We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just does everything it should”
Review of Plaka Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Plaka Hotel
Ranked #12 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Ewell, Surrey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Just does everything it should”
Reviewed 7 April 2012

We have just returned from a 7 night stay in Athens. We booked the Plaka through BA. Arrived at 3.30 in the morning but the night porter knew who we were, was expecting us and we got through the formalities in record time. The rooms were compact but there was enough space for three beds. The bathroom was small but perfectly proportioned with a huge shower that is possibly the most powerful I have ever come across - stand under it for too long you went numb! The floors were wood, the rooms clean and freshly decorated (we were on the first floor) and the standard of cleanliness very high. Breakfast was comprehensive, everything from scrambled egg and bacon to traditional Greek with toast, cake, fruit, decent tea and coffee. A nice touch was the free tea and coffee and biscuits all through the day. The roof terrace is the hotel's crowning glory. It is open all day but at 5pm a small bar opens. You can have a drink and sit on the sofas looking up at the Acropolis, (side on view so you really can see it properly) which seems so close you can reach out and touch it. It's lit up beautifully at night although in April the evenings are a bit chilly for sitting around on the roof. The hotel is slap bang in the middle of the old town. Within a five minute walk are hundreds of restaurants and shops. There is no lack of something to do in the evening. We went to a different restaurant every evening and had some fabulous food, especially the Greek salad which was divine. It's about a 20 minute stroll to the Acropolis entry and a lot of the archaeological attractions are also within walking distance. We give the hotel and the restaurants in the vicinity five stars. Everyone was so friendly, the streets were clean, nothing was too much trouble and Greece's troubles were not in evidence. Thoroughly recommend the Plaka and we feel we are usually quite hard to please.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JezabelEwell_Surrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this review, 19 April 2012
Dear Guest,

We have read your very kind comments with great appreciation and satisfaction.
We are so pleased you experienced our friendly staff, you enjoyed the roof terrace with the view and our very central location.
We thank you for your time to share these comments on Trip Advisor, and we are pleased that we were able to offer you an exceptional experience.

Hope to see you again on a future trip to Athens

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,173 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,731
    1,196
    181
    49
    16
See reviews for
636
1,546
225
85
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (589)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2012

It is in a very beautiful location, very close to Acropolis and other attractions. The staff was kind and the room very clean. Just Great !

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christin E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this review, 19 April 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you ever so much for writing a nice review that will help others to make their choice in the future.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2012

Pros:
Great Location
Great View
Good Shower Pressure (although there is no partition to separate the shower floor with the bathroom floor so the water floods the bathroom)
Good breakfast
Clean Room
VERY COMFORTABLE BED
Cons:
Very Noisy
Windows barely open
We had read that the staff were a little unfriendly. We don't mind that. I don't need someone to act like my best friend when we check in...although when there is a problem it would be nice if the staff was helpful. We had 25 minutes free of internet usage. After many times of getting a new password and climbing the stairs we gave up and went to the internet cafe down the street. The internet can only load very basic sites (when it works). Don't think about checking your bank account information there, that will not work and the staff WILL NOT HELP YOU. The lady is the only kind one working. If the staff were more helpful this hotel would have received a higher ranking.
ONE elevator for the whole hotel left us scaling 5 flights of stairs after all day of walking and hiking (not bad usually, but hard to do while pregnant).

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mcy1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this review, 19 April 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your stay in Athens
I have sent you a message asking for further details concerning your stay ( dates, room number) but did not to any reply.
I apologize for the incovenince caused to you due to the internet line problem we had, but was soon fixed.
Refering to your comment about our staff , I am surprised and sorry at the same time you did not receive an excellent service, as did all our guests the last months ( see travellers reviews).

I hope that if you come back to Athens you will stay with us again.

Wishing you wife all the best with her pregnancy.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2012

The Plaka Hotel is in a great location. We could walk to most places we wanted to visit, and the metro was only 5 minutes away if we needed it. The room was lovely. Twin beds, very comfortable, a safe, hairdryer and a minifridge we could store our own food and drink in. The bathroom was newly refurbished and was clean and more than adequate. We had a bath (not every European hotel bathroom has a bath), which my friend made use of one night. The breakfast was brilliant. There was so much choice, and the greek yoghurt and honey was so nice. We couldn't have asked for a better hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank spudqueen82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this review, 19 April 2012
Dear Guest,

I am delighted you returned home with a nice memory from your stay in Plaka Hotel.
Our bathrooms have just been renovated, so we are pleased you you made a good use of it.

Thank you for your high score.

Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2012

My partner and I stayed at Hotel Plaka for three nights at the end of March. We stayed in a room on the 5th floor (of 6 floors) and had a terrific view of the Acropolis, visible when walking around the room or reading in our chair, not in our room from the bed itself.
The beds pushed together were very comfortable as was the chair for reading, and the room was very peaceful. The staff worked hard to help us with requests for info etc.
The best part about the hotel is the wonderful rooftop terrace, which has pleasant lounge chairs and comfortable tables and chairs and wicker couches and of course the view. In the evening a bar was opened up for guests. (I think it just opened as we came for the season.).
The flaws have to do with the fact that there is one very small elevator for 67 rooms and with the way our closet doors opened out just across from the narrow hall area where the bathroom door opened out across from them. It was awkward. The last flaw is just an irritant to my partner and me, and that is the fact that when you turn on the bathroom light, you also get the fan; there are no separate switches.
The breakfasts were quite good, offered a fairly wide variety.
We would probably choose to return to the Plaka despite the flaws because all in all it is a good hotel and very well-located for seeing the most important sights of Athens. .

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CSBoulder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this review, 4 April 2012
Dear Guest,

We are very happy to know that your stay at the hotel was positive experience. In our attempt to improve we surely value all the feedback we can get from our guests.

Hope to see you again.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2012

We have just returned from five days in Athens. What a treat! Our hotel , Hotel Plaka, was very central to the Metro, shopping and restaurants. Most of the historical sites we wanted to visit were very close by, unexpectedly so, and it was very easy to get to them all. I had been worried about reports of pick pockets etc but everyone was very friendly. Yes we were on our guard and there were people coming up to you asking for money, but a firm NO! was all that was needed. We had asked for a quiet room on a high floor and this is what we had.We had wanted a view of the Acroplis but all of these rooms were occupied. Our room was clean, large and had everything we wanted. The bathroom was excellent! The view of the Acropolis from the roof garden was stunning! The front desk was manned 24hours daily by very friendly, courteous staff who went out of their way to help. Breakfast was good with everything that we needed-hot and cold food. We would return to the hotel most lunchtimes to freshen up and make use of the free coffee/chocolate and biscuits. The only thing missing was free WiFi. Thank you for an excellent city break!

Room Tip: High floor rooms are quieter. Some room overlook the Acropolis but obviously, they are usually reser...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TES520_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this review, 4 April 2012
Dear Guest,

What a treat we received from your positive review and pictures !!
Thank you for mentioning the new bathrooms and the service you received from our staff.

Hope to see you again on a future trip to Athens.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Callifornia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2012

We just spent ten days at the Plaka Hotel in Athens and could not have found a better place to stay. Besides the perfect location, this hotel has a front desk manned 24 hours a day by friendly, courteous and helpful people who will book tours, help with local transportation schedules, and share general knowledge of the area.. The generous free buffet breakfast is very nice and includes some of the best yogurt I have ever had. The rooms are generously sized with impeccable cleaning service. The rooftop bar has a spectaclar view of the Acropolis and the surrounding city of Athens. When we return to this city I would not consider staying anywhere but the Plaka Hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eilers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DORINAPLAKA, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this review, 2 April 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review so soon and for your recommendation.
We are delighted you experienced the cleanliness of Plaka Hotel, the good quality of Greek yougurt during breakfast and our friendly staff !
It will be a real pleasure for us to host you in our hotel again in the future.

With kind regards. from all of us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Psirri / Gazi
O&B Athens Boutique Hotel
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#14 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,907 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#16 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
Central Athens Hotel
Central Athens Hotel
#31 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,652 reviews
Plaka
AVA Hotel Athens
AVA Hotel Athens
#2 of 325 in Athens
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,629 reviews
Syntagma
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plaka Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaka Hotel

Property: Plaka Hotel
Address: 7, Kapnikareas street and corner of Mitropoleos | Plaka / Acropolis / Syntagma / Monastiraki, Athens 105 56, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Plaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Athens
#10 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#16 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Plaka Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Most central hotel situated in Plaka district. Strategically located for visiting all main archaeological interests especially the Acropolis and new Acropolis museum, as well as Ancient Agora, Parliament, first Olympic stadium, Benaki museum, Cycladic museum, National garden. Two streets only away from metro station Monastiraki, with direct line from the airport and the port of Piraeus. 50m from the main shopping street Ermou and Plaka touristic shopping area with taverns and bars. Splendid view of the Acropolis from roof terrace not to be missed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Bookgreece.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Plaka Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athens Hotel Plaka
Plaka Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing