We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent hotel to stay in, would recommend it to anyone.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Plaka Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Plaka Hotel
Ranked #11 of 326 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel to stay in, would recommend it to anyone.”
Reviewed 30 August 2013 via mobile

The location is excellent, close to the metro and shopping strips. The markets are close by and there is a great view of acropolis at night. Good breakfast and internet is excellent. Great cleaning staff who cleaned our rooms even when we didn't leave until late in the afternoon.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sivvy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this review, 2 September 2013
Dear Guest.
We really like to ensure that our guests are comfortable and are able to benefit from a relaxing break with us and so I was delighted to read that you were happy with your room and our breakfast and most of all the service you received from our staff.
I hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,134 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,703
    1,186
    180
    49
    16
See reviews for
632
1,518
223
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (581)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

We stayed in this hotel for one night in mid August. The hotel is clean, fairly modern and is situated in the heart of Plaka district - minutes away from the Acropolis, Parliament building and other attractions. Rooms are decent size and have spacious modern bathrooms. The hotel serves excellent hot breakfast in the morning on the second floor. The concierge and other staff is very polite and helpful. Do not miss a rooftop bar with amazing view of the Acropolis!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Den P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this review, 2 September 2013
Dear Guest,
I would like to thank you personally for your kind recommendation to others and for sharing your lovely feedback following your stay with us. I am thrilled that you enjoyed the location and the experience of the Acropolis view, as well as the breakfast, the cleanliness and most importantly the friendliness of our staff.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

Perfect hotel for a one night stopover in Athens. It's in the middle of a vibrant part of town, you can watch the sunset over the Acropolis from the lovely rooftop bar, and it's friendly, clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank penelopeabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this review, 2 September 2013
Dear Guest,
It is always a pleasure to receive such kind reviews. Our aim is to make our guests’ stay an unforgettable experience and your appreciating comments encourage us to increase our efforts in offering the outmost to our valuable guests. Thank you for your high score.
We look very forward to welcoming you again in the near future.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013 via mobile

Great location. Close to shopping and subway (metro). Tons of restaurants nearby. Located at the base of the Acropolis. We stayed on the 6th floor which had an outstanding view. We enjoyed the rooftop patio in the evenings. Room was small but clean and modern. Nice bathroom. Good water pressure. Decent breakfast. A/C and fridge only work with a key in the slot. Wifi was decent. Convenience store located next door for purchasing beer and water. Elevator is small. Would recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bedhead57g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this review, 2 September 2013
Dear Guest,
It is with great pleasure and satisfaction that we read your comments following your recent stay in our hotel. Thank you for sharing your experience with us, which will be helpful to future clients.
We certainly hope you will be able to stay with us once more on future visits to Athens.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

We booked this hotel quite last minute for a decent price and were quite pleased with it.
Good central location, and easy transportation to/from airport by bus/metro and to other places as well. The Acropolis was walking distance which was ideal as we had a short time in Athens and wanted to start early.
The room was very clean, nicely kept though not the view of the Acropolis. But no matter as the rooftop garden has a beautiful view of it. We relaxed with a drink in the evening as the lights started to come up over the city.
Staff were very helpful and friendly, directing us to the nearest dining places and other facilities.

Room Tip: The markets nearby are great for dinner! Rooftop bar is open from 5.30pm but you can ask to go up an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pribee86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this review, 2 September 2013
Dear Guest,
I am glad that you were satisfied with the service you received from our staff, and the location of the hotel. Satisfaction of our guests is our primary concern and we are very glad when we achieve a positive result.
We thank you for mentionning that your stay was of value for money.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, Ile-de-France, France
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Stayed a night before flying back home yesterday. The hotel is standard with no special "extra". Rooms are clean, BF is average, staff professional, not super friendly but location is great at the middle of Plaka area, a few minutes walk to Acropolis.
Paid 140€ a night which I think is too much for what i got, but this was August high season...

Room Tip: Try to get the rooms with the Acropolis view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jean-Christophe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this review, 2 September 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for coming to Plaka Hotel for your last night. I am sorry to read that you did not have a great experience, as most of our clients. August is high season and this is why the price was higher that other periods. In our attempt to improve we surely value all the feedback and hope that on a future trip to Athens you will give us the oportunity to prove it to you. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly. Best regards.
.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

My husband and I stayed in this hotel for 4 nights for a holiday. This hotel is perfectly located. Everything is within walking distance all touristy places, shopping , bar and restaurant.
The room is spacious and very clean with a lovely balcony. Even though you are in the hustle of everything we did not hear any noise.The morning breakfast is really nice.They have a huge variety and staff will not pick up the breakfast even if you have come late.Through out the day you can go to there restaurant and you can have the free tea/coffee and cookies. They have an excellent roof top bar with a beautiful view of the acropolis and the bar lady is really sweet
The front desk staff is very helpful and also ready to answer all your questions
All in all a perfect stay and would definitely recommend anyone to stay here

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nehasahaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this review, 2 September 2013
Dear Guest,
We're delighted to read your comments and thank you for sharing your positive experience on Trip Advisor. Comments such as these are a tremendous motivation for us all to continue offering the standards of service to our guests. Thank you for recommending us.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Psirri / Gazi
O&B Athens Boutique Hotel
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#15 of 326 in Athens
2,837 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#16 of 326 in Athens
2,106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
Central Athens Hotel
Central Athens Hotel
#30 of 326 in Athens
1,622 reviews
Plaka
AVA Hotel Athens
AVA Hotel Athens
#5 of 326 in Athens
1,605 reviews
Syntagma
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plaka Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaka Hotel

Property: Plaka Hotel
Address: 7, Kapnikareas street and corner of Mitropoleos | Plaka / Acropolis / Syntagma / Monastiraki, Athens 105 56, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Plaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Athens
#10 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#16 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Plaka Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Most central hotel situated in Plaka district. Strategically located for visiting all main archaeological interests especially the Acropolis and new Acropolis museum, as well as Ancient Agora, Parliament, first Olympic stadium, Benaki museum, Cycladic museum, National garden. Two streets only away from metro station Monastiraki, with direct line from the airport and the port of Piraeus. 50m from the main shopping street Ermou and Plaka touristic shopping area with taverns and bars. Splendid view of the Acropolis from roof terrace not to be missed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Odigeo, HotelsClick, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Plaka Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athens Hotel Plaka
Plaka Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing