms of our hotel.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2011

Very pleased with this find booked through Octopus Travel. Advertised rates on the back of the door said something ridiculous like 200 euros a night, but we stayed in a double room (2 singles pushed together, such is the case for a lot of hotels in Europe) for 50 euros a night. Room small but clean, bathroom very small but had good pressure, always hot shower, toilet and sink. No noise at night (we were on quite a high floor though). It was 10 mins' walk from the nearest tube station, and right in the centre of stuff so a great location - loads of restaurants/cafes/bars within 5 mins.The breakfast was included and was an all you want buffet with full English choices or Greek things like thick Greek yogurt and honey, feta, olives, tomatoes and cucumber, and fruit juice and tea/coffee. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hansieryder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DORINAPLAKA, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience on T.A. and for the details that will help future clients.
Hope to see you again in the future.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2011

The hotel is perfect for having a nice rest during the night. The staff is very very kind and is always behind your needs. We would like to thanks Tonia especially for all her kindness and tips that let us made the most of our time in Atenas. The breakfast is very complete. And the terrace is a must! You can go there any time during the day or night, and enjoy the view of the Acropolys and the Agora. The only thing that should be taking care off is that internet acces is not free. You have to pay in order to use it, 2 euros the half hour or 8 euros per day. If your computer is out of order, they have only one PC for all the guests and you have to pray for it to work. Anyway the location is perfect and you can move easily arround the city using the public transportation, or even by walk, without any kind of trouble. Besides, the train that departs from the airport leaves you only 3 blocks from the hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank valevitale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DORINAPLAKA, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2011

Dear Guest,
I am pleased to know that we helped you making the most of your stay in Athens and that you enjoyed our hotel. Clients comments are of great help to improve.
Thank you for your review on T. A.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2011

the last stop on our mini tour of eurpoe and it was a great way to end. Hotel was clean, modern and located very close to all the sites, you can see the temple in all its glory from the rooftop bar at night- we travelled by foot to see everything. Hotel staff were very friendly including the hotel manager who made the effort to come and speak to all her guests at breakfast, she told us where to go sightseeing, great places to eat authentic greek food and how to get around which saved us sooooo much money! We mentioned we needed a massage and she even arranged that for us (best massage EVEEEERRRR!!!)

Only downside was that we werent to sure where to go out clubbing, and ended up at a fancy bar

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WhereNext43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DORINAPLAKA, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2011

Dear Guest,

What a nice title you gave to our hotel !!
I am delited to know that you loved the location, the service and the view of the Acropolis..
I thank you for the high score!
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Thissio / Makriyanni
The Athens Gate Hotel
The Athens Gate Hotel
#14 of 282 in Athens
3,932 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#10 of 282 in Athens
2,417 reviews
Plaka
Central Athens Hotel
Central Athens Hotel
#32 of 282 in Athens
1,819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
Hermes Hotel
Hermes Hotel
#16 of 282 in Athens
1,585 reviews
Omonia
Pallas Athena Grecotel Boutique Hotel
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#11 of 282 in Athens
3,249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plaka Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaka Hotel

Address: 7, Kapnikareas street and corner of Mitropoleos | Plaka / Acropolis / Syntagma / Monastiraki, Athens 105 56, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Plaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#7 Family Hotel in Athens
#11 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range: £50 - £161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Plaka Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Most central hotel situated in Plaka district. Strategically located for visiting all main archaeological interests especially the Acropolis and new Acropolis museum, as well as Ancient Agora, Parliament, first Olympic stadium, Benaki museum, Cycladic museum, National garden. Two streets only away from metro station Monastiraki, with direct line from the airport and the port of Piraeus. 50m from the main shopping street Ermou and Plaka touristic shopping area with taverns and bars. Splendid view of the Acropolis from roof terrace not to be missed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Plaka Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athens Hotel Plaka
Plaka Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing