We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a 3 star hotel that felt like 4 ( and 5 if there's such)”
Review of Plaka Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Plaka Hotel
Ranked #13 of 282 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Plaka Hotel in downtown Athens is the best place to stay while visiting Athens. Superb service: clean towels daily, great breakfast buffet, clean and chic rooms with a view of the famous Acropolis and best of all, an English speaking staff Monica Fajardo and Tonia Andrioti, and Agnes made our stay the best ever in Europe. I've traveled to many countries (Germany, France, Japan, South Korea, etc) but this hotel experience at the Plaka has been the most outstanding and I will go back because it felt like home.

Room Tip: get a room with the view of the Acropolis
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 416norad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Dear Noralyn,
Your review filled us with such joy, thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. Truly, we strive for every guest to have your experience and to see it written is just so wonderfully affirming to what we work so hard at. We appreciate your recommendation and hope to welcome you and your family back to Plaka Hotel in the near future.
Best wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,458)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,510 - 1,516 of 3,459 reviews

Reviewed 18 March 2014

we are coming back to the Plaka Hotel over and over again. We love the Plaka-area, the outdoor restaurants, the proximity of everything, the service and the prices.
Richard Jaqua M.D.
Ursula Jaqua-Lanz

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com
Thank Ursula J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Dear Ursula and Richard
We cannot thank you enough for your loyalty. Truly your review is everything that we could hope for. We take pride in our service and the amenities that we offer and we are so very glad when we hear that you enjoyed it once again. We are looking forward to your next visit.
Best wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Enjoyed our 2 night stay here. Small rooms but great service. Coffee all day till 530 pm. Very good breakfast buffet. And best of all easy walking distance to the. Acropolis sites. Good shopping all around and a multitude of restaurant and cafés....too many to try them all.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank K G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Dear K G
Thank you for choosing our hotel. We are thrilled that we were able to exceed your expectations and thank you for your kind comments and your recommendation.
Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

For more than 10 years we have found our favorite lodging in Athens has been the Plaka Hotel. Usually twice annually, we are welcomed back to the hotel to enjoy the many benefits of staying there. It begins with the friendly greetings from the staff, the comfortable accommodations, all-day free coffee and ice water in the dining room, the gorgeous roof-top Acropolis views, easy and short walking access to the Plaka and Monastiraki neighborhoods for shopping, dining and the many nearby historic sites.

Walking home in the evening, through the quiet streets after a delicious dinner, it's nice to look forward to the rooftop sofas and bar for a chance to just sit and quietly enjoy being in Athens. After a comfortable sleep, morning finds us in the breakfast room for a choice of coffees and some typical (and fresh) Greek pastries and produce along with egg and meat dishes for your selection. Often you will find a staff person stopping at your table to ask if you need directions for your day's adventure and if everything is satisfactory for your stay. And don't worry, because she speaks many languages – six at my last count!

In an earlier review of the Plaka Hotel, I said that coming back to the Plaka was like coming home again...it is even more true today as we look forward to returning in both August and again in September 2014.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SteveG38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Dear SteveG38
I consider myself to be very lucky indeed, to be able to get to know to such lovely guests as yourself. It is experiences like yours that affirm everything we truly believe in. Thank you so very much for your lovely comments. We can't wait for your return! Our love to Deborah!
Best wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

This hotel was fantastic. Great location...within walking distance to the Acropolis, many wonderful restaurants, and public transportation to and from the airport (Syntagma Square - X95 bus). A delicious breakfast buffet was included each morning and coffee/tea was available all afternoon. Lovely rooftop patio provided amazing views of the city.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nancy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Dear Nancy F
Nothing could please us more than exceeding your expectations. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience and thank you for your recommendation. We look forward to the next time we can welcome you to Plaka Hotel.
Best wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

I have just come back from 3 days at the Plaka Hotel, my boyfriend booked this as a surprise trip for my 50th birthday. What a fantastic hotel, I would definitely recommend staying here. The hotel is situated between two metro stations, one in Parliament Square and the other just by the flea market, and both are about a 5 minute walk away from the hotel which is right in the heart of the old town. The main shopping street is one street over and the flea market is also only a street away. We stayed in room 211 which had an amazing view of the Acropolis. The room was very spacious and comfortable. The walkin shower was fantastic. The bed was extremely roomy and very comfortable with fabulous pillows. The TV had CNN news but not any other English channels but you don't go on holiday to watch TV after all. The free wi fi was a bonus. Breakfast was plentiful with scrambled eggs, beans, bacon plus a variety of cold ham and cheese, with plenty of bread for toast and cakes/croissants. All the staff at the hotel are extremely pleasant and very knowledgable about the area and visitor attractions. There is a roof terrace with chairs and sunloungers but the bar is closed for the winter season, but the views are spectacular. There is free tea and coffee available in the restaurant throughout the day until 5 pm. On our last day we checked out and left our bags in reception until it was time to go to the airport. I have to say that this was the quietest hotel that I have stayed in as far as neighbouring rooms - we didn't hear any noise coming from the other rooms at all even though there seemed to be a lot of people staying at the hotel, so this was a very pleasant surprise.

Athens is a fabulous city for a short break. We walked up to the Acropolis through the old town which only took about half an hour. You can get a 12 Euro pass which gives you entry to 4 different attractions. We also went on the funicular railway to the top of the hill (every half hour) which again had spectacular views, there is a restaurant/bar up there. We also went on one of the mini trains which takes you around the different sights which was 5 Euros each I think. On Sunday morning we went to Parliament Square to see the changing of the guards which was a great sight, then we visited the famous flea market - we couldn't believe how many stalls there were there - good fun to have a look around. Just nearby is the main restaurant street with loads of bars and restaurants, it had a great feel good factor there, very busy on Friday, Saturday and Sunday both during the day and the evening.

We also got the tram to the coast to Voulos and then onto Piraeus. The tram is quite slow as it goes around the houses but it was an interesting journey and we got the metro back from Piraeus which was a lot quicker. You can buy a 4 Euro ticket which you can then use all day on any bus, tram or metro - so great value.

Weather was warm and sunny the whole time which was an added bonus.

So all in all we had a fantastic time and I would definitely recommend this hotel and the city of Athens for a short break.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel which has a view of the acropolis. The higher up the bette...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank suzanne2246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Dear suzanne2246
Thank you for choosing our hotel for such a special occasion, we loved sharing your celebration with you. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and that we exceeded your expectations. We appreciate you taking the time to share your detail review, something that will be so helpful for other guests. We look forward to the next time we can welcome you to Plaka Hotel.
Best wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

We stayed at the Plaka hotel Athens for 2 nights,the room was very clean and comfortable, its in the right spot in the old Plaka district so near to the sights and the Acropolis a 15 min walk, restaurants very close. For breakfast there is a good choice and plenty of it . Tea and coffee is available until 5.30pm each day free of charge.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KILGERRAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Dear KILGERRAN
Thank you for taking the time to submit a review on TripAdvisor. We enjoyed reading about your experience and thank you for the kind comments.
Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#10 of 282 in Athens
2,464 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
The Athens Gate Hotel
The Athens Gate Hotel
#14 of 282 in Athens
3,963 reviews
Plaka
Hermes Hotel
Hermes Hotel
#15 of 282 in Athens
1,605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
Central Athens Hotel
Central Athens Hotel
#31 of 282 in Athens
1,830 reviews
Psirri / Gazi
O&B Athens Boutique Hotel
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#12 of 282 in Athens
3,286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plaka Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaka Hotel

Address: 7, Kapnikareas street and corner of Mitropoleos | Plaka / Acropolis / Syntagma / Monastiraki, Athens 105 56, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Plaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Athens
#7 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#11 Business Hotel in Athens
#12 Luxury Hotel in Athens
Price Range: £50 - £164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Plaka Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Most central hotel situated in Plaka district. Strategically located for visiting all main archaeological interests especially the Acropolis and new Acropolis museum, as well as Ancient Agora, Parliament, first Olympic stadium, Benaki museum, Cycladic museum, National garden. Two streets only away from metro station Monastiraki, with direct line from the airport and the port of Piraeus. 50m from the main shopping street Ermou and Plaka touristic shopping area with taverns and bars. Splendid view of the Acropolis from roof terrace not to be missed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Plaka Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athens Hotel Plaka
Plaka Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing