We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It couldnt been better!”
Review of Plaka Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Plaka Hotel
Ranked #13 of 326 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Lima, Peru
1 review
“It couldnt been better!”
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Best choice because:
1. Excellent location. Its very close to the historic center, about 2-3 blocks from the principal plaza, half block from the hermes st which is full of the best shopping stores, and its very close to the Parthenon (u have a beautiful view from the rooftop).

2. Great hospitality.

3. You have free tea, coffee, water and cookies all day!

4. Great breakfast. Not only he food is very tasty but also you have it available at anytime at the morning

5. Comfortable rooms. They are a little bit small but thats all you need.

6. Excellent price!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ana_espesc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Dear Ana_espesc
Thank you so much for choosing our hotel on your trip to Athens. I am thrilled reading that your stay with us was a memorable experience. We will be looking forward to welcome you
back in the future!
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,273 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,779
    1,234
    193
    51
    16
See reviews for
655
1,603
235
85
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (604)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Excellent hotel. It's a small hotel and the rooms are very small but quite compact and very nice. Clean, beyond perfect location, great staff, amazing amenities included, great views and great price. I was really quite surprised. If you are used to extremely large rooms I suggest you just get past that. I did and it was really perfect. Everything had it's place. There was a welcome bottle of wine with a note card in my room when I arrived. The complimentary breakfast included was HUGE!!!!! From 3-5 each day they have complimentary tea, coffee and hot chocolate and cookies. Then, if you have an early flight, they have a continental breakfast that starts at 3:00 AM but I've never seen a breakfast that size. It's amazing what they include for the price. The view from the rooftop terrace is spectacular. The location is within walking distance to everything. Absolutely everything with the exception of the port. It really was a perfect stay at this hotel. The staff was lovely as well. GREAT experience!

Room Tip: My room had a view of the acropolis, my nephew's room had a view on the plaka area over the stre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephluvstotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Dear Stephluvstotravel
It’s great to know that the location of our hotel was convenient to all your points of interest and I am very happy that our staff was there when you needed directions and suggestions. Thank you for your comments about our breakfast. We will be looking forward to welcome you back in the future!
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We have stayed at multiple hotels at Athens but we liked Plaka the most. The location is near to all the historical places including Acropolis and metro. The staff is just excellent, they helped us in planning our day and also helped us check in early. Breakfast is also quite good.

Room Tip: Higher floor is better for good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ashish_Gaurav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Dear ashishgaurav
Thank you for choosing us! We appreciate your lovely review and for recognizing the efforts of our the team! Hope to see you back soon.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 March 2014

We couldn't feel more satisfied and happy with our accommodation choice. As central as a location can get, simple and cozy rooms, great breakfast and the most helpful staff. No reason to stay anywhere else in Athens, the Plaka Hotel has it all for the most fair price.

Room Tip: Many reviewers reported problems with WiFi quality. We at the room #209, however, had good connectio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gal L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Dear Gal L
Thank you so much for submitting such a wonderful review. Our goal is to provide each and every guest with an experience which exceeds expectations, and I am delighted to learn that we accomplished this goal during your stay. Thank you for your recommendation and we will be looking forward to your future reservations!
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Great view of the Acropolis from the roof top, great location close to many sights and restaurants, good value for the 2 connecting rooms with breakfast included and friendly staff who are helpful. Would put this on my list if returning to Athens which is very likely as the whole family loved and enjoyed Athens.

Lift could be a bit slow as it is a small one and especially when busy with check-in/out times with luggage. We just used the stairs a lot but that is easy if you are not staying higher then the 3rd floor.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Dear Linda C
Thank you for nice review! We are very proud to have earned your regard and it is so nice that you can still remembered us! Thank you for your recommendation, and hope your return is soon!
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Plaka Hotel in downtown Athens is the best place to stay while visiting Athens. Superb service: clean towels daily, great breakfast buffet, clean and chic rooms with a view of the famous Acropolis and best of all, an English speaking staff Monica Fajardo and Tonia Andrioti, and Agnes made our stay the best ever in Europe. I've traveled to many countries (Germany, France, Japan, South Korea, etc) but this hotel experience at the Plaka has been the most outstanding and I will go back because it felt like home.

Room Tip: get a room with the view of the Acropolis
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 416norad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Dear Noralyn,
Your review filled us with such joy, thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. Truly, we strive for every guest to have your experience and to see it written is just so wonderfully affirming to what we work so hard at. We appreciate your recommendation and hope to welcome you and your family back to Plaka Hotel in the near future.
Best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens
1 review
Reviewed 18 March 2014

we are coming back to the Plaka Hotel over and over again. We love the Plaka-area, the outdoor restaurants, the proximity of everything, the service and the prices.
Richard Jaqua M.D.
Ursula Jaqua-Lanz

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Ursula J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Dear Ursula and Richard
We cannot thank you enough for your loyalty. Truly your review is everything that we could hope for. We take pride in our service and the amenities that we offer and we are so very glad when we hear that you enjoyed it once again. We are looking forward to your next visit.
Best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#16 of 326 in Athens
2,239 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
The Athens Gate Hotel
The Athens Gate Hotel
#17 of 326 in Athens
3,764 reviews
Plaka
Central Athens Hotel
Central Athens Hotel
#30 of 326 in Athens
1,711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#14 of 326 in Athens
3,033 reviews
Psirri / Gazi
O&B Athens Boutique Hotel
Plaka
Hermes Hotel
Hermes Hotel
#19 of 326 in Athens
1,526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plaka Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaka Hotel

Property: Plaka Hotel
Address: 7, Kapnikareas street and corner of Mitropoleos | Plaka / Acropolis / Syntagma / Monastiraki, Athens 105 56, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Plaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Athens
#10 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#11 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#16 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Plaka Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Most central hotel situated in Plaka district. Strategically located for visiting all main archaeological interests especially the Acropolis and new Acropolis museum, as well as Ancient Agora, Parliament, first Olympic stadium, Benaki museum, Cycladic museum, National garden. Two streets only away from metro station Monastiraki, with direct line from the airport and the port of Piraeus. 50m from the main shopping street Ermou and Plaka touristic shopping area with taverns and bars. Splendid view of the Acropolis from roof terrace not to be missed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Priceline, Bookgreece.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Plaka Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athens Hotel Plaka
Plaka Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing