We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location!! Recommended”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Plaka Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Plaka Hotel
Ranked #12 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good location!! Recommended”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2012

Plaka is located at a very good location. Very near to Monastiraki and all the shopping area. Has a direct superb view of the Acropolis at rooftop. However the lane is quite narrow, only taxis and cars can drop in front of the entrance, but not the big tour bus. Service was excellent too. The day of my departure, metro was going on strike, the manager walked around to ensure everybody's transport won't be affected or she could do up some arrangements. Also, the hotel has a corner to print out e-check-in letter which is very useful for travellers doing online check-in. Wi-fi loses it's connection on rooftop and probably can consider doing away with only 1hour free wifi. Will recommend to friends and will consider staying back here! :)

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shayna_Yan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this review, 1 June 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your stay in Athens and for reccommending it on T.A.
We are pleased you enjoyed the very central location, the roof top and our customer sevice.
In our attempt to improve we surely value all the feedback we can get from our guests.

Hope to see you again.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,138 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,705
    1,187
    181
    49
    16
See reviews for
633
1,521
223
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (581)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2012

I found the Plaka Hotel on Trip Advisor and I am glad I did. The price was right and the location perfect. Short walk to the Acropolis, shorter walk to the Monastiraki district and food. We checked in on a Sunday afternoon and fell asleep immediately exhausted from jetlag. We were able to sleep until 2:30am because it was SO quiet and perfect. The beds were comfortable and although small (who cares, we just slept in it), the room was clean. The "kitchen" area is awesome for your needs in the morning as well as throughout the day. It was like having your own kitchen to grab things from and my husband keeps saying how great that was. The roof top terrace was perfect. Suntanned on the loungers looking up at the Acropolis one afternoon and had a cocktail in the evenings. Stunning view. The front desk people were helpful if we had questions and the owner, Dorina is taking care of an issue for me even after we have been gone for 2 weeks. I would absolutely stay here again and would recommend the Plaka.

Room Tip: The Acropolis view room was worth the extra money. Especially when we woke at 2:00am to see a full m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mauibums
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this review, 24 May 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for trasting Plaka hotel for your stay in Athens. I am glad that T.A. reviwers were helful to you and we were able to offer you a pleasent and comfortable stay !

I hope we will see you again on a future trip to Athens.

Kins regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2012

Hotel guests can lounge n relax on Rooftop terrace - enjoy great views of Acropolis n Athens city. Bar service at Rooftop start from 5.30 pm n drinks are cheap . Before 5.30 pm complimentary coffee n tea are available in the Dining Room. At your doorstep are many tourist attractions, shops and taverns.

When you are tired walking, the Metro and tourist tram car are closed by to the Hotel. At night the area is safe for walking and you can walk to Pysrri and back. The bedroom looks newly refurbished,- spotless, with good lighting and comfortable bedding. The room is not large but well-equipped. Our Room with good Acropolis view is quiet even though just below the Bar. Breakfast has good variety of hot n cold food. Staff are friendly and helpful. So I share this great find with all people going to Athens.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChewM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this review, 24 May 2012
Dear Guest,

It is so nice to read that you returned home with such a pleasent memory from Plaka Hotel !
We thank you for your review, high score and wonderful title.

From all of us a big thank you !

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
96 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2012

Hotel is located in heart of plaka which is very safe and very central to all the major attractions and to 2 metro stops. The management was very courteous and helpful. Rooftop bar is absolutely amazing. Made our trip to greece!

Room Tip: Acropolis View room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ADG1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this review, 24 May 2012
Dear Guest,

I am delighted to read that Plaka hotel made your trip to Greece and I really hope that though you come from far away you will come back one day.
Thank you very much for your enthousistic review and your high score.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2012

We arrived in Athens after a 35 day cruise and wanted to stay for a few nights since we had not been to Athens. We had reserved 2 nights at the Plaka Hotel and 1 night at the Hermes since we couldn't get all 3 nights confirmed in one hotel. We asked the front desk about confirming all 3 nights in the Plaka and they said they would let us know. While having breakfast at the hotel, the manager/owner came to introduce herself and ask if everything was ok. What a surprise that they would take the time to do this! We asked her about staying at the Plaka instead of moving and she said she would check into it and let us know. Well, she came through for us and we were able to stay at the Plaka which made it more convenient since we were traveling with my 87 year old mother in-law. The hotel is very quaint, not fancy but perfect for our 3 days. It is centrally located and you don't really need a taxi anywhere! We used the hop on hop off bus and it was terrific!!!! The location is the main reason I gave this hotel a 5 rating. I would stay here again because of the great customer service and the location! And, the view of the Acropolis at night from the rooftop is amazing!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Intern1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this review, 23 May 2012
Dear Guest,

I am more than pleased to read that you returned home with a nice memory from your stay in Plaka Hotel.
It was a pleasure meeting you and be able transfer all your stay in one of our hotels.
I am glad the walking was easy to mayor sites and restaurants.

Thank you and best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
153 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2012

When I look for a hotel the two most important things for me are the location of the hotel and the view from the room. The location of this hotel is great, close to all the major attractions. The view from a few rooms I understand is sensational and I had requested two of these rooms about 8 months in advance. We didn't get one, we did get a view of an air-conditioning unit. Needless to say I felt extremely upset. The room itself was basic, as was the hotel. Having the roof-top bar with a view of the Acropolis is great but unfortunately for me, didn't make up for the rooms we were given.

Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank FamilyTraveller5ofus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this review, 23 May 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your stay last May .
Though I am glad you enjoyed the very central location,I am very sorry to read that we did not have available any "Deluxe room with Acropolis view " during your stay. Such rooms are few and guests who definitely wish to have them book this specific type of room.

I understand your being upset, as you came from far way and it is not a trip to be easily repeated.
I hope you will come again in Athens and we will match all your expectations.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
89 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2012 via mobile

My wife and I were given the name of this hotel from a friend who had stayed here in September 2011. At that time she told us that the location, staff and amenities were fantastic and we could not agree more. The staff at the front desk are exceptional, so helpful and knowledgable about virtually any subject ( major attractions, shopping or upcoming events). The staff at the front were one thing but the room we had was clean and well appointed. Like our friend my wife and I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to our friends or readers of trip advisor. Excellent.

Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Phillip S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this review, 21 May 2012
Dear Guest,

We are delighted to read that word of mouth about Plaka Hotel was for you as well as expected!
Satisfaction of our guests is our primary concern and we are very glad when we achieve a positive result.
It will be a real pleasure for us to have you or any of your friends in our hotel if staying in Athens.
Thank you for your high score.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Psirri / Gazi
O&B Athens Boutique Hotel
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#15 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,847 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#16 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
Central Athens Hotel
Central Athens Hotel
#30 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,623 reviews
Plaka
AVA Hotel Athens
AVA Hotel Athens
#5 of 325 in Athens
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,606 reviews
Syntagma
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plaka Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaka Hotel

Property: Plaka Hotel
Address: 7, Kapnikareas street and corner of Mitropoleos | Plaka / Acropolis / Syntagma / Monastiraki, Athens 105 56, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Plaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#10 Family Hotel in Athens
#16 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Plaka Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Most central hotel situated in Plaka district. Strategically located for visiting all main archaeological interests especially the Acropolis and new Acropolis museum, as well as Ancient Agora, Parliament, first Olympic stadium, Benaki museum, Cycladic museum, National garden. Two streets only away from metro station Monastiraki, with direct line from the airport and the port of Piraeus. 50m from the main shopping street Ermou and Plaka touristic shopping area with taverns and bars. Splendid view of the Acropolis from roof terrace not to be missed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Odigeo, HotelsClick, Traveltool, S.L.U., Bookgreece.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Plaka Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athens Hotel Plaka
Plaka Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing