We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very central hotel”
Review of Plaka Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Plaka Hotel
Ranked #13 of 282 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 November 2013

I chose this hotel with great expectation. But It was average. Location is great. As its name reveals, it's at the center of Plaka. So it's close to main attractions.
Staff wasn't so warm. They replied to all questions with one word answers :) No suggestions or extra info, but we don't mind...
Room was OK. We didn't have a nice view from balcony. Upper, Acropolis side rooms may have.
Free wi-fi was surprise for me because it was said to be paid. But it somehow did not worked well. Maybe my phone's problem.
Breakfast was good. But restaurant was a bit small.
And of course, the roof. It has a wonderful view of Acropolis at night. Because of the season it was deserted. Just took pictures.
Only real problem was the noise in the morning from the busy Mitropoleos street.

Room Tip: Beware of Mitropoleos st. side rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oktay E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

Dear Guest,
I thank you for staying with us and for your review.
You are entirely correct in expecting a warm welcome at our establishment, for it is something are proud and famous for. I am sorry we did not deliver that during your short stay.
It is unfortunate that you haven't asked at the front desk and given us the chance to change your room if you have found it inconvenient.
What I am mostly concerned about is your comment about the wifi (which is not only free, but we also offer a computer and a printer for free as well on the first floor)
We would greatly appreciate if you give us information, through our e-mail, if you paid for it in order to understand what happened, investigate and get back to you the soonest possible. We care about your response.
I hope that on a future trip to Athens you will give me the oportunity to offer you an exceptional stay up to your expectations.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,442)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,555 - 1,561 of 3,442 reviews

Reviewed 23 November 2013

One of the sights trip advisor recommends is the Plaka Historic district. We were so glad we booked this hotel in that area. The view from the roof was spectacular at sunset and at night. The room was very nice. The wi-fi was spotty. We had to sit in the hall with some other folks. Breakfast was excellent. A nice view from the breakfast room. They also serve snacks in the afternoon with coffee or tea. A great break after a day of sight seeing. Very close to the acropolis. Nice shopping.close by.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drose007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2013

Dear drose007
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our hotel and we are delighted that we could exceed your expectations. We apologize for any inconvenience that may have been caused about WiFi but it is a rare incident and it has been already resolved. We are pleased to read that you overall had a nice time and It would be our pleasure to welcome you back to our hotel in the future.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013

We stayed for 2 nights for less than $200 USD total. This hotel is smack in the middle of old town, close to everything. Very comfy rooms, nice breakfast.

The VIEW: There's a small, cozy rooftop bar, with an INCREDIBLE, totally unobstructed view to the Acropolis. Even though it's on the 6th floor, there are NO buildings as tall as our hotel between us and the view. It is breathtaking. The hostess was very nice with us, recommending a very nice restaurant close by for our first night (let's face it, we were too jet lagged to venture too far). She recommended Tepina, which was just wonderful. They bake their small pita breads on the premises - yummy. Had the best octopus dish ever. She also recommended red wines from Nemea and we picked one up during the Athens Food Tour (which I also strongly recommend) to have on our cruise.

The only annoyance is that the WiFi did not work on our floor for most of our stay. We reported it twice, but to no avail. But it was working in other areas of the hotel, so ... Having said that, I will definitely be staying at the Plaka when we visit Athens again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ggtirevite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2013

Dear ggtirevite,
Thank you for your lovely review on TripAdvisor. We are very grateful for your kind comments about our amenable location and customer service, as we aim to make every guest’s stay memorable.
We apologize for the WiFi as for unexpected reason the line was slow but it has been taking care. We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Warm regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Wonderful location,great staff,fantastic manager/owner who takes a personal interest in all the guests. Rooftop terrace great views of the acropolis. Rooms very comfortable with great breakfast and service.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank livlife01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2013

Dear livlife01
We are extremely happy and proud to have earned your high rating on TripAdvisor. Thank you for taking the time to review us, and for mentioning the cleanliness, service and comfort. We hope we will be able to welcome you in the future.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Situated in the middle of the Plaka, within walking distance to major sites and on metro routes, the Plaka offers excellent value for money. Well situated for eating out. You can get a good feel for Athens including the meat, fish and vegetable markets nearby. Roof top bar with superb acropolis views. Rooms are small, but have everything you need. Thanks to the staff for their efficient friendly manner.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the acropolis are smaller than those facing the side - it is up to you -- we had been t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2013

Dear David D,
How nice to read from you as well that the Plaka hotel offers excellent value for money!
Thank you for your complimentary comments of our staff and of course the unique view we offer!
As for the room size, if you decide to come back please check availability on our superior rooms as they are of bigger.
Thank you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

My group stayed at the Plaka Hotel for two nights prior to our cruise. I chose the hotel after reading many awesome reviews from TripAdvisor, but was initially disappointed with the hotel after arriving and walking into a small and underwhelming lobby. The location and rooftop view are the attraction for the hotel because the rooms and amenities are very average. I would classify this hotel as a value hotel. Our stay was not unpleasant, as the location is the best and time spent up on the roof was unbeatable, but the rooms are plain and very basic. Breakfast was included and we enjoyed the variety they offered. But, as another review mentions the sewer smell was unpleasant but manageable when the bathroom door remained closed. Oh, and be prepared, the elevator is extremely small as elevators are in older buildings. After the luggage made it up, I used the stairs after that. However, I would stay here again, but if you are particular about hotel room amenities this is not the hotel for you.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CrystalBlue_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2013

Dear CrystalBlue_10,
Thank you for choosing our hotel for your stay in Athens.
As you mentioned our lobby and elevator are small, but as you realise these are things that can not be changed in old buildings located in Plaka area (old Athens) Our hotel was built under the regulations of a three star.
As you experienced the location is the best, as it is one street away from archeological sites,restaurants, metro station and Ermou main shopping street and many other attractions.
Your review is valuable to us, as it will help us improve.
I hope we will have to opportunity seeing you again on a future trip to Athens and match all your expectations.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

A very well located hotel that provides value for money accommodation. We booked two rooms in this hotel and both were clean and comfortable. Our room had a full view of the Acropolis which in itself is priceless. The staff were friendly and helpful and the breakfast was more than adequate. We found the hotel easy to find from the airport and it was also easy to get the train to the cruise terminal to continue our journey. Some time spent on the roof in the evening gazing at the lit up Acropolis was something we will not forget. The place to stay in Athens!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bankgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2013

Dear bankgirl,
We are so very happy to have met your expectations and even exceeded them in regards to our location. We are grateful that you took the time to share your experience and are pleased to have earned your recommendation. Thank you for your lovely review.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Thissio / Makriyanni
The Athens Gate Hotel
The Athens Gate Hotel
#14 of 282 in Athens
3,944 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#10 of 282 in Athens
2,438 reviews
Plaka
Hermes Hotel
Hermes Hotel
#15 of 282 in Athens
1,595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
Central Athens Hotel
Central Athens Hotel
#30 of 282 in Athens
1,825 reviews
Psirri / Gazi
O&B Athens Boutique Hotel
Omonia
Pallas Athena Grecotel Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plaka Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaka Hotel

Address: 7, Kapnikareas street and corner of Mitropoleos | Plaka / Acropolis / Syntagma / Monastiraki, Athens 105 56, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Plaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Athens
#7 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#11 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range: £49 - £151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Plaka Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Most central hotel situated in Plaka district. Strategically located for visiting all main archaeological interests especially the Acropolis and new Acropolis museum, as well as Ancient Agora, Parliament, first Olympic stadium, Benaki museum, Cycladic museum, National garden. Two streets only away from metro station Monastiraki, with direct line from the airport and the port of Piraeus. 50m from the main shopping street Ermou and Plaka touristic shopping area with taverns and bars. Splendid view of the Acropolis from roof terrace not to be missed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Plaka Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athens Hotel Plaka
Plaka Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing