We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel Plaka Athens....excellent.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Plaka Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Plaka Hotel
Ranked #12 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Jackson, Michigan
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Hotel Plaka Athens....excellent.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2012

I have stayed in various hotels in Athens for several years but the best value I have found is the HOTEL PLAKA. The staff, service, location, breakfast, rooms and ambience are excellent, not to mention that many of the rooms have views of the Parthenon. The rooftop terrace at night (bar up there, too) is great. I highly recommend the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the Parthenon, although all the rooms are very pleasant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeRossTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this review, 9 November 2012
Dera MikeRossTravel,

We are delighted to read a very positive review from an experienced traveler like you.
We thank you very much and we all really hope to see you again the soonest possible.

Best regards and thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,137 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,705
    1,186
    181
    49
    16
See reviews for
633
1,520
223
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (581)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2012

We arrived at the Plaka Hotel in the late afternoon from the airport. The staff were wonderful checking in, and we were in our room very quickly. The services at this hotel were fantastic. there was complimentary tea, coffee, biscuits and water in the restaurant all day until 5pm. The breakfasts were literally all night as there were many early checkouts for the islands. There was also a travel service, where a girl came around at breakfast time to check on every ones travel plans and make sure that all was ok!! Fabulous. The rooms were comfortable(the walls a little thin, though) and there was an awesome rooftop bar with a magnificent view of the acropolis.Would stay here again, without a doubt!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this review, 9 November 2012
Dear Guest,

It is with great satisfaction that we read your positive experience, after your short stay in our hotel.
We thank you for mentioning little details that we add to the main basic expectations.
We also hope that you will come back soon.

Best regards to your family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2012

This hotel is perfectly located. Plenty of good restaurants, cafes, bars, and shopping in the Plaka neighborhood. Hop-on Hop-off buses have stops near the hotel. The local Metro is only a couple blocks away, as is the local market (perfect place to stock up on spices and nuts). Our room, one level above the breakfast room, was just right for us. The real jewel however, is the rooftop bar which affords a spectacular view of the Acropolis. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbiedebbers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this review, 30 October 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your stay in Athens and for your review.
We are pleased that even though you were accommodated on the first floor you were satisfied with the isolation of our new double glazed windows.

We also hope to see you again on a future trip to Athens.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yorkshire, UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2012

Just stayed the one night at the Plaka after a cruise. The hotel is situated right in the heart of the old town, well within walking distance of all the sights, and with a good view of the Acropolis. Exceptionally friendly staff, especially Eva the Public Relations girl who spoke fluent English and gave us good advice on where to go and how to get there. Rooms were spotless and had a free safety deposit box. You could also have 60 minutes free on the hotel's computer which we used to do our on-line check in. Coffee and biscuits freely available all day in the first floor restaurant. We arrived early morning and the hotel was quite happy to store our cases in a dedicated store room. We were due to leave very early the next morning, and the night manager was extremely helpful, checking on our pre-booked taxi to make sure it was coming on time. Highly recommended if you like the old town atmosphere and excellent value for money.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fibonacci24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this review, 30 October 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and high score.
We are delighted to read that our staff was very helpful during your stay and that you felt that the hotel was an excellent value for money.
It will be a great pleasure to see you again.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2012

We stayed at Hotel Plaka during our honeymoon. We only had 3 nights in Athens and we are very glad that we chose this hotel. It is central to everything - we walked everywhere within 20 mins or less (including to the Acropolis site). It is close to the metro station and easy to find. The daily breakfast is included and offered a wide range of food surely to please everyone. There are lots of restaurants and shops in the neighbourhood. Rooms are clean and spacious. We loved the rooftop terrace where we spent most evenings just admiring the beautiful view. Only a few cons: the queen bed is actually 2 twins pushed together which is not really comfortable. There isn't a blanket on the bed - just a flat sheet acting as the blanket. The elevator is very small but that is pretty common with hotels in Europe. Also, they only offer 1 hr of free WIFI - if you want additional time, you have to pay for it. We enjoyed our stay here and highly recommend it to anyone visiting this beautiful city.

Room Tip: Upgrade to an Acropolis View room - it is definitely worth it! We were in room #612 and in our opini...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travel_bug0122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this review, 30 October 2012
Dear Guest,

We thank you for choosing our hotel for your honeymoon.
We are pleased you liked the room with view of the Acropolis and we thank for submitting very nice pictures. Referring to your comment on the bed sheet we have a simple cover for the hot days and in the cupboard there are blankets . In winter time we have duvet of very good quality.
Your comments are valuable to help us improve and we thank you for your time to write on T.A.

We wish you all the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
Level Contributor
48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2012

Room 611 could not be improved upon. Hotel location too. Staff was most accommodating as our early arrival could have been a problem. We could walk to all the places we had on our "must see"list and found the Plaka to be the perfect area for our all to brief visit to Athens.

This is not a luxurious hotel but is truly a wonderful find. The roof top veranda with its perfect Acropolis view is a delight as is the hotel breakfast offering.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank slmandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this review, 30 October 2012
Dear Guest,

How nice to read that you were so satisfied with the location of the hotel, as well as with your room, our friendly staff and the breakfast included in the price.

Thank you for your positive review and high score.

Best regards from all of us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morgantown, West Virginia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2012

I just spent a wonderful three days staying at the Palka Hotel. It's located just minutes from Syntagma Square, Monastiraki Metro station and the Plaka in the old part of Athens. It's so conveniently located, with tavernas and great shopping just a few minutes walk away. No need to take a taxi. Check out the roof top bar with its stunning view of the Acropolis.........there isn't a better night time view in all of Athens! The breakfasts are copious and delicious. I can't wait to go back to Athens and stay at the Plaka!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MountainMama808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this review, 9 November 2012
Dear Guest,

We love, love, love receiving reviews like yours!
Thank you so much!
We look forward to you next visit to Athens.

Kind regards to you and your friends.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Psirri / Gazi
O&B Athens Boutique Hotel
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#15 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,843 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#16 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
Central Athens Hotel
Central Athens Hotel
#30 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,623 reviews
Plaka
AVA Hotel Athens
AVA Hotel Athens
#5 of 325 in Athens
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,606 reviews
Syntagma
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plaka Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaka Hotel

Property: Plaka Hotel
Address: 7, Kapnikareas street and corner of Mitropoleos | Plaka / Acropolis / Syntagma / Monastiraki, Athens 105 56, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Plaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#10 Family Hotel in Athens
#16 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Plaka Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Most central hotel situated in Plaka district. Strategically located for visiting all main archaeological interests especially the Acropolis and new Acropolis museum, as well as Ancient Agora, Parliament, first Olympic stadium, Benaki museum, Cycladic museum, National garden. Two streets only away from metro station Monastiraki, with direct line from the airport and the port of Piraeus. 50m from the main shopping street Ermou and Plaka touristic shopping area with taverns and bars. Splendid view of the Acropolis from roof terrace not to be missed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, HotelsClick, Traveltool, S.L.U., Bookgreece.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Plaka Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athens Hotel Plaka
Plaka Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing