We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Location”
Review of Plaka Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Plaka Hotel
Ranked #12 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good Location”
Reviewed 12 March 2014 via mobile

Hotel is in great location and the free breakfast is a plus.

No wifi in room, had to get close to the door to get signal, found very inconvenient. No A/C in room either, had to open the window.

We got the Acropolis view, (about the only interesting site we found in Athens)



Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Timetraveler290
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this review, 16 March 2014
Dear
Thank you very much for your review. I apologize for any inconvenience you experienced during your stay and want to assure you your comments have been taken seriously and our team is taking action. We look forward to having the opportunity soon to truly show you what Athens has to offer.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,171 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,729
    1,196
    181
    49
    16
See reviews for
635
1,546
224
85
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (589)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

The hotel is in a very good location but I found the hotel very basic and the room too small.

Free breakfast is nice and they offer refreshments throughout the day.

Good value for the price but I would of preferred a more luxurious hotel on this trip.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TheMilkMan2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Dear TheMilkMan2000
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay. We appreciate your feedback about our breakfast and location. Hotel Plaka, is a very modern 3 star hotel in a top location. If given the opportunity we would love to welcome you back.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

We stayed here in April 2010 after a Mediteranian Cruise. The location is wonderful as it is close to fantastic shopping and outdoor markets. We also were fortunate to view the Acropolis from our balcony - amazing at night! A further amazment was being here over the Greek Orthodox Easter - we were mesmerized as the city came alive with nightly chanting! Our only concern was one single small elevator (max 1 person & 1 suitcase) to transport luggage up several floors for the entire building! We ended up carrying our luggage three flights of stairs rather than waiting several hours. Staff were friendly and rooms nicely appointed. A very good value for money conscious travellers!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Redhead049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Dear Redhead049
I am truly delighted to hear that your stay with us was a memorable experience that you can still remember after 4 years!!!! It’s great to know that you enjoyed the location as well as the comfort of the rooms and friendliness of the staff. We will be looking forward to your future stays!
arm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Absolutely fantastic place to stay, so much so that when we ever go to Athens again we will look no further than the Plaka and we will tell all of our friends for years to come
The best value, the best ever breakfast, very friendly and helpful staff, just the best!
To Plaka management, if you want to attract even more clients, put in a laundry where guests can do their own laundry using token operated machines and you will be inundated with guests but please remember me when I need a room
The best stay ever!

Room Tip: Just go stay there, you will not be disappointed The breakfast and all day endless supply of hot ch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sandspitretreat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Dear sandspitretreat
Thank you for taking time to provide feedback on you recent stay. I am so happy to know that you had a fabulous stay. Thank you for recommendation and suggestion of course, it is a pleasure knowung that you care about us as we care about you. We look forward to having you or your friends back with us soon.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

It is one of the oldest neighborhoods in Athens. It offers great sightseeing and a window into the past of Athens. There is no fee collected here and that is the greatest part ever. You need to spend about 2 to 4 hours here to cover it up completely. It is historically located in the base of the hill and is topped by the great Acropolis. The walking areas and location is spectacular and awe inspiring. Many churches and restaurants that are old and built in the traditional way surround it. It is a must visit for anyone who is in Athens.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SGloSoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Dear SGloSoni,
We are so pleased to read that you were very satisfied with the great location of Plaka hotel and that the interesting neighborhood matched your expectations.
Thank you for recommending us and for your high score.
Hope to see you again.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

My daughter and I booked a room mid October 2013. I would like to say that we had a wonderful stay at the Plaka Hotel,but unfortunately we didn't get the chance to find out. Our flight from Rome was delayed 2 hours so we arrived at the hotel around 11pm. We were tired and just wanted to get to our room. We were informed that they just had a large group check in and did not have a room for us.We had paid for our room in full prior to traveling. That did not matter to them .They told us that they had a room at their sister hotel, The Hermes Hotel which was around the corner. They were not sympathetic and could not care less about our situation. I specifically booked this hotel for the location and view from the roof top garden( which is breathtaking). They drove us to the Hermes and we checked in there. Not much better there. The Plaka area can be somewhat seedy at night and it was more so where the Hermes hotel was situated. After more discussions with the staff they told me that they had to close many rooms due to bed bugs. I didn't know what think. Greece was the last country of our trip and also my parents origin. It was disappointing that we had these problems. I would not book this hotel again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Labrini S S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Depois de 4 vezes visitando a Grécia, percebi que o Plaka é o melhor hotel de Atenas. O preço é bom, o café da manhã é maravilhoso, os quartos são muito confortáveis e ainda há um terraço com vista privilegiada para a Acrópole.

Além disso, os funcionários são maravilhosos. As camareiras são muito prestativas e competentes, o staff da recepção é ótimo, as meninas que trabalham no salão do café da manhã são muito competentes e simpáticas e, é claro, o Plaka Hotel conta com a super presença da Eva, que dá excelentes dicas turísticas para os hóspedes. Muito obrigada, Eva!!

Em todas as vezes que eu retornar à Grécia, pretendo me hospedar nesse hotel. Parabéns!!!

After 4 times visiting Greece, I realized that the Plaka is the best hotel in Athens. The price is good, the breakfast is wonderful, the rooms are very comfortable and there is a terrace with a privileged view of the Acropolis.

Furthermore, the staff are wonderful. The chambermaids are very helpful and competent, the front desk staff is great, the girls working in the breakfast room are very competent and friendly and of course, the Plaka Hotel has a super presence of Eva, which gives excellent tourists tips for the guests!!! Thanks a lot, Eva!

Each time I return to Greece, I intend to stay in this hotel. Congratulations!!!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Luciana P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Google Translation
Estimada Luciana P
O retorno dos hóspedes, como você, só nos fazem sentir honrado e ainda mais responsáveis ​​pela qualidade do serviço a ser oferecido. Estou muito contente em saber que fomos capazes de cumprir suas exigências. Obrigado para a escrita o seu lindo comentários em português e em Inglês também. Esperamos recebê-lo novamente em breve.
Melhores cumprimentos.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Psirri / Gazi
O&B Athens Boutique Hotel
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#15 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,899 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#16 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
Central Athens Hotel
Central Athens Hotel
#30 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,648 reviews
Plaka
AVA Hotel Athens
AVA Hotel Athens
#2 of 325 in Athens
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,629 reviews
Syntagma
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plaka Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaka Hotel

Property: Plaka Hotel
Address: 7, Kapnikareas street and corner of Mitropoleos | Plaka / Acropolis / Syntagma / Monastiraki, Athens 105 56, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Plaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Athens
#10 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#16 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Plaka Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Most central hotel situated in Plaka district. Strategically located for visiting all main archaeological interests especially the Acropolis and new Acropolis museum, as well as Ancient Agora, Parliament, first Olympic stadium, Benaki museum, Cycladic museum, National garden. Two streets only away from metro station Monastiraki, with direct line from the airport and the port of Piraeus. 50m from the main shopping street Ermou and Plaka touristic shopping area with taverns and bars. Splendid view of the Acropolis from roof terrace not to be missed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, LoveHolidays, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Bookgreece.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Plaka Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athens Hotel Plaka
Plaka Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing