We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location, staff and hotel.”
Review of Plaka Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Plaka Hotel
Ranked #14 of 324 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 October 2012

The location is perfect. You can walk to Acropolis, museums, shops and Monastraiki metro station - which can deliver you directly to/from the airport using the blue line 3. Many eateries near by and a wee convenience store right beside the hotel.
The hotel has a lift that fits 4 people (or 2 with bags). It takes you to the floor before the roof terrace, but you have to walk up the final flight of stairs to the roof bar. The view is amazing!!!
Breakfast is adequate and the dining room tidy and clean. It doubles as a day lounge where you can help yourself to tea/coffee/hot chocolate, water and biscuits.
Our rooms were two adjoining rooms 403&404. A side view out the window and plenty of space for our family of 2 adults and 2 kids. Fridge and safe in room and effective air con. Very comfy bed. Good soundproofed windows.
The staff were all very helpful, advising us of the current strike action and where to avoid.
A lovely hotel - very good 3 star - as good as some 4 stars I have stayed in!

Room Tip: Our room(s) did not have a direct Acropolis view (we had to look sideways) but they were perfect for...
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DoodlesTheScot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2012

Dear Guest,

Sorry it took me so long to thank you for your very your time to share your positive experience in our hotel on TA. We loved it as well as the submitted photo.

We really hope to see you again.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,339)
There are newer reviews for Plaka Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,820 - 1,826 of 3,339 reviews

Reviewed 12 October 2012

After nearly 20 days of traveling, what a sweet way to end our trip. This hotel is located in the most charming part of Athens - with easy access to most of the sights. PLUS, it has a roof-top bar to view the Acropolis. It was breath-taking. Each late afternoon, we brought up our own wine & glasses & relaxed after the hustle & bussel. Nice room - very good complementary b'fast - great reception staff. Don't miss this one!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WLSS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2012

Dear Guest,

We are delighted to read that you ended your long travelling with a great experience in our hotel. Thank you again for choosing us, for your review and high score.

Best regards from all of us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2012

We enjoyed the excellent location of this hotel to shopping, flea market, restaurants and historical attractions.
There was an excellent service every morning which was unique. There was a female hotel customer service representative who circled the breakfast room visiting tables and offering advice and suggestions towards daily activities and attractions. She asked us what we were planning to do then would refine or clarify details to make it easier or more successful for us. It really helped us a lot as our time was limited and we made the most of it.
The tiny lift was silly size but nothing unusual for Europe. However it can take some time to get up and down levels.
Breakfast was standard but sufficient.
Some of the rooms have great views of the Acropolis and there is an excellent terrace that you can sit on at night to stunning views complete with a small bar. When booking a room make sure you specify view and pay a bit more.

Room Tip: Choose Acropolis views. Do not go for standard double room. It is a shoebox with bed pushed up again...
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and positive comments on our staff, the location and the roof terrace with stunning view.
Referring to your comment on our rooms, we have three types: economy (standard to European standards) superior (bigger size with balcony) and Acropolis view. Most of the rooms are twin but if someone requests in advance it we can offer double bed.

I thank you again for your review which will be helpful to other TA readers.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2012

Thank you Plaka Hotel for a lovely stay. Our friends and I recently stayed 2 nights at this hotel and we'd stay there again without question. Good sized room with the quietest airconditioning we've ever experienced. A delicious breakfast was also included and a continental available to us despite us requiring a very early breakfast time on our departure day. But of course the best feature? Watching the sunset & moonrise over the Acropolis while sipping a beer on their rooftop bar. Friendly and attentive staff.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AandGNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2012

Dear Guest,

We are delighted to read your comments and thank you very much for sharing your exceptional experience on TripAdvisor. As we are constantly trying to provide the best in accommodation and service, we are very glad to hear such nice words. Also thank you for mentioning the"great value" of your stay.

Kind regards to you and your friends.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2012

We were there for our first and last nights. The location is convenient to the Hop On/Hop Off bus, easy to find, and close to food and fun. Within walking distance (back) from the Acropolis. Wonderful Gyro's down the street, and the Monistriaki Square is a must. People watching and loads of fun. The staff were helpful, and room prices reasonable. Though not large, the rooms were clean and quiet. The rooftop deck is a must see.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view...
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SEbiztraveler2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2012

Dear Guest,

How nice to read that you had a very positive impression on your first and last days in Athens by staying in our friendly hotel!
Thank you for your kind comments and high score.

Best regards and hope you will be back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2012

Chose the Plaka Hotel off reviews on TripAdvisor and we were not disappointed except for the air conditioning in our room. We were there for 4 nights late August, and booked an Acropolis view room, which was great, but it copped the sun all day and the aircond could not cope with this, otherwise the room was fine, we just would have liked it a bit cooler. This hotel is right in the Plaka, so when you walk out the door you're in it!. The hotel had a 5 star hotel breakfast room, and a 4 star hotel breakfast, the only thing missing was a chef cooking eggs to your every desire. The roof top garden/terrace and bar from 5:30pm was fantastic, with uninterrupted views of Athens and especially the Acropolis at night - it was the place to be for getting a suntan, pre-dinner drinks as we did everynight at very reasonable pricing, and for a nightcap after dinner and a walk till 11:30pm I think from memory. We will definitely stay here again the next time we visit. The staff are wonderful, and had so many suggestions for good cafe's/bistro's for lunch and dinner, we you would need a month to visit them all, NOT one was a dud. You can also walk from the Plaka Hotel to everything, like we did, the changing of the guards, the Acropolis, Agora etc etc etc.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Iggybah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2012

We stayed here for two nights in September to begin our trip of Greece and Southern Italy. The room was fine, the people were nice and helpful, but the main reasons I would stay here again were for the location and the rooftop view of the Acropolis, especially at night. Breakfast was actually very good too.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lady_di2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your short stay in Athens.
I am glad that you were satisfied with the service you received from our staff, the location and the view from the roof terrace.
Satisfaction of our guests is our primary concern and we are very glad when we achieve a positive result.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Thissio / Makriyanni
The Athens Gate Hotel
The Athens Gate Hotel
#17 of 324 in Athens
3,836 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#16 of 324 in Athens
2,324 reviews
Plaka
Central Athens Hotel
Central Athens Hotel
#30 of 324 in Athens
1,764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Omonia
Pallas Athena Grecotel Boutique Hotel
Plaka
Hermes Hotel
Hermes Hotel
#18 of 324 in Athens
1,561 reviews
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#15 of 324 in Athens
3,143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plaka Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaka Hotel

Address: 7, Kapnikareas street and corner of Mitropoleos | Plaka / Acropolis / Syntagma / Monastiraki, Athens 105 56, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Plaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#10 Family Hotel in Athens
#12 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#16 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range: £60 - £295 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Plaka Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Most central hotel situated in Plaka district. Strategically located for visiting all main archaeological interests especially the Acropolis and new Acropolis museum, as well as Ancient Agora, Parliament, first Olympic stadium, Benaki museum, Cycladic museum, National garden. Two streets only away from metro station Monastiraki, with direct line from the airport and the port of Piraeus. 50m from the main shopping street Ermou and Plaka touristic shopping area with taverns and bars. Splendid view of the Acropolis from roof terrace not to be missed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Plaka Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athens Hotel Plaka
Plaka Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing