We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“just what we were looking for”
Review of Plaka Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Plaka Hotel
Ranked #10 of 282 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 May 2012

We wanted a reasonable price and clean hotel, near the Acropolis and metro, in a safe area. That's what the Plaka is. And the rooftop is great for a drink and view of sunset and the ruins.The rooms are clean and simple, beds are good, bath had lots of water pressure. The registration area is small, the staff efficient and not overly friendly, yet competent and pleasant. If you can, take a cab to get there. We drove, mostly sat in traffic, for well over an hour trying to get to it for the second time because there was no place to stop or park before leaving our rental car off. It is a very manageable walk to the sights, a few minutes to either Syntagma or Monastisraki stations or the Hop on/ Hop off bus---our desparate choice because it was raining so much the days we visited. Just walk and enjoy Athens if you can. It is not the horrible city some people say to avoid. It is worth a couple of days at least to see the ancient ruins, the modern museums, and to take in what Athens is without comparing it to Paris or Rome or other European capitals. The area near the hotel has fun and fine restaurants and great food of all kinds and a lot of shops. We really loved the location and the reasonable price for a city center hotel. Breakfast was acceptable and served in a nice, sunny room. The staff arranged an airport taxi for 8:30 on Sunday morning and 3 of them were waiting at 8 am. We got exactly what we had expected from TA reviews and more. As we walked out one day, the Olympic flame runners were literally going down the street in front of us and we watched as one lit another's torch on the way to the stadium.

Room Tip: We were in 507 and 508, high and away from the elevator. No complaints.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RoseMarieOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2012

Dear RoseMarieOhio,

We are so happy that after having read T.A reviews, you received from our hotel just what you were looking for ! Except of all the positives you mention about Plaka Hotel, it is great to know that you felt safe and had the chance to get the exceptional experience of the flame runners.
Thank you for your detailed review and high score.

Hope to have you again.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,342)
There are newer reviews for Plaka Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,943 - 1,949 of 3,342 reviews

Reviewed 26 May 2012

This hotel could not be more central, the panorama in the terrace is just amazing. The room is nice and not expensive. Breakfast is basic but not bad. Ahh and it is very close to the metro that directly connects to the airport!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cristiano G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2012

Dear Guest,

We are very happy to read that you had a exceptional experience in Athens, by seeing the Olympic flame runners! In addition, how nice to know that your stay in our hotel was as expected and as described from other TA reviewers.

Thank you for your detailed review.

Hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2012

Plaka is located at a very good location. Very near to Monastiraki and all the shopping area. Has a direct superb view of the Acropolis at rooftop. However the lane is quite narrow, only taxis and cars can drop in front of the entrance, but not the big tour bus. Service was excellent too. The day of my departure, metro was going on strike, the manager walked around to ensure everybody's transport won't be affected or she could do up some arrangements. Also, the hotel has a corner to print out e-check-in letter which is very useful for travellers doing online check-in. Wi-fi loses it's connection on rooftop and probably can consider doing away with only 1hour free wifi. Will recommend to friends and will consider staying back here! :)

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shayna_Yan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your stay in Athens and for reccommending it on T.A.
We are pleased you enjoyed the very central location, the roof top and our customer sevice.
In our attempt to improve we surely value all the feedback we can get from our guests.

Hope to see you again.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2012

I found the Plaka Hotel on Trip Advisor and I am glad I did. The price was right and the location perfect. Short walk to the Acropolis, shorter walk to the Monastiraki district and food. We checked in on a Sunday afternoon and fell asleep immediately exhausted from jetlag. We were able to sleep until 2:30am because it was SO quiet and perfect. The beds were comfortable and although small (who cares, we just slept in it), the room was clean. The "kitchen" area is awesome for your needs in the morning as well as throughout the day. It was like having your own kitchen to grab things from and my husband keeps saying how great that was. The roof top terrace was perfect. Suntanned on the loungers looking up at the Acropolis one afternoon and had a cocktail in the evenings. Stunning view. The front desk people were helpful if we had questions and the owner, Dorina is taking care of an issue for me even after we have been gone for 2 weeks. I would absolutely stay here again and would recommend the Plaka.

Room Tip: The Acropolis view room was worth the extra money. Especially when we woke at 2:00am to see a full m...
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mauibums
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for trasting Plaka hotel for your stay in Athens. I am glad that T.A. reviwers were helful to you and we were able to offer you a pleasent and comfortable stay !

I hope we will see you again on a future trip to Athens.

Kins regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2012

Hotel guests can lounge n relax on Rooftop terrace - enjoy great views of Acropolis n Athens city. Bar service at Rooftop start from 5.30 pm n drinks are cheap . Before 5.30 pm complimentary coffee n tea are available in the Dining Room. At your doorstep are many tourist attractions, shops and taverns.

When you are tired walking, the Metro and tourist tram car are closed by to the Hotel. At night the area is safe for walking and you can walk to Pysrri and back. The bedroom looks newly refurbished,- spotless, with good lighting and comfortable bedding. The room is not large but well-equipped. Our Room with good Acropolis view is quiet even though just below the Bar. Breakfast has good variety of hot n cold food. Staff are friendly and helpful. So I share this great find with all people going to Athens.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChewM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2012

Dear Guest,

It is so nice to read that you returned home with such a pleasent memory from Plaka Hotel !
We thank you for your review, high score and wonderful title.

From all of us a big thank you !

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2012

Hotel is located in heart of plaka which is very safe and very central to all the major attractions and to 2 metro stops. The management was very courteous and helpful. Rooftop bar is absolutely amazing. Made our trip to greece!

Room Tip: Acropolis View room!
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ADG1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2012

Dear Guest,

I am delighted to read that Plaka hotel made your trip to Greece and I really hope that though you come from far away you will come back one day.
Thank you very much for your enthousistic review and your high score.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2012

We arrived in Athens after a 35 day cruise and wanted to stay for a few nights since we had not been to Athens. We had reserved 2 nights at the Plaka Hotel and 1 night at the Hermes since we couldn't get all 3 nights confirmed in one hotel. We asked the front desk about confirming all 3 nights in the Plaka and they said they would let us know. While having breakfast at the hotel, the manager/owner came to introduce herself and ask if everything was ok. What a surprise that they would take the time to do this! We asked her about staying at the Plaka instead of moving and she said she would check into it and let us know. Well, she came through for us and we were able to stay at the Plaka which made it more convenient since we were traveling with my 87 year old mother in-law. The hotel is very quaint, not fancy but perfect for our 3 days. It is centrally located and you don't really need a taxi anywhere! We used the hop on hop off bus and it was terrific!!!! The location is the main reason I gave this hotel a 5 rating. I would stay here again because of the great customer service and the location! And, the view of the Acropolis at night from the rooftop is amazing!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Intern1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2012

Dear Guest,

I am more than pleased to read that you returned home with a nice memory from your stay in Plaka Hotel.
It was a pleasure meeting you and be able transfer all your stay in one of our hotels.
I am glad the walking was easy to mayor sites and restaurants.

Thank you and best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Thissio / Makriyanni
The Athens Gate Hotel
The Athens Gate Hotel
#14 of 282 in Athens
3,845 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#13 of 282 in Athens
2,333 reviews
Plaka
Central Athens Hotel
Central Athens Hotel
#27 of 282 in Athens
1,767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Omonia
Pallas Athena Grecotel Boutique Hotel
Plaka
Hermes Hotel
Hermes Hotel
#15 of 282 in Athens
1,563 reviews
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#12 of 282 in Athens
3,150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plaka Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaka Hotel

Address: 7, Kapnikareas street and corner of Mitropoleos | Plaka / Acropolis / Syntagma / Monastiraki, Athens 105 56, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Plaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#7 Family Hotel in Athens
#9 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#11 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range: £59 - £326 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Plaka Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Most central hotel situated in Plaka district. Strategically located for visiting all main archaeological interests especially the Acropolis and new Acropolis museum, as well as Ancient Agora, Parliament, first Olympic stadium, Benaki museum, Cycladic museum, National garden. Two streets only away from metro station Monastiraki, with direct line from the airport and the port of Piraeus. 50m from the main shopping street Ermou and Plaka touristic shopping area with taverns and bars. Splendid view of the Acropolis from roof terrace not to be missed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Plaka Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athens Hotel Plaka
Plaka Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing