We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, great location, great breakfast!”
Review of Plaka Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Plaka Hotel
Ranked #13 of 326 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great value, great location, great breakfast!”
Reviewed 6 May 2011

We stayed at the Plaka hotel for 4 nights at the beginning of May. Our room was on the fourth floor with a (sort of) view out onto Mitropoleos. The room was spacious, modern and comfortable, with ample storage space and a nice bathroom (although there wasn't much space to get around the door once inside). Although it was the beginning of May when we visited, the temperature was in the high 20s in the day and the room did stay very warm at night which made it a little uncomfortable. That being said, there is an air conditioning system and the window slides open.

Breakfast is served from 7.00-10.00 in the restaurant on the first floor which is very plush with plenty of seating. The choice at breakfast was extensive, with hot food, cereal, pastries, toast, cheese and ham and a Greek corner complete with feta, olives, Greek yogurt, fruit and honey. A helpful lady from Guest Relations asked us how our stay was and whether she could do anything to assist us, which was a nice touch, and this didn't appear to be a one-off as she was chatting away to other guests on most mornings.

The hotel is conveniently located between Monastiraki and Syntagma metro stations (both on the line to the airport). Plaka is a lovely area for browsing the shops and with plenty of tavernas nearby. There is a mini-supermarket just across the road from the hotel on Mitropoleos although we found it to be expensive. On the recommendation of the reception staff, we searched out "Bazaar" which was further up Mitropoleos, on a side street called Petraki near to Athens Cathedral.

The pièce de résistance at the Plaka hotel really is the lovely roof top terrace with its sun loungers and outdoor seats. We sat up there one afternoon in the heat to write our postcards whilst overlooking the Acropolis and the skyline of the city.

There is lots of useful information in the reception area and on the first floor about museum opening times, timetables to the airport via metro and bus, and the weather forecast for the coming days.

The hotel really is good value for its location and comfort, and certainly worth more than its three star rating.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the Acropolis
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gemhawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DORINAPLAKA, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this review, 16 May 2011
Dear Guest,
I thank you for your detailed review with plenty of information for future readers as well as for the lovely picture.
I am glad that you were satisfied with the service you received from our staff, our breakfast with variety and the location of the hotel. Satisfaction of our guests is our primary concern and we are very glad when we achieve a positive result.
Thank you for your high score.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,273 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,779
    1,234
    193
    51
    16
See reviews for
655
1,603
235
85
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (604)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2011

Our stay at the Plaka Hotel was unexpected. We had actually reserved a room at the Hermes Hotel, but due to some booking error, we were told that we would be staying in the Plaka Hotel..... we couldn't have been luckier. I'm not sure how the Hermes Hotel would have been, but our short experience at this hotel was awesome.

We arrived just before midnight. The man behind the front desk was expecting us, and immediately checked us in. We got to our room which was very nice... nice to arrive to a great room this late at night & this tired. But not until my wife opened the drapes did we really know how nice this room was. It was the acropolis & parthenon right outside our window! WOW! Immediately took some pictures, got re-energized, and hit the streets.

The location was perfect. We walked to eat right down the street, where there was a row of restaurants. We walked to the Acropolis & Ancient Angora the next day, and were able to walk to the train station to get to the airport the next afternoon. Too bad we only had 1 night at this hotel & in Athens... we had a great time!

Breakfast was included, and it was a true breakfast buffet. They had everything. They stored our luggage for us while we ran around Athens the next day.

I would highly recommend this hotel & would definitely stay there again if we return to Athens.

Room Tip: View of the Acropolis!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jkcg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DORINAPLAKA, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this review, 2 May 2011
Dear Guest,

It is with great pleasure and satisfaction that we read your comments following your recent stay in our hotel. Thank you for sharing your experience with us,and for your high score. We certainly hope you will be able to stay with us once more on future visits to Athens.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mannheim, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 May 2011

The Hotel is ideally located between Monastiraki and Syntagma Square. In the hear of the Plaka = old town. There are lots of restaurants and souvenir shops. Enjoy walking through these small streets by day and by night. All sights of Athens are in walking distance. There is a good metro connection from Monastiraki and the airport or Piräus habour. From the roof garden you have a beautiful view of the Akropolis and Athens.
The rooms are newly renovated and spacious, except the bathroom. The bathroom was very tiny = 2sqm and old, but clean. Despite the location of the hotel, my room on the fifth floor was quite quiet. Looking out of the window you could see the Akropolis.
The hotel offered an amazing service: during breakfast the girls not only asked for your room number and whether everything is ok with the room, they also gave recommendations for visiting Athens. The way to the museum, where to buy a ticket for the ferry, where does the bus leave to ... - they know it all and show you on the map. This service was very helpful as opening hours during Easter holidays differed much from normal weeks and were hard to check on the internet. Once they even made a call for me to be sure about today's opening hours. Thank you so much for your help!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vanessa1510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DORINAPLAKA, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this review, 2 May 2011
Dear Guest,

We're delighted to read your comments and thank you for sharing your positive experience on Trip Advisor. Comments such as these are a tremendous motivation for us all to continue offering the standards of service to our guests. Thank you.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 April 2011

My mum and I had a wonderfull two weeks in Athens, our stay at the Plaka Hotel, run by Doriana and staff, special mention for Antonia, was very special we were made to feel like family and would stay there again if we are lucky enough to revisit Greece.

Doriana and her staff are a great help with planning your day if you need any help either in the breakfast room, or at the front desk , and speaking of the breakfast, it was delicious every day, with many greek specialities. Also to be able to view the Acropolis of a night was unreal, we just had the time of our lives. Thank you Doriana from mum and myself for everything.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SharynAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DORINAPLAKA, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this review, 29 April 2011
Dear Guest,

It was really a great pleasure meeting you both and I am delited we managed to make your holidays a nice memory. I was so pleased to see that you were feeling our hotel like your home and it was fantastic that you came back a couple of times after visiting other destinations.
We miss you !!

Hope to see you again.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambs
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 April 2011

Good clean rooms, and v good breakfast and all day coffee facilities.
Ideal location.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel

Helpful?
Thank Shieldsmp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DORINAPLAKA, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this review, 29 April 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your stay in Athens. I am glad you enjoyed many elements of our service as well as the location.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2011

We stayed at the hotel for 5 days. The location was very good, with metro stations, shopping and restaurants nearby. Unfortunately, my daughter was suck we arrived, but the staff, management were wonderful! They really accommodated our needs, change in plans! You won not be disappointed with their service or location. It is probably the #1 three star facility in that area. Both Syntagma and Metereopolous station are main metro stations to go on tours, etc. The roof has a spectacular view, even though very few rooms probably have view of Acropolis, due to another building next doors. Breakfast is included, but perhaps they can change the menu a bit each day for at least some variety, even though they have several choices.

We really enjoyed our stay here!

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FamilyTraveller44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DORINAPLAKA, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this review, 29 April 2011
Dear Guest,

We are very pleased to know that we managed to help you during the unexpected sickness of your daughter. Clients satisfaction is our primary concern. We surely value our guests opinion and this is why we already added a variety in our breakfast. Thank you for helping us improving.

Best regards to all your family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2011

We booked a room with and view of the Acropolis and we were not dissapointed. It's position is ideal for exploring Athen's Plaka and within walking distance of Acropolis and New Acropolis Museum.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dingopups_18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DORINAPLAKA, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this review, 20 April 2011
Dear Guest ,

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your stay in Athens and for suggesting it to other readers.
Hope to see you again in the future.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#16 of 326 in Athens
2,239 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
The Athens Gate Hotel
The Athens Gate Hotel
#17 of 326 in Athens
3,761 reviews
Plaka
Central Athens Hotel
Central Athens Hotel
#30 of 326 in Athens
1,711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#14 of 326 in Athens
3,031 reviews
Psirri / Gazi
O&B Athens Boutique Hotel
Plaka
Hermes Hotel
Hermes Hotel
#19 of 326 in Athens
1,525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plaka Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaka Hotel

Property: Plaka Hotel
Address: 7, Kapnikareas street and corner of Mitropoleos | Plaka / Acropolis / Syntagma / Monastiraki, Athens 105 56, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Plaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Athens
#10 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#11 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#16 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Plaka Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Most central hotel situated in Plaka district. Strategically located for visiting all main archaeological interests especially the Acropolis and new Acropolis museum, as well as Ancient Agora, Parliament, first Olympic stadium, Benaki museum, Cycladic museum, National garden. Two streets only away from metro station Monastiraki, with direct line from the airport and the port of Piraeus. 50m from the main shopping street Ermou and Plaka touristic shopping area with taverns and bars. Splendid view of the Acropolis from roof terrace not to be missed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Bookgreece.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Plaka Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athens Hotel Plaka
Plaka Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing