We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location: pros & cons”
Review of Plaka Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Plaka Hotel
Ranked #13 of 284 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 July 2012

Most pluses have been covered by other reviewers.

- We stayed in extreme mid-July heat, so it should be noted that the air conditioning was equal to the task;

- tiny lift was briefly out of commission on arrival, but soon repaired;

- we were pick pocketed on Athens subway on way in from the airport (Warning sign in hotel lobby viewed after the fact); staff was helpful in assisting w/ credit card mop-up.

- great location, but area conducive to petty theft: exercise caution at all times.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RSD2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on Trip Advisor that will help other readers.
I am really sorry you were pick pocketed in the metro. It is true we have to be cautious in crowded areas everywhere today. I am pleased that you were satisfied with our staff's assistance you with credit cards etc.

Best regards to your family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,485)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,013 - 2,019 of 3,485 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2012

We stayed here for two nights and it was quite nice. Even though the lift and the room were small we loved the cleanliness and air condition. Bed and shower were great as was the air conditioning. The best thing about the place is its very central location. We literally walked out the front to go shopping, sightseeing and to many different restaurants. The staff was excellent and very helpful. Also, the roof top view is spectacular and breathtaking. To be so close to the acropolis is amazing.
Thanks for the great stay

Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
Thank Monika M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 16 July 2012

Dear Guest,

We are more than pleased to read that you enjoyed so much the very central location of our hotel!
It is true, you can just go out of the hotel and on your foot steps are all mayor sites, restaurants and shops.

Hope to see you again.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2012

We had our second stay at this hotel late in June. We had already stayed there 4 years ago, so knew about the great location, fab breakfast and amazing rooftop view. Both times we have had a room overlooking the street and I had wondered if any viewed the acropolis - I think next time I will ask for one of those. Although the rooftop area is fantastic at sundown - it's too hot during the day - unless you want to spend your time sunbathing in Athens ????? - way to much to see, so a little shade up there would be fantastic too :)

Room Tip: Make sure you request a room with a view to the Acropolis
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandy178
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2012

We loved this hotel. It had everything you needed as a base for exploring Athens. The room and bathroom were quite small but they were clean, modern and comfortable. We didn't want to waste money on a hotel that we weren't going to spend much time in. We spent more time here than we thought and it was the little thoughtful things that made a difference. It was very hot during our stay and we did lots of walking to places and sites around Athens. Because of the excellent location of the hotel we found ourselves coming back to the hotel for toilet stops and breaks. There was always cool water, tea and coffee available in the breakfast room along with comfortable chairs and a table that you could use at any time of the day. We would come back and have a short rest, a drink of cool water and check our map before heading out again. We also found some wonderful places to eat very close to the hotel. As others have mentioned the rooftop bar is a lovely place to unwind at the end of the day. You can see and hear Athens at night. We arrived early and were able to check in straight away which was very convenient. They also provide a luggage storage service if needed. It was easy to use the computer and the staff were very helpful even when I needed paper to print something. There was lots of helpful information displayed around the hotel including transport timetables and opening times. What we really appreciated was the owner coming around at breakfast time to check if everything was ok and offering her help. It gave you the opportunity to mention things you may not have thought to ask. We acted on one of her suggestions and replanned our whole day and we were so grateful for the experience. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 16 July 2012

Dear Guest,

We are delighted to read that we managed to offer you an exceptional stay!
I thank you for all the details mentioned, that may help TA readers to make their hotel choice.

I really hope to see you again on a fututre trip to Athens.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2012

We spent 4 nights (in May) at this hotel.Location is perfect for the Plaka and the Acropolis and main tourist attractions. Room was perfect. Bathroom small but perfectly functional. Staff spoke perfect English. Breakfast satisfying and fresh.Roof top bar has the best view of the Acropolis you will get. Would highly recommend.

Room Tip: Not really necessary as the roof top has the most amazing view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aussiemarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 16 July 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for highly recommending our hotel and for your high score!

Hope to see you back one day.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2012

We stayed overnight at the Plaka hotel. It's location is excellent. Walking distance to a lot of the sights, and close to the hop-on hop-off bus if you'd rather do that. Restaurants close by. Rooms very comfortable, with excellent beds. Staff are helpful, and spoke good English. Nice buffet breakfast served in dining room. The view if the Acropolis from the roof top garden/bar is unsurpassed!

Room Tip: Rooms on upper levels have good views. Don't miss the roof top vista!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rose F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 16 July 2012

Dear Guest,

We are very pleased you enjoyed our comfortable beds, the great location as well as the view of the Acropolis from the roof top.
We hope that next time you will be able to stay longer and visit all the interesting places Athens has to offer.

Thank you again for choosing us.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2012

Athens was hot and dirty when I got there by night. I very much appreciated my clean and air conditioned room, as well as a strong shower, at the Plaka Hotel. My room was small, but when I opened the curtains, I was stunned by a spectacular view of the Acropolis all lit up on the hill directly in front of my window! In the morning, the Acropolis was still there, this time standing white and tall. The hotel had a rooftop bar of sorts that I never visited, but I was told it also had this wonderful view. I could hardly wait to go to the Acropolis. Make sure you visit the modern and air conditioned Acropolis Museum, one of the best in the world, simple fantastic. Breakfast was good at the hotel and I met very friendly travelers. It was fun that they offered a bowl of olives at breakfast. Eat a lot at breakfast because the rest of the day will be hot and rugged, and service is very very slow in Greece, so my Plaka Hotel was a respite from all my travels. The people at the front desk were very helpful too. They even mailed a package home for me that I could not do on my own because the post office was closed when I left.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the Acropolis. Make sure your shower is working well, because Athens is damn hot a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mermaidsylvia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 16 July 2012

Dear Guest,

I am very pleased that as a solo traveler enjoyed so much your stay with us.
It is true, the view from your room is spectacular but it is a pity you did not have the time to visit the roof bar with a 360 degrees of Athens.
Hopefully next time you will stay longer.

Best regards and thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#10 of 284 in Athens
2,489 reviews
Psirri / Gazi
O&B Athens Boutique Hotel
Plaka
Hermes Hotel
Hermes Hotel
#15 of 284 in Athens
1,618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
Central Athens Hotel
Central Athens Hotel
#32 of 284 in Athens
1,844 reviews
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#12 of 284 in Athens
3,307 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
The Athens Gate Hotel
The Athens Gate Hotel
#14 of 284 in Athens
3,974 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plaka Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaka Hotel

Address: 7, Kapnikareas street and corner of Mitropoleos | Plaka / Acropolis / Syntagma / Monastiraki, Athens 105 56, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Plaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Athens
#7 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#11 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range: £60 - £164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Plaka Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Most central hotel situated in Plaka district. Strategically located for visiting all main archaeological interests especially the Acropolis and new Acropolis museum, as well as Ancient Agora, Parliament, first Olympic stadium, Benaki museum, Cycladic museum, National garden. Two streets only away from metro station Monastiraki, with direct line from the airport and the port of Piraeus. 50m from the main shopping street Ermou and Plaka touristic shopping area with taverns and bars. Splendid view of the Acropolis from roof terrace not to be missed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Plaka Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athens Hotel Plaka
Plaka Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing