We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Plaka Hotel review”
Review of Plaka Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Plaka Hotel
Ranked #12 of 282 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 March 2012

Just returned from several days at the Plaka. We selected this hotel based on TripAdvisor reviews and a reasonable price. This one is a home run! Situated right between Syntagma Square and Monasteraki Square and Metro station. The Plaka shopping district is right out the door and you are surrounded by countless restaurants and cafes. The Metro is only a short walk away. The hotel staff was wonderful and anxious to assist with directions, sightseeing suggestions, cab reservations etc. The room was very clean, well lit and had a good powerful shower to enjoy. The breakfast buffet was complete with a good selection to start your day. A bonus was the availability of coffee and cookies throughout the day till 5:00. In my opinion, you can pay much more and not have the convenient location the Plaka has to offer. Cabs are always in the area. The 6th floor has a rooftop patio with tables and chairs that enable you to soak in a spectacular view of the cityscape and Acropolis. Watching the sunset and enjoying the Acropolis from the roof is unforgettable. We would definately stay here again and recommend it to other travelers.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony or Acropolis view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank C7VetteCruiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DORINAPLAKA, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2012

Dear Guest,


Thank you for taking the time to share your experinece on TA and for recommending Plaka Hotel to other readers.
We are delighted to read your comments and we are very glad you were satisfied with our staff.
Satisfaction of our guests is our primary.
It will be a real pleasure for us to host you again on a future trip to Athens.

Thank you for your high score.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,420)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,058 - 2,064 of 3,420 reviews

Reviewed 28 March 2012

From airport take Metro to Syntagma Station and from there it's an easy downhill maybe 6 blocks to the Plaka Hotel. Great service. Tiny eauropean elevator. Lovely room, a bit small. Hard beds like most of the world. Best breakfast ever, buffet style, worth the stay just for the breakfast plus cofee hot chocolate and biscuits all day till 5:30. The rooms are front or back and you really want a room with a view of the acropolis. The roof view is amazing. Location is superb for all the charming, historic area of Plaka and Monistraki with it's ruins, churches, shopping, food and easy to walk everywhere. Loved it so much that we tried to stay every chance we were in Athen's and had the opportunity. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Absolutely wonderful and the best breakfast....ever!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shark58SSI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2012

Gear Guest,

We are delighted to read you r excellent experience in Plaka Hotel.
I am pleased the access to the hotel from the airport was easy for you.
I thank you for the details written and for submitting a lovely sunset picture.

Thank you and look forward to a future stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

I stayed at Plaka Hotel for 2 nights in a single room. My main reason to choose it was location and I was not dissapointed at all. It's just minutes away walking from Monastiraki Subway Station, so arriving from the airport was really easy. My room was relatively small but still enough for just one person and TV had different European channels, not only in English but also in Spanish (my native language) and Italian, something that was very useful for me as I wanted to practice it as Italy was my next destination. Then I opened the curtains and was almost blown away by the view of the Acropolis. So beautiful the view was that overcoming my dislike for daylight early in the morning, I slept with the curtains open, just to enjoy the superb view. And then in the morning the next great thing was breakfast: delicious greek yoghurt, beautiful fetta cheese and olives, not to mention the different cakes and pastries and even traditional greek sweets, a real feast!! Maybe the only 2 problems for me were that couldn't stop heating, even though it was not that cold outside, so I had to open the window and it was a bit noisy outside. And also that wifi connection didn't work for the first day of my stay, despite it was not free. But the problem was solved by the second day. Staff were attentive and gave me a really useful map of Athens. In all, a really nice stay.

Room Tip: Ask to have a view of the Acropolis!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AusverGeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DORINAPLAKA, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review and for submitting this wonderful picture!
We are very pleased to read that you were satisfied with Plaka hotel, particularly from our friendly staff, the rich breakfast and the view from your room.
We really look forward to welcoming you or any of your friends in the future.

Thank you again.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

My wife and i have just returned after spending 5 days in Athens staying in this hotel.The hotel was clean and the staff where friendly and the location was excellent for all the tourist locations.If i was returning to Athens i would certainly use this hotel again.The breakfast in the mornings was adequate for our needs and we enjoyed what was on offer.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank petros54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DORINAPLAKA, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2012

Dear Guest,


We thank you for choosing Plaka Hotel for your stay in Athens.
How nice to read that you enjoyed the location, the cleanliness and our friendly staff.

We all hope to see you again.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2012

What an amazing value! For a very inexpensive rate, we got: an amazing location (right in the Plaka area and a short walk to the Acropolis); friendly service; a beautiful rooftop view; a clean, comfortable, decent-sized room; and a good breakfast. Can't do much better than that!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Evicat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DORINAPLAKA, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2012

Dear Guest,


Thank you for your kind comments on our property. As our main goal is to offer to our guests high quality facilities and services, it is great to read that you found the hotel an amazing value.

Thank you once more.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2012

Central location in the plaka district, close to acropolis and markets Tourisits go to. Room is comfortable. They serve free drinks in the breakfastroom until 5pm. And basic breakfast is available in the restaurant if you leave early in the morning. The only thing I don't like is the exPensive Internet at 2 euros per hour

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Qin Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DORINAPLAKA, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2012

Dear Guest,


We are very happy to know that your stay at the hotel was positive experience. In our attempt to improve we surely value all the feedback we can get from our guests.

Hope to see you again.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2012

I have just returned from Athens and stayed at the plaka with my friends and found this hotel very clean and friendly staff. On arrival I had a small bottle of wine in the room with compliments of the hotel which I have not had before. It was a nice gesture to welcome you. The view from the rooftop was amazing where you can relax and enjoy great views of the acropolis. When I return to Athens in the future I will definately stay at the plaka again.I would recommend this hotel to anyone without any doubt.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andytheblacksmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DORINAPLAKA, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2012

Dear Guest,


Thank you ever so much for writing a nice review about Plaka Hotel that will help others to make their choice . We are pleased you enjoyed the cleanliness, our friendly staff, and the view of the Acropolis.

We look forward to host you again on a future trip to Athens.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Thissio / Makriyanni
The Athens Gate Hotel
The Athens Gate Hotel
#14 of 282 in Athens
3,932 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#10 of 282 in Athens
2,417 reviews
Plaka
Central Athens Hotel
Central Athens Hotel
#32 of 282 in Athens
1,819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
Hermes Hotel
Hermes Hotel
#16 of 282 in Athens
1,585 reviews
Omonia
Pallas Athena Grecotel Boutique Hotel
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#11 of 282 in Athens
3,249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plaka Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaka Hotel

Address: 7, Kapnikareas street and corner of Mitropoleos | Plaka / Acropolis / Syntagma / Monastiraki, Athens 105 56, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Plaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#7 Family Hotel in Athens
#11 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range: £49 - £159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Plaka Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Most central hotel situated in Plaka district. Strategically located for visiting all main archaeological interests especially the Acropolis and new Acropolis museum, as well as Ancient Agora, Parliament, first Olympic stadium, Benaki museum, Cycladic museum, National garden. Two streets only away from metro station Monastiraki, with direct line from the airport and the port of Piraeus. 50m from the main shopping street Ermou and Plaka touristic shopping area with taverns and bars. Splendid view of the Acropolis from roof terrace not to be missed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Ctrip TA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Plaka Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athens Hotel Plaka
Plaka Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing