We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, decent hotel.”
Review of Plaka Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Plaka Hotel
Ranked #12 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Redmond, WA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great location, decent hotel.”
Reviewed 20 December 2013

The hotel was in a great location and had a beautiful view from the top. It was within walking distance of much to do in the area, only a few blocks from the start of the hop-on/hop-off bus tours, outdoor markets, shopping malls, places to eat, and a lot more. There was a Starbucks just 2 blocks away for mornings, and a lot of eating places in the same open area. The bed was comfortable, and the rooms slightly larger than standard Europe hotel rooms. The bathroom was a bit cramped, but the shower was reasonable so no problems. The elevator was very small and enclosed, but the stairs were reasonable to go up and down other than when I had my suitcase. My biggest complaint was that while I was in a non-smoking room there was an off and on strong odor of smoke that was really strong - I finally realized that the front desk workers would go outside to smoke and it would drift up to my room. It made it very difficult to be in the room at times, but that was really the only problem I had.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HWMacfadden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this review, 24 December 2013
Dear HWMacfadden,
Thank you for taking the time to share your positive experience on your recent stay with us. I apologize for the odor of smoke in your room as smoking is prohibited in all the areas of our hotel. However it is unfortunate that you haven't asked at the front desk and given us the chance to change your room if you have found it inconvenient. Should you come back please ask for a room in a high floor. Once again thank you for your review and we are looking forward to hosting you again.
Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,232 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,762
    1,218
    186
    50
    16
See reviews for
649
1,576
232
85
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (602)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2013

We had styed at the Plaka Hotel a few years ago and its location, size and price suited us. We returned in November and found it had been upgraded somewhat, the staff were even friendlier (especially Elena ?) and the price was just as good. Naturally the location was unchanged. It is very well located for shops, restaurants, Metro, Syntagma, Acropolis, etc. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Be sure to use the rooftop bar at night to view the Acropolis.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank twogoats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this review, 24 December 2013
Dear twogoats
Thanks for taking the time to share your recent experience at Plaka Hotel,we really appreciate it. I am glad that we were able to fulfill your requests and exceed your expectations for second time and that you enjoyed of all that the location has to offer. We will be looking forward to your next stay!
Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013 via mobile

It was not the first time being in greece,I travel twice per year for more than 10 years to this amazing country , but telling about this htl above all my expectations location is awesome but more I want to write about it is z lovely friendly staff I can say that this htl is my home in greece never search for any other htl any more, katalina n her colleagues serving their smiles with z breakfast, lovely elsa her shift afternoon in z bar , reception staff all of them r really great n helpfull, highly recommend this hotel never regret it, believe me n enjoy accommodation in lovley plaka htl

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Amal A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this review, 24 December 2013
Dear Amal A
Thank for your glowing review and for mentioning that Plaka Hotel made you feel like home. I was so happy to read your kind words and that you really did enjoy the great service and facilities we are all so proud of. From all of our team thank you once again and hope to see you soon.
Warm regards to you and your lovely wife!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013

Awesome location all downhill from Syngtagma, so, if you have a bunch of bags it's an easy hike down. The most incredible thing is the view from the rooftop deck. That's what we were looking for and this hotel delivered! Even from our room we had a view of the Acropolis. I really can't stress how cool that view is! the staff were really helpful with transportation since there was a transportation strike while we were there both times. Highly recommend! I have incredible photos from the room but I can't find them just now.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this review, 24 December 2013
Dear Stephen D
Thank you for your kind comments on our property. As our main goal is to offer to our guests high quality facilities and services, it is great to read that you were satisfied with your stay and you can still remember us with such admiration after so many months. Thank you once more.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ajijic, Mexico
Level Contributor
150 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2013

The location is exceptional! The view and spectacle from the rooftop bar is amazing in the evenings. Easy to walk all over Athens. Only complaint was the tiny shower. Modern yes, but it was smaller than a phone booth (remember those?). Small elevator, small room, but don't let those factors discourage you. Would certainly return here.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fools4Food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this review, 24 December 2013
Dear Fools4Food
Our location is indeed right in the center of all of the tourist attractions of Athens. Our goal is to exceed the expectations of our hotel guests so I am very sorry to learn that the condition of the bathroom did not meet your expectations and it is unfortunate that you haven't asked at the front desk to change your room if you have found it inconvenient as in our hotel there are also superior rooms which are bigger in size with larger bathrooms. I hope we will get a chance to welcome you back in the future and if so I will be happy to provide you a bigger room.
Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corfu, Greece
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2013

Great location for walking to all the Athens sites . Very small hotel with superb staff and some great touches such as free tea / coffee and biscuits in the bar/ breakfast room during the day . Eva gave great advice at breakfast ( which was superb ) on walking routes and sites to see etc . Some great eating places nearby and altogether a very enjoyable stay - we will return.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nigel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Dear Nigel D,
Thank you for your positive review and high score. Your kind comments will be passed over to Eva and the rest of our staff as it is very important their effort to be appreciated. Hope to see you soon again.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Great location in Athens within walking distance of shops, cafes, restaurants and the Acropolis. We chose a room with a balcony (we are smokers) instead of a room with a view and the balcony was perfect. Small but it served its purpose. The room was clean and the staff friendly. The view from the rooftop bar (closed when we were here most likely due to low season or weather) was outstanding. We were able to walk to the Acropolis but it's a little tricky and some of the steps up are pretty steep. It was a fun adventure just figuring out how to get there.

Good find in Athens, I'd stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Belinda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Dear SYDLAXLAS,
Your kind comments on our staff is mostly appreciated. We are pleased to read that you felt that your stay was of excellent value. The view from the roof top is indeed outstanding according to all clients. Thank again for your review.
We wish you all the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#15 of 325 in Athens
2,197 reviews
Psirri / Gazi
O&B Athens Boutique Hotel
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#14 of 325 in Athens
2,966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
Central Athens Hotel
Central Athens Hotel
#31 of 325 in Athens
1,675 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
The Athens Gate Hotel
The Athens Gate Hotel
#17 of 325 in Athens
3,711 reviews
Plaka
Hermes Hotel
Hermes Hotel
#19 of 325 in Athens
1,502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plaka Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaka Hotel

Property: Plaka Hotel
Address: 7, Kapnikareas street and corner of Mitropoleos | Plaka / Acropolis / Syntagma / Monastiraki, Athens 105 56, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Plaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Athens
#10 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#16 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Plaka Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Most central hotel situated in Plaka district. Strategically located for visiting all main archaeological interests especially the Acropolis and new Acropolis museum, as well as Ancient Agora, Parliament, first Olympic stadium, Benaki museum, Cycladic museum, National garden. Two streets only away from metro station Monastiraki, with direct line from the airport and the port of Piraeus. 50m from the main shopping street Ermou and Plaka touristic shopping area with taverns and bars. Splendid view of the Acropolis from roof terrace not to be missed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Bookgreece.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Plaka Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athens Hotel Plaka
Plaka Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing