We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, clean hotel with wonderful management”
Review of Plaka Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Plaka Hotel
Ranked #13 of 284 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 November 2013

We stayed at the Plaka hotel for 2 nights in October 2013. The hotel was clean, our rooms were modern and nice, breakfast was really nice- choices of both greek food and english or american food were offered. They keep the breakfast room open all day for complimentary tea, coffee, lemon water and cookies- which was a nice touch and much appreciated. Wifi worked fine for us too. The view from the roof deck was to say the least spectacular! The desk staff was always ready to help when we needed anything. Now for the management, 2 weeks after our 2 night stay, I flew home and left my laptop at the Athens airport...security had it but I needed someone in Athens to pick it up and ship it for me. Dorina the manager was INCREDIBLY kind and gracious. She drove to the airport, got my computer, shipped it DHL and would not charge me a penny for this huge favor. Now that takes a special person and I am forever grateful to her, stay at the Plaka hotel , you will be well cared for by caring people.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mjacobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,485)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,596 - 1,602 of 3,485 reviews

Reviewed 12 November 2013

We had a ‘family room’ which is basically 2 doubles with a connecting door. It still felt a little small for the 3 of us. The complimetary wifi did not work in our rooms.

Breakfast was good, and available even in the early hours before 7am (at least the non-hot foodstuff). Another helpful touch was the lady whose job was to go around the breakfast tables and ask after guests. A TV and a fridge was not working in our rooms, and after informing her it was speedily fixed by that evening. The kitchen staff we met were also nice. Service would have scored full marks if not for the impersonal and unfriendly reception desk, don’t know why this seems to be such a problem in Athens…

We very much appreciated the complimentary water, hot beverages and biscuits that were available in the breakfast area till 5pm. The rooftop has nice views of the Acropolis and city, but I agree with other guests who feel the hotel should develop this rather bare area and improve its ambience.

Staying nearer to Monastiraki was great as it is still quite lively in late October, compared to the area nearer Syntagma Square which felt more deserted. I think the Plaka Hotel is a good choice in Athens.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank s-myluvtotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Dear Guest,
We are glad to know that in Plaka Hotel you had the best stay in Athens. We value you as a guest and your comments are most appreciated in order to improve.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Chose this small family hotel,in Plaka ,Athens, [My son and I , were there for 10 days] mainly because of the many positive reviews and the convenient location,within walking distance , to all the ancient sites, museums restaurants etc Easy 45 minutes travel on Metro from the aiport to Monistraki Square , and few minites walk to Hotel.. Touristy area, busy, buzzing with visitors.. Had a few days there solo, and felt safe going around the narrow little streets.. .Reception staff were so welcoming and informative.. THEY ARRANGED TWO TRIPS VIA CHATOURS TO DELPHI AND ANCIENT MYCENAE, most enjoyable days out,pleasant, knowledgeable Tour guides
The hotel lift is small , narrow, rather tiny..Luggage plus four guests there, feels like you are being hugged all the way up.. ...My single room, small, narrow., on 4th floor, was clean, well supplied daily with towels, linen and toiletries ... .Air-con worked well, Wifi, unfortunately, not so well in room but good in reception and dining area....., Small fridge for chilled drinks, extra pillows, anything in fact to enhance comfort is no trouble to the staff... The wonderful view from my window of the Acropolis, lit at night , shining bright , gazed upon until falling contentedly asleep ...Breakfast provides a reasonable choice of cereals fruits,some fresh , bread, rolls, croissants, cooked eggs bacon sausage and Greek foods.. Breakfast juices are not good quality, but there's plenty of teas and coffee , which is available all day , with biscuits too.., Katerina and Eva were particularly charming and helpful during our time there, as were the cleaning and reception staff.. Tried a few of the many local restaurants nearby, our favourite was Hermion, for good food, pleasant staff and live Greek music .. Happy to say I had a most enjoyable stay ..

Room Tip: Request a room with view and higher floor for quietness
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tanzymac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Dear Guest,
We appreciate your enthusiastic comments about our location and service as well as the friendly staff. Referring to your comment on our juices we would like to share with you that we offer fresh orange juice which is the most expensive in the retail market (''olympos'') and as for the grapefruit that it is not fresh but prepared,as it is difficult to get it in Greece. We thank you for mentioning that you had the most enjoyable stay. We hope to see you again with your family.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013

Location is excellent. Room was clean. Breakfast was complete and good. WiFi was a little slow at times but worked. Staff friendly and helpful. Rooftop really pleasant with an excellent view. There was a fair bit of street noise late at night, but when we finally learned to close the patio door we found it pretty-well sound insulated. Prices were reasonable. I agree with all positive reviews. Thanks for a great stay.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brett-Ottawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2013

Dear Guest,
It gives us great pleasure to learn that you had a perfect stay in our hotel and that we met your expectations and enjoyed the service and facilities we provided you with. Thank you! We do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back on a future visit to Athens and do not hesitate to contact us if we can be of assistance at any time.
Warm regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013

The Plaka Hotel is well located, close to the Acropolis (lovely view from the rooftop bar at The Plaka), Syntagma Square and the archeological sites of Athens. It is a short walk from the Monastriki subway station for easy access from both the port of Piraeus and the airport.

The hotel is clean and quiet with free wifi. A generous breakfast is included, and the breakfast room is always open for coffee and biscuits. We left early on our final day, and we were able to have breakfast at 4:30 AM, though cold food only. That was much appreciated!

There are lovely outdoor cafes in the nearby square. A good choice for a stay in Athens.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
Thank 56TravellingGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2013

Dear Guest,
It gives us great pleasure to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the hotel to be in the perfect location to explore all the archaeological sites in a brief walk from the hotel and the pedestrian street Ermou for those who are eager shoppers. Looking very much forward to welcoming you again on any future visits to Athens.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Great location, within walking distance of the main square, shopping, restaurants, tourist spots etc. Clean sheets and towels; good breakfast; helpful staff; great roof terrace. Warning - stay clear of the corner rooms numbered 09. Extremely small and barely any space to walk around the double bed so we had to ask for a switch, which was provided after one night.

Room Tip: stay away from the corner rooms which are very small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dhaone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2013

Dear Guest,
We are so pleased to read that Plaka hotel was a good choice for you due to its great location, cleanliness, helful staff and roof terrace. Referring to your comment on your room, it was booked a standard room, but as you noticed we have also "superior rooms" which are of bigger size with balcony. We thank you and hope you will come back.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We chose this hotel before departing Greece and our experience couldn't have been better. The location made for a great afternoon of exploring and the number of restaurant choices were abundant. When we checked into our room we enjoyed complimentary wine and Greek pastries and in spite of our very early departure, we enjoyed a plentiful continental breakfast. Our room was very quiet with a partial view of the Acropolis. The roof top deck was just as nice as everyone said in their reviews.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DJEli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2013

Dear Guest,
I am glad that you were satisfied with the great location of the hotel as it is located,not only close to Acropolis,but also in the heart of all the interested places,such as restaurants and cafes,as the pedestrian shopping street Ermou. We are delighted that you had a perfect evening in Athens and that you enjoyed your Acropolis view room. Hope to host you again.
Warm regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#10 of 284 in Athens
2,489 reviews
Psirri / Gazi
O&B Athens Boutique Hotel
Plaka
Hermes Hotel
Hermes Hotel
#15 of 284 in Athens
1,618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
Central Athens Hotel
Central Athens Hotel
#32 of 284 in Athens
1,844 reviews
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#12 of 284 in Athens
3,307 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
The Athens Gate Hotel
The Athens Gate Hotel
#14 of 284 in Athens
3,974 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plaka Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaka Hotel

Address: 7, Kapnikareas street and corner of Mitropoleos | Plaka / Acropolis / Syntagma / Monastiraki, Athens 105 56, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Plaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Athens
#7 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#11 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range: £61 - £164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Plaka Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Most central hotel situated in Plaka district. Strategically located for visiting all main archaeological interests especially the Acropolis and new Acropolis museum, as well as Ancient Agora, Parliament, first Olympic stadium, Benaki museum, Cycladic museum, National garden. Two streets only away from metro station Monastiraki, with direct line from the airport and the port of Piraeus. 50m from the main shopping street Ermou and Plaka touristic shopping area with taverns and bars. Splendid view of the Acropolis from roof terrace not to be missed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Plaka Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athens Hotel Plaka
Plaka Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing