We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, friendly staff”
Review of Plaka Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Plaka Hotel
Ranked #10 of 281 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Hotel has a great location close to metro station, center of the town, Sintagma square, agora and acropola as well close to some great restorants around Monastiraki square. On the roof there is a great view on Acropolis. Rooms are rather small, but clean and most important, service was more than a friendly. As example: we were late for breakfast, so we came when they should already start closing, but it was absolutly not a problem, they even brought us new fresh bread, fruits etc. and stayed till we finished, all with friendly smile. If we go again to Athens we will definetly stay here. Thanks to Plaka hotel, you were great!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EbnerMilo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Dear M E
We are very happy that you found our hotel agreeable and friendly. Thank you so much for the high praise and for appreciating our entire team’s genuinely caring attitude and efficiency. Hoping of having the pleasure of welcoming you again when back in Athens.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,384)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,411 - 1,417 of 3,384 reviews

Reviewed 15 May 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at the Plaka Hotel for a total of 10 days. During this time we went to one of the islands and we were able to leave our big suit cases in a locked cupboard at reception which was a fabulous service. The staff are extremely efficient and friendly ( not always easy to find in Europe) and the rooms were exceptionally clean. The breakfast was excellent and we loved the free hot drinks and biscuits that were provided all day in the restaurant free of charge. Every morning at breakfast Eva ( tourist advisor) would ask us where we were going and she would proceed to tell us the best way and approx price ... She was never wrong and she spoke many languages-this is an excellent service. The Plaka is in a very central location close to all attractions in Athens. I would stay at the Plaka again without any hesitation. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WillLD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Dear Deborah W
We are very proud to have gained your recommendation. It is great to know that you enjoyed our location, the hotel’s interior design our rich-variety breakfast and spacious bar area. Thank you for your lovely review.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We've just had 4 nights at the Plaka Hotel and would recommend the hotel to others. The hotel is centrally located in the Plaka District and is close to many of the main sights of Athens, for example it is walking distance to the Parliament, the Acropolis Museum etc. There's plenty of eating places, markets, shopping etc right near the hotel. We requested an upper floor, balcony room etc and the hotel met our request even though the room was not ready when we arrived at 3.30pm. The 5th floor twin room was bright, spacious, with minifridge, airconditioning and free wifi. From the balcony we had a nice part view of the Acropolis. The bathroom was compact but OK (although we did experience some odd waste water/sewerage smells coming through the wall vent for the time of our stay). The breakfast room is a large bright area and breakfasts here are a treat...the buffet offers a large range of hot and cold items, nice breads, some Greek items, and even tiramisu parfeits. The breakfast room also serves as a convenient day "lounge" with coffee and biscuits available throughout the day for guests where the rooms are not ready on checkin etc. A highlight of the hotel is the level 7 roof terrace which has great open views of the Acropolis and across the city. A small bar operates from 5.30 each night. The terrace is lovely, and it has nice casual lounges for guests to enjoy. The views are quite spectacular, especially with the Acropolis lit up at night. The hotel is obviously very guest-oriented...there is useful visitor information posted around and the staff are very helpful. One morning, guests at breakfast were even asked about their stay, whether they were happy with the hotel and if they had any suggestions for improvements.

If we had to point out any downsides, we would mention the waste water smell coming from the wall vent in the bathroom; and the late housekeeping each day - although we did get used to that once we knew the routine.

Room Tip: Upper floor rooms with balconies are great. Some even have views of the Acropolis.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jnjcoogee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

You cannot beat the location of the hotel. It is in the middle of Plaka and virtually everything is within walking distance. The rooms are small but very clean. Plus, with all of the sights around and the great rooftop bar with a fantastic view of the Acropolis, there is no need to be in your room for a prolonged period.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank bowler456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

The location is great and the views from the room/roof top bar were exquisite at night. The staff was not very friendly, the rooms had mosquitos, shower was full of mold and the wifi signal was poor! If you're looking for convenience and on a budget stay here, otherwise look elsewhere.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lox441
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

This hotel is in the middle of the Plaka area and within walking distance of most of the ancient areas in Athens. The staff is wonderful and very helpful. The roof top bar and sitting area has a wonderful view of the Acropolis. There also lounge chairs for getting a few rays in the afternoon. All in all a great place to stay Athens.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms have a view of the Acropolis.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chuck G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2014

Dear Chuck G
What a nice tittle!!!!!!! Thank you so much for your review. I am happy to know that your stay turned out to be a pleasant experience and you enjoyed room, service and hotel location. We will be looking forward to welcome you back on your next trip to Athens!
Until next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

I've been at the Plaka hotel in January. Its position is the best to visit Athen. 20 mins far from the Acropolis, and 5 mins from the center. I got there from the airport directly with the metro: really comfortable.
The room was really clean, with the right temperature inside.
The breakfast was of a good level, both for variety and for quantity.
I suggest to choose this hotel!!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ziotto80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2014

Caro ziotto80
I am truly touched by your wonderful review! First and foremost, thank you for choosing our hotel on your vacation trip to Athens and that you enjoyed the central location of PLAKA hotel as it’s good to know that the hotel location was to your satisfaction and also the cleanliness of the room.
We will be looking forward to your future stays!
All the best!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Thissio / Makriyanni
The Athens Gate Hotel
The Athens Gate Hotel
#14 of 281 in Athens
3,895 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#11 of 281 in Athens
2,385 reviews
Plaka
Central Athens Hotel
Central Athens Hotel
#31 of 281 in Athens
1,801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
Hermes Hotel
Hermes Hotel
#15 of 281 in Athens
1,576 reviews
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#12 of 281 in Athens
3,206 reviews
Omonia
Pallas Athena Grecotel Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plaka Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaka Hotel

Address: 7, Kapnikareas street and corner of Mitropoleos | Plaka / Acropolis / Syntagma / Monastiraki, Athens 105 56, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Plaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#7 Family Hotel in Athens
#9 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#11 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range: £62 - £243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Plaka Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Most central hotel situated in Plaka district. Strategically located for visiting all main archaeological interests especially the Acropolis and new Acropolis museum, as well as Ancient Agora, Parliament, first Olympic stadium, Benaki museum, Cycladic museum, National garden. Two streets only away from metro station Monastiraki, with direct line from the airport and the port of Piraeus. 50m from the main shopping street Ermou and Plaka touristic shopping area with taverns and bars. Splendid view of the Acropolis from roof terrace not to be missed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Ctrip TA, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Plaka Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athens Hotel Plaka
Plaka Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing