We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best value with incredible rooftop bar with unobstructed view of Acropolis”
Review of Plaka Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Plaka Hotel
Ranked #12 of 282 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 November 2013

We stayed for 2 nights for less than $200 USD total. This hotel is smack in the middle of old town, close to everything. Very comfy rooms, nice breakfast.

The VIEW: There's a small, cozy rooftop bar, with an INCREDIBLE, totally unobstructed view to the Acropolis. Even though it's on the 6th floor, there are NO buildings as tall as our hotel between us and the view. It is breathtaking. The hostess was very nice with us, recommending a very nice restaurant close by for our first night (let's face it, we were too jet lagged to venture too far). She recommended Tepina, which was just wonderful. They bake their small pita breads on the premises - yummy. Had the best octopus dish ever. She also recommended red wines from Nemea and we picked one up during the Athens Food Tour (which I also strongly recommend) to have on our cruise.

The only annoyance is that the WiFi did not work on our floor for most of our stay. We reported it twice, but to no avail. But it was working in other areas of the hotel, so ... Having said that, I will definitely be staying at the Plaka when we visit Athens again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ggtirevite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2013

Dear ggtirevite,
Thank you for your lovely review on TripAdvisor. We are very grateful for your kind comments about our amenable location and customer service, as we aim to make every guest’s stay memorable.
We apologize for the WiFi as for unexpected reason the line was slow but it has been taking care. We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Warm regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,420)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,544 - 1,550 of 3,420 reviews

Reviewed 21 November 2013

Wonderful location,great staff,fantastic manager/owner who takes a personal interest in all the guests. Rooftop terrace great views of the acropolis. Rooms very comfortable with great breakfast and service.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank livlife01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2013

Dear livlife01
We are extremely happy and proud to have earned your high rating on TripAdvisor. Thank you for taking the time to review us, and for mentioning the cleanliness, service and comfort. We hope we will be able to welcome you in the future.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Situated in the middle of the Plaka, within walking distance to major sites and on metro routes, the Plaka offers excellent value for money. Well situated for eating out. You can get a good feel for Athens including the meat, fish and vegetable markets nearby. Roof top bar with superb acropolis views. Rooms are small, but have everything you need. Thanks to the staff for their efficient friendly manner.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the acropolis are smaller than those facing the side - it is up to you -- we had been t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2013

Dear David D,
How nice to read from you as well that the Plaka hotel offers excellent value for money!
Thank you for your complimentary comments of our staff and of course the unique view we offer!
As for the room size, if you decide to come back please check availability on our superior rooms as they are of bigger.
Thank you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

My group stayed at the Plaka Hotel for two nights prior to our cruise. I chose the hotel after reading many awesome reviews from TripAdvisor, but was initially disappointed with the hotel after arriving and walking into a small and underwhelming lobby. The location and rooftop view are the attraction for the hotel because the rooms and amenities are very average. I would classify this hotel as a value hotel. Our stay was not unpleasant, as the location is the best and time spent up on the roof was unbeatable, but the rooms are plain and very basic. Breakfast was included and we enjoyed the variety they offered. But, as another review mentions the sewer smell was unpleasant but manageable when the bathroom door remained closed. Oh, and be prepared, the elevator is extremely small as elevators are in older buildings. After the luggage made it up, I used the stairs after that. However, I would stay here again, but if you are particular about hotel room amenities this is not the hotel for you.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CrystalBlue_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2013

Dear CrystalBlue_10,
Thank you for choosing our hotel for your stay in Athens.
As you mentioned our lobby and elevator are small, but as you realise these are things that can not be changed in old buildings located in Plaka area (old Athens) Our hotel was built under the regulations of a three star.
As you experienced the location is the best, as it is one street away from archeological sites,restaurants, metro station and Ermou main shopping street and many other attractions.
Your review is valuable to us, as it will help us improve.
I hope we will have to opportunity seeing you again on a future trip to Athens and match all your expectations.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

A very well located hotel that provides value for money accommodation. We booked two rooms in this hotel and both were clean and comfortable. Our room had a full view of the Acropolis which in itself is priceless. The staff were friendly and helpful and the breakfast was more than adequate. We found the hotel easy to find from the airport and it was also easy to get the train to the cruise terminal to continue our journey. Some time spent on the roof in the evening gazing at the lit up Acropolis was something we will not forget. The place to stay in Athens!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bankgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2013

Dear bankgirl,
We are so very happy to have met your expectations and even exceeded them in regards to our location. We are grateful that you took the time to share your experience and are pleased to have earned your recommendation. Thank you for your lovely review.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

We had a one night stopover in Athens and decided against an airport hotel, choosing the Plaka Hotel instead. It was definitely the right choice! The set fee of €35 from the airport to central Athens was money well spent to enjoy one evening in the heart of everything "Athens". In fact, the hotel is doing everything they can to make themselves the "headquarters" of choice for the discerning traveller in Athens. The breakfast room is open all day for free coffee and tea etc should you need a respite from Athens for a second. The rooms are comfortable with double glazing which means you are right in the thick of it but once the window is closed you get the peace you need. The bathroom is modern and has all you need as per the usual bathroom fare, and the breakfast is good, solid dependable standard hotel breakfast menu. One nice touch is a "guest relations manager" that will come to you at brekky and make sure everything is ok and will give you any directions and assistance you may need for tours directions etc. all very nice and comforting to have all this at your disposal as a guest.

But then there is the view from the rooftop bar. Gosh what can I say except "go there". My wife and I trod Athens and found a trendy expensive bar with the same view but crowded with kids all being trendy and everything shoulder to shoulder. Our bar was relaxed and with just guests there you can enjoy the best view of the acropolis in Athens without the doof-doof, nor the price tag.

And of course, being in the Plaka it is close to everything including the Athens Market and Syntagma Square, as well as Ermou Stet if the trendy shopping is what you seek. Or a cheap knock-off from the market, what ever, it's all outside your door.

An effort such as this needs praise. They want people to think of their hotel as their home in Athens and are taking the trouble to make it happen. I think it's great and needs to be encouraged.

In short, not the "Ritz" but a clean, comfortable, well located and friendly place with an excellent rooftop bar with a view no other hotel can best!

Room Tip: You will have to ask for an acropolis view room as I reckon they are at a premium.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EljayAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2013

Dear EljayAdelaide,
Thank you very much for such a glowing review and high rates! It is a great knowing that our hotel was just what you expected and you took advantage of our hotel's central location. Your amazing compliments on our guest service, and your lovely observations of the city are most appreciated. We hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Plaka Hotel is very well located in the Plaka district, close to public transit, near good restaurants and bars and very convenient for sight seeing in Athens. The price was reasonable, especially compared to the pricey hotels in Athens.

The quality of the rooms was ok but small. They were clean and comfortable but dated.

The breakfast was good as well.

An acropolis view room was worth the extra euros but the best view is the rooftop bar and was a not to be missed view.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CharlesThor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2013

Dear CharlesThor,
Our location is indeed very central and near to all interesting attractions,cafes,restaurants and Ermou shopping street. Concerning the room size, should you decide to come back please check on our superior rooms which are bigger on size. Thank you for your wonderful review!
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Thissio / Makriyanni
The Athens Gate Hotel
The Athens Gate Hotel
#14 of 282 in Athens
3,932 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#10 of 282 in Athens
2,417 reviews
Plaka
Central Athens Hotel
Central Athens Hotel
#32 of 282 in Athens
1,819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
Hermes Hotel
Hermes Hotel
#16 of 282 in Athens
1,585 reviews
Omonia
Pallas Athena Grecotel Boutique Hotel
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#11 of 282 in Athens
3,249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plaka Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaka Hotel

Address: 7, Kapnikareas street and corner of Mitropoleos | Plaka / Acropolis / Syntagma / Monastiraki, Athens 105 56, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Plaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#7 Family Hotel in Athens
#11 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range: £50 - £161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Plaka Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Most central hotel situated in Plaka district. Strategically located for visiting all main archaeological interests especially the Acropolis and new Acropolis museum, as well as Ancient Agora, Parliament, first Olympic stadium, Benaki museum, Cycladic museum, National garden. Two streets only away from metro station Monastiraki, with direct line from the airport and the port of Piraeus. 50m from the main shopping street Ermou and Plaka touristic shopping area with taverns and bars. Splendid view of the Acropolis from roof terrace not to be missed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Plaka Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athens Hotel Plaka
Plaka Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing