We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best in Plaka!”
Review of Plaka Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Plaka Hotel
Ranked #13 of 285 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 June 2011

Stayed twice at this hotel whilst visiting Athens and impressed with both service and quality. The hotel is close to all amenities and shopping precinct is right outside the front door. Hotel itself was very clean, quiet, comfortable and management even placed us on a higher floor on our return from our tour and included a welcome plate of fruit and wine. Our rooms each time were quite spacious, well lit and the bathroom was clean and modern. Lots of fluffy towels and toiletries.

Great views of the Acropolis from both our room and the rooftop terrace which had great little couches and tables for lounging about and enjoying the view with a drink. Hotel concierge always very helpful with bookings for taxis etc. Breakfast was extremely good, lots of variety and included a Greek flavour whilst we were there at Easter with the red eggs. Would definitely stay again!

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor with Acropolis view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kathykar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DORINAPLAKA, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2011

Dear Guest,

Thanks for staying with us and for your review. I am glad that you were satisfied with the quality and quantity of our breakfast and the service you received from our staff. Guest comments are really important to us and help us to improve our services.

Thank you for your high score.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,491)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,242 - 2,248 of 3,491 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2011

I stayed here four years ago and was very satisfied, so chose it again for my return visit. In the meantime, the hotel had undergone major renovations and I understand further improvements are planned for some of the rooms/bathrooms for the coming winter slack period. We highly recommend the Plaka hotel for visitors looking for good service, clean and confortable rooms, ideal location and good value. The staff is very helpful, and a great touch is the manager circulating through the breakfast room (super breakfasts!!!) each morning giving new arrivals advice in where to go and what to see. For those catching early morning ferries, it's great to be able to get at least a continental breakfast as early as 0600.
And to round of the day, the hotel's rooftop bar with its spectacular view of the Acropolis is unforgetable.
How to get a room with an Acropolis view remains a bit of mystery as we requested one on booking and again in a reconfirmation e-mail three weeks before our arrival, but were unlucky, as was the case on my earlier visit.

Room Tip: see above
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travellingjrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DORINAPLAKA, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2011

Dear Guest,

It is with great pleasure and satisfaction that we read your comments following your recent stay in our hotel. Thank you for sharing your experience with us, which will be helpful to future clients.
We certainly hope you will be able to stay with us once more on future visits to Athens.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2011

We took bus 95 from FCO to Stygmata Square for a few Euro. We got off and walked with our rolling suitcases a few blocks along Metropolis street all downhill to Hotel Plaka. The hotel has comfortable beds, modern bathrooms, and an excellent breakfast buffet for a modest price. We stayed here for one night precruise and enjoyed it thoroughly meeting another couple staying here and going on the same cruise. After our overnight flight we wandered around the Plaka a bit, enjoyed an excellent lunch, and crashed for a few hours before joining the other couple for a drink at the Plaka's roof bar watching Athens light up and seeing the Acropolis in the distance. Then we went out to dinner and wandered the Agora on our way back to the hotel. In the morning we did some shopping and walked with our rolling luggage to the main metro station to Piraeus which was only a few blocks away, all downhill. We never had to life our luggage at all. In about 45 minutes the metro was in Piraeus and we got out opposite the port with all the ferries to the islands. Then we took a cab instead of walking the mile and a half to the ship. We are going to do it again this October. We had a great time at Hotel Plaka.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank naomi2291
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DORINAPLAKA, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2011

Dear Guest,

I am glad that you were satisfied with the service you received from our staff, and the location of the hotel. Satisfaction of our guests is our primary concern and we are very glad when we achieve a positive result.

We look forward to seeing you in October again!

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2011

As explained in other reviews the Plaka has many things going for it: you can walk to all the major attractions, it's also only a 5 minute walk to Monastiraki Station taking you to Piraeus Port or the Airport; the rooms are clean, although a little tired; breakfast is good. I stayed in 3 different rooms - some bathrooms are more modern and spacious than others. The front desk staff are informative and courteous and, when I came back after a week's absence, a new reception attendant was also friendly and smiling.

I would rather have complimentary tea and coffee, or even water, in the room than red wine, which I don't drink. Free tea & coffee is available during the day while you are out and don't need it (closes at 5.00pm) but not in the evening.

The rooftop bar with Acropolis views is the highlight and the lady who runs it serves you individually and was very really very friendly and helpful to me during my stay.

I wish the Plaka offered free Wi-Fi - the Wi-Fi is good when it works but I paid for 24 hours but couldn't even get online on my last day as the network was 'down'.

I really appreciated the advice of Dorina (?) who introduced herself at breakfast on my first morning - I would have missed the wonderful Benaki Museum, which houses a wealth of stunning, sometimes incredibly intricate, ancient (I mean really old!) and varied pieces that I haven't seen anywhere else. Also so glad I went to the stunning new Acropolis Museum before I went to the Acropolis - the museum concept is inspiring, especially the top floor (my suggestion - go to the Museum at about 3.00 or 4.00 in the afternoon - the crowds have started to drop off & you need about 3 hours; it's open till 7.00, I think - and then be at the Acropolis at 8.30am next day, by 9.15 the tour buses start to arrive!)

Enjoy the Plaka.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jenstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DORINAPLAKA, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2011

Dear Guest,

I am glad to know that following our suggestions you took advantage of your stay in Athens.
Our location is indeed right in the centre of all of the tourist attractions of Athens and this clearly aided your sightseeing and event planning whilst you were at the hotel.

Guest comments are really important to us and help us improving our services.
Thank you for staying with us and hope to see you or your friends again.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2011

It was a last minute decision to book a hotel for one night, as I had a business appointment in central Athens. A fantastic online offer and the comments on Tripadvisor, led me to book the hotel and was not disappointed.

From Syntagma square, you only need to walk for 6-7 minutes to get here and you can easily reach Monastiraki station too. This means you can explore, plaka, monastiraki and all the shopping district very easily. Well located for the Acropolis museum too

The hotel has a great breakfast, but if you want to save on that, there are countless options in the area, just like the vast choice of restaurants. Athens has so much to offer. I dare say it's one of the most attractive destinations in Europe, packed with culture, food, events and anything else you wish for.

The room (single) was exactly as described, with very good water pressure, clean and updated, with a beautiful view of the Parthenon. The staff was very polite and helpful.

I highly recommend this place if you are on a budget, otherwise there are plenty of pricey 5star hotels to choose from.

Room Tip: request a room with a view!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gk_rock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DORINAPLAKA, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2011

Dear Guest,

We have read your very kind comments with great appreciation and satisfaction.


We thank you for your time to share these comments on Trip Advisor, and we are pleased that we were able to offer you an exceptional experience.

Hope to see you again

Best regards

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2011

This hotel is in a great location, an easy walk from Monastiraki railway station, very close to the Acropolis, Syntagma square, Ermou Street and many good restaurants and cafes. The open air hotel roof lounge area is great for viewing the Acropolis at sunrise and sunset particularly. The hotel staff were courteous, knowledgable and helpful, the room clean, comfortable and with all modern amenities. The buffet breakfast is particularly good. This hotel has been family owned for multiple generations and we found the service very personal and friendly. We would be very happy to return to the Hotel Plaka.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jules3150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DORINAPLAKA, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2011

Dear Guest,

Thanks for staying with us and for your review. I am glad that you were satisfied with the quality and quantity of our breakfast and the service you received from our staff.

Guest comments are really important to us and help us to improve our services.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2011

Room and bed good and clean, very friendly staff, good English spoken, fruit by entrance, mmmm, nice breakfast, all of Athens's beauty nearby where ever you look!
May be free Wifi in the future at the rooms?
Next time, we know our choice. Thank you for your hospatellity!

F. Koeman / W. de Wit
The Netherlands

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Koefri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#10 of 285 in Athens
2,496 reviews
Psirri / Gazi
O&B Athens Boutique Hotel
Plaka
Hermes Hotel
Hermes Hotel
#15 of 285 in Athens
1,619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#12 of 285 in Athens
3,311 reviews
Plaka
Central Athens Hotel
Central Athens Hotel
#32 of 285 in Athens
1,845 reviews
Plaka
AVA Hotel Athens
AVA Hotel Athens
#2 of 285 in Athens
1,757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plaka Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaka Hotel

Address: 7, Kapnikareas street and corner of Mitropoleos | Plaka / Acropolis / Syntagma / Monastiraki, Athens 105 56, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Plaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Athens
#7 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#11 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range: £63 - £164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Plaka Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Most central hotel situated in Plaka district. Strategically located for visiting all main archaeological interests especially the Acropolis and new Acropolis museum, as well as Ancient Agora, Parliament, first Olympic stadium, Benaki museum, Cycladic museum, National garden. Two streets only away from metro station Monastiraki, with direct line from the airport and the port of Piraeus. 50m from the main shopping street Ermou and Plaka touristic shopping area with taverns and bars. Splendid view of the Acropolis from roof terrace not to be missed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Plaka Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athens Hotel Plaka
Plaka Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing