We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location in Athens”
Review of Plaka Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Plaka Hotel
Ranked #13 of 284 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Situated in the middle of the Plaka, within walking distance to major sites and on metro routes, the Plaka offers excellent value for money. Well situated for eating out. You can get a good feel for Athens including the meat, fish and vegetable markets nearby. Roof top bar with superb acropolis views. Rooms are small, but have everything you need. Thanks to the staff for their efficient friendly manner.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the acropolis are smaller than those facing the side - it is up to you -- we had been t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2013

Dear David D,
How nice to read from you as well that the Plaka hotel offers excellent value for money!
Thank you for your complimentary comments of our staff and of course the unique view we offer!
As for the room size, if you decide to come back please check availability on our superior rooms as they are of bigger.
Thank you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,485)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,587 - 1,593 of 3,485 reviews

Reviewed 20 November 2013

My group stayed at the Plaka Hotel for two nights prior to our cruise. I chose the hotel after reading many awesome reviews from TripAdvisor, but was initially disappointed with the hotel after arriving and walking into a small and underwhelming lobby. The location and rooftop view are the attraction for the hotel because the rooms and amenities are very average. I would classify this hotel as a value hotel. Our stay was not unpleasant, as the location is the best and time spent up on the roof was unbeatable, but the rooms are plain and very basic. Breakfast was included and we enjoyed the variety they offered. But, as another review mentions the sewer smell was unpleasant but manageable when the bathroom door remained closed. Oh, and be prepared, the elevator is extremely small as elevators are in older buildings. After the luggage made it up, I used the stairs after that. However, I would stay here again, but if you are particular about hotel room amenities this is not the hotel for you.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CrystalBlue_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2013

Dear CrystalBlue_10,
Thank you for choosing our hotel for your stay in Athens.
As you mentioned our lobby and elevator are small, but as you realise these are things that can not be changed in old buildings located in Plaka area (old Athens) Our hotel was built under the regulations of a three star.
As you experienced the location is the best, as it is one street away from archeological sites,restaurants, metro station and Ermou main shopping street and many other attractions.
Your review is valuable to us, as it will help us improve.
I hope we will have to opportunity seeing you again on a future trip to Athens and match all your expectations.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

A very well located hotel that provides value for money accommodation. We booked two rooms in this hotel and both were clean and comfortable. Our room had a full view of the Acropolis which in itself is priceless. The staff were friendly and helpful and the breakfast was more than adequate. We found the hotel easy to find from the airport and it was also easy to get the train to the cruise terminal to continue our journey. Some time spent on the roof in the evening gazing at the lit up Acropolis was something we will not forget. The place to stay in Athens!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bankgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2013

Dear bankgirl,
We are so very happy to have met your expectations and even exceeded them in regards to our location. We are grateful that you took the time to share your experience and are pleased to have earned your recommendation. Thank you for your lovely review.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

We had a one night stopover in Athens and decided against an airport hotel, choosing the Plaka Hotel instead. It was definitely the right choice! The set fee of €35 from the airport to central Athens was money well spent to enjoy one evening in the heart of everything "Athens". In fact, the hotel is doing everything they can to make themselves the "headquarters" of choice for the discerning traveller in Athens. The breakfast room is open all day for free coffee and tea etc should you need a respite from Athens for a second. The rooms are comfortable with double glazing which means you are right in the thick of it but once the window is closed you get the peace you need. The bathroom is modern and has all you need as per the usual bathroom fare, and the breakfast is good, solid dependable standard hotel breakfast menu. One nice touch is a "guest relations manager" that will come to you at brekky and make sure everything is ok and will give you any directions and assistance you may need for tours directions etc. all very nice and comforting to have all this at your disposal as a guest.

But then there is the view from the rooftop bar. Gosh what can I say except "go there". My wife and I trod Athens and found a trendy expensive bar with the same view but crowded with kids all being trendy and everything shoulder to shoulder. Our bar was relaxed and with just guests there you can enjoy the best view of the acropolis in Athens without the doof-doof, nor the price tag.

And of course, being in the Plaka it is close to everything including the Athens Market and Syntagma Square, as well as Ermou Stet if the trendy shopping is what you seek. Or a cheap knock-off from the market, what ever, it's all outside your door.

An effort such as this needs praise. They want people to think of their hotel as their home in Athens and are taking the trouble to make it happen. I think it's great and needs to be encouraged.

In short, not the "Ritz" but a clean, comfortable, well located and friendly place with an excellent rooftop bar with a view no other hotel can best!

Room Tip: You will have to ask for an acropolis view room as I reckon they are at a premium.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EljayAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2013

Dear EljayAdelaide,
Thank you very much for such a glowing review and high rates! It is a great knowing that our hotel was just what you expected and you took advantage of our hotel's central location. Your amazing compliments on our guest service, and your lovely observations of the city are most appreciated. We hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Plaka Hotel is very well located in the Plaka district, close to public transit, near good restaurants and bars and very convenient for sight seeing in Athens. The price was reasonable, especially compared to the pricey hotels in Athens.

The quality of the rooms was ok but small. They were clean and comfortable but dated.

The breakfast was good as well.

An acropolis view room was worth the extra euros but the best view is the rooftop bar and was a not to be missed view.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CharlesThor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2013

Dear CharlesThor,
Our location is indeed very central and near to all interesting attractions,cafes,restaurants and Ermou shopping street. Concerning the room size, should you decide to come back please check on our superior rooms which are bigger on size. Thank you for your wonderful review!
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Right in the heart of Plaka, a view of the Parthenon you can enjoy with a beer (you'll pay double for the same thing, but arguably a worse view, at the Royal Olympian, where I was doing business). Clean rooms, efficient staff, friendly clerks, in the middle of Plaka and in walking distance to major sites, transport areas (Syntagma Square and Acropoli metro), and a good base for wandering Athens in general. Decent breakfast. Woke up to two protest marches, but that's not the hotel's fault:) Wish the windows would have been open-able. Enjoyable stay - I definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank R M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2013

Dear R M,
Thank you for your review and recommendation on TripAdvisor. We are very pleased we were able to make your stay perfect, and appreciate you choosing us for your stay on business. We hope to welcome you back one day soon!
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013 via mobile

Very good hotel. Great location at the Acropolis. Nice rooms and very comfortable beds. Pleasant and helpful staff. However, there is a big problem, WiFi does not work on the rooms that we have tested. So if you want to have WIFI in the room, choose a different hotel.

Thank Battal22
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2013

Dear Battal22
I am glad we matched your expectations concerning location,service,comfort. In general our WiFi
is working pretty well,especially,in the common areas but as a Greek you know in many times the provider may be the reason of similar problems. I really hope that we will have the opportunity to host you again and get a better review from you.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#10 of 284 in Athens
2,489 reviews
Psirri / Gazi
O&B Athens Boutique Hotel
Plaka
Hermes Hotel
Hermes Hotel
#15 of 284 in Athens
1,618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
Central Athens Hotel
Central Athens Hotel
#32 of 284 in Athens
1,844 reviews
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#12 of 284 in Athens
3,307 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
The Athens Gate Hotel
The Athens Gate Hotel
#14 of 284 in Athens
3,974 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plaka Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaka Hotel

Address: 7, Kapnikareas street and corner of Mitropoleos | Plaka / Acropolis / Syntagma / Monastiraki, Athens 105 56, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Plaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Athens
#7 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#11 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range: £60 - £164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Plaka Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Most central hotel situated in Plaka district. Strategically located for visiting all main archaeological interests especially the Acropolis and new Acropolis museum, as well as Ancient Agora, Parliament, first Olympic stadium, Benaki museum, Cycladic museum, National garden. Two streets only away from metro station Monastiraki, with direct line from the airport and the port of Piraeus. 50m from the main shopping street Ermou and Plaka touristic shopping area with taverns and bars. Splendid view of the Acropolis from roof terrace not to be missed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Plaka Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athens Hotel Plaka
Plaka Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing