We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“surprisingly good”
Review of Plaka Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Plaka Hotel
Ranked #12 of 326 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
amsterdam
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“surprisingly good”
Reviewed 12 April 2012

Hotels in Athens are always a challenge, there is always something not quit right or worse. completely wrong. The Plaka hotel though did its best to show that things could be done as well as possible within its limits. The location is great, the views from the roof and the rooms facing the Parthenon are spectacular; the rooms are, as is the norm in Athens, small but renovated and comfortable and the breakfast is up to standards.
All together it was good value for the price I paid and will stay there again in the future.
n.b. I've over the years stayed in at least 20 Athenian hotels and apart from some luxury hotels
have seldom been impressed with the quality/services offered (but still enjoyed the ambiance and flavours though).

Room Tip: get a room with the view of the Acropolis
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank vouna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this review, 19 April 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing our hotel during your recent visit to Athens.

Experienced guests satisfaction, as you, is of great importance and we are pleased to know that our high standards of service and facilities enabled you to have an enjoyable and memorable stay.

I hope that you will choose to stay with us again.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,239 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,764
    1,220
    189
    50
    16
See reviews for
650
1,580
233
85
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (602)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
sydney
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012

Spent 5 days in Athens staying at the Plaka Hotel. Excellent hotel with great position for walking to the sites. The staff were very helpful and the breakfast was very good. Had a room with a view to the Acropolis which was sensational at night. No noise and the room clean and comfortable. Highly recommend this place.

Room Tip: The side with the view to the Acropolis.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank olivia f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this review, 19 April 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and for your review. I am glad that you were satisfied with the quality and quantity of our breakfast and the service you received from our staff.

Thank you for recommending Plaka Hotel.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2012

I was very satisfied by my stay at Hotel Plaka - it offered the conditions for a relaxing stay, enjoying the surrounding, exploring the city, both its ancient side and contemporary, by feet.Exquisite attention to clients in providing everything they need and making sure i enjoyed my stay. It meets expectations.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diana1601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this review, 19 April 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and your positive comments on our exquisite attention to our clients.
We are very pleased we met your expectations!

Hope to see you again.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ewell, Surrey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2012

We have just returned from a 7 night stay in Athens. We booked the Plaka through BA. Arrived at 3.30 in the morning but the night porter knew who we were, was expecting us and we got through the formalities in record time. The rooms were compact but there was enough space for three beds. The bathroom was small but perfectly proportioned with a huge shower that is possibly the most powerful I have ever come across - stand under it for too long you went numb! The floors were wood, the rooms clean and freshly decorated (we were on the first floor) and the standard of cleanliness very high. Breakfast was comprehensive, everything from scrambled egg and bacon to traditional Greek with toast, cake, fruit, decent tea and coffee. A nice touch was the free tea and coffee and biscuits all through the day. The roof terrace is the hotel's crowning glory. It is open all day but at 5pm a small bar opens. You can have a drink and sit on the sofas looking up at the Acropolis, (side on view so you really can see it properly) which seems so close you can reach out and touch it. It's lit up beautifully at night although in April the evenings are a bit chilly for sitting around on the roof. The hotel is slap bang in the middle of the old town. Within a five minute walk are hundreds of restaurants and shops. There is no lack of something to do in the evening. We went to a different restaurant every evening and had some fabulous food, especially the Greek salad which was divine. It's about a 20 minute stroll to the Acropolis entry and a lot of the archaeological attractions are also within walking distance. We give the hotel and the restaurants in the vicinity five stars. Everyone was so friendly, the streets were clean, nothing was too much trouble and Greece's troubles were not in evidence. Thoroughly recommend the Plaka and we feel we are usually quite hard to please.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JezabelEwell_Surrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this review, 19 April 2012
Dear Guest,

We have read your very kind comments with great appreciation and satisfaction.
We are so pleased you experienced our friendly staff, you enjoyed the roof terrace with the view and our very central location.
We thank you for your time to share these comments on Trip Advisor, and we are pleased that we were able to offer you an exceptional experience.

Hope to see you again on a future trip to Athens

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2012

It is in a very beautiful location, very close to Acropolis and other attractions. The staff was kind and the room very clean. Just Great !

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christin E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this review, 19 April 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you ever so much for writing a nice review that will help others to make their choice in the future.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2012

Pros:
Great Location
Great View
Good Shower Pressure (although there is no partition to separate the shower floor with the bathroom floor so the water floods the bathroom)
Good breakfast
Clean Room
VERY COMFORTABLE BED
Cons:
Very Noisy
Windows barely open
We had read that the staff were a little unfriendly. We don't mind that. I don't need someone to act like my best friend when we check in...although when there is a problem it would be nice if the staff was helpful. We had 25 minutes free of internet usage. After many times of getting a new password and climbing the stairs we gave up and went to the internet cafe down the street. The internet can only load very basic sites (when it works). Don't think about checking your bank account information there, that will not work and the staff WILL NOT HELP YOU. The lady is the only kind one working. If the staff were more helpful this hotel would have received a higher ranking.
ONE elevator for the whole hotel left us scaling 5 flights of stairs after all day of walking and hiking (not bad usually, but hard to do while pregnant).

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mcy1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this review, 19 April 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your stay in Athens
I have sent you a message asking for further details concerning your stay ( dates, room number) but did not to any reply.
I apologize for the incovenince caused to you due to the internet line problem we had, but was soon fixed.
Refering to your comment about our staff , I am surprised and sorry at the same time you did not receive an excellent service, as did all our guests the last months ( see travellers reviews).

I hope that if you come back to Athens you will stay with us again.

Wishing you wife all the best with her pregnancy.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2012

The Plaka Hotel is in a great location. We could walk to most places we wanted to visit, and the metro was only 5 minutes away if we needed it. The room was lovely. Twin beds, very comfortable, a safe, hairdryer and a minifridge we could store our own food and drink in. The bathroom was newly refurbished and was clean and more than adequate. We had a bath (not every European hotel bathroom has a bath), which my friend made use of one night. The breakfast was brilliant. There was so much choice, and the greek yoghurt and honey was so nice. We couldn't have asked for a better hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank spudqueen82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this review, 19 April 2012
Dear Guest,

I am delighted you returned home with a nice memory from your stay in Plaka Hotel.
Our bathrooms have just been renovated, so we are pleased you you made a good use of it.

Thank you for your high score.

Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#16 of 326 in Athens
2,200 reviews
Psirri / Gazi
O&B Athens Boutique Hotel
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#15 of 326 in Athens
2,973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
Central Athens Hotel
Central Athens Hotel
#30 of 326 in Athens
1,681 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
The Athens Gate Hotel
The Athens Gate Hotel
#17 of 326 in Athens
3,715 reviews
Plaka
Hermes Hotel
Hermes Hotel
#19 of 326 in Athens
1,506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plaka Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaka Hotel

Property: Plaka Hotel
Address: 7, Kapnikareas street and corner of Mitropoleos | Plaka / Acropolis / Syntagma / Monastiraki, Athens 105 56, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Plaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#10 Family Hotel in Athens
#16 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Plaka Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Most central hotel situated in Plaka district. Strategically located for visiting all main archaeological interests especially the Acropolis and new Acropolis museum, as well as Ancient Agora, Parliament, first Olympic stadium, Benaki museum, Cycladic museum, National garden. Two streets only away from metro station Monastiraki, with direct line from the airport and the port of Piraeus. 50m from the main shopping street Ermou and Plaka touristic shopping area with taverns and bars. Splendid view of the Acropolis from roof terrace not to be missed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Bookgreece.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Plaka Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athens Hotel Plaka
Plaka Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing