We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Plaka Hotel in Excellent Location!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Plaka Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Plaka Hotel
Ranked #11 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing Plaka Hotel in Excellent Location!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

We loved staying at the Plaka Hotel! This hotel is in an excellent location. We were able to walk to some of the ancient ruins and many restaurants and shops. The rooftop with the bar was our favorite spot to be after dinner. To sit there with a glass of wine and watch the sun go down and the lights come on at the Acropolis was just wonderful.

A very nice touch was the bottle of wine that appeared in our room the first night. It was a surprise and much appreciated! We also enjoyed the breakfast room....very bright and nice with all of the windows. I was also amazed at all the food...so many selections.

The staff was also very helpful with helping us with any questions that we had. It was also nice to have the free wifi in our rooms to get caught up on mail while we were gone. The rooms were very clean with plenty of space to move around in.

I would highly recommend this hotel...and would stay here if we were in Athens again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SearchQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear SearchQueen
It's great to hear that you enjoyed many elements of the stay including the location, breakfast, helpful personnel and views. Definitely, your recommendations will service us in improving for our future guests. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,134 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,703
    1,186
    180
    49
    16
See reviews for
632
1,518
223
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (581)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

Overnight stay whilst watching football in Athens. Basic but clean and comfortable en-suite room for €35. Well placed for browsing street markets and metro. Extremely helpful staff. Excellent value for money for anyone wanting a place to rest after a busy day.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tot B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear Tot B
Thank you again for taking the time to share your experience with us. Plaka team is overwhelmed for making your days in Athens beautiful! We are looking forward to having you back with us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Groningen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
89 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

Hotel has a great location close to metro station, center of the town, Sintagma square, agora and acropola as well close to some great restorants around Monastiraki square. On the roof there is a great view on Acropolis. Rooms are rather small, but clean and most important, service was more than a friendly. As example: we were late for breakfast, so we came when they should already start closing, but it was absolutly not a problem, they even brought us new fresh bread, fruits etc. and stayed till we finished, all with friendly smile. If we go again to Athens we will definetly stay here. Thanks to Plaka hotel, you were great!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EbnerMilo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear M E
We are very happy that you found our hotel agreeable and friendly. Thank you so much for the high praise and for appreciating our entire team’s genuinely caring attitude and efficiency. Hoping of having the pleasure of welcoming you again when back in Athens.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toowoomba, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at the Plaka Hotel for a total of 10 days. During this time we went to one of the islands and we were able to leave our big suit cases in a locked cupboard at reception which was a fabulous service. The staff are extremely efficient and friendly ( not always easy to find in Europe) and the rooms were exceptionally clean. The breakfast was excellent and we loved the free hot drinks and biscuits that were provided all day in the restaurant free of charge. Every morning at breakfast Eva ( tourist advisor) would ask us where we were going and she would proceed to tell us the best way and approx price ... She was never wrong and she spoke many languages-this is an excellent service. The Plaka is in a very central location close to all attractions in Athens. I would stay at the Plaka again without any hesitation. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WillLD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear Deborah W
We are very proud to have gained your recommendation. It is great to know that you enjoyed our location, the hotel’s interior design our rich-variety breakfast and spacious bar area. Thank you for your lovely review.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coogee, Australia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

We've just had 4 nights at the Plaka Hotel and would recommend the hotel to others. The hotel is centrally located in the Plaka District and is close to many of the main sights of Athens, for example it is walking distance to the Parliament, the Acropolis Museum etc. There's plenty of eating places, markets, shopping etc right near the hotel. We requested an upper floor, balcony room etc and the hotel met our request even though the room was not ready when we arrived at 3.30pm. The 5th floor twin room was bright, spacious, with minifridge, airconditioning and free wifi. From the balcony we had a nice part view of the Acropolis. The bathroom was compact but OK (although we did experience some odd waste water/sewerage smells coming through the wall vent for the time of our stay). The breakfast room is a large bright area and breakfasts here are a treat...the buffet offers a large range of hot and cold items, nice breads, some Greek items, and even tiramisu parfeits. The breakfast room also serves as a convenient day "lounge" with coffee and biscuits available throughout the day for guests where the rooms are not ready on checkin etc. A highlight of the hotel is the level 7 roof terrace which has great open views of the Acropolis and across the city. A small bar operates from 5.30 each night. The terrace is lovely, and it has nice casual lounges for guests to enjoy. The views are quite spectacular, especially with the Acropolis lit up at night. The hotel is obviously very guest-oriented...there is useful visitor information posted around and the staff are very helpful. One morning, guests at breakfast were even asked about their stay, whether they were happy with the hotel and if they had any suggestions for improvements.

If we had to point out any downsides, we would mention the waste water smell coming from the wall vent in the bathroom; and the late housekeeping each day - although we did get used to that once we knew the routine.

Room Tip: Upper floor rooms with balconies are great. Some even have views of the Acropolis.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jnjcoogee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

You cannot beat the location of the hotel. It is in the middle of Plaka and virtually everything is within walking distance. The rooms are small but very clean. Plus, with all of the sights around and the great rooftop bar with a fantastic view of the Acropolis, there is no need to be in your room for a prolonged period.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank bowler456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

The location is great and the views from the room/roof top bar were exquisite at night. The staff was not very friendly, the rooms had mosquitos, shower was full of mold and the wifi signal was poor! If you're looking for convenience and on a budget stay here, otherwise look elsewhere.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lox441
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Psirri / Gazi
O&B Athens Boutique Hotel
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#15 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,838 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#16 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
Central Athens Hotel
Central Athens Hotel
#30 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,623 reviews
Plaka
AVA Hotel Athens
AVA Hotel Athens
#5 of 325 in Athens
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,605 reviews
Syntagma
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plaka Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaka Hotel

Property: Plaka Hotel
Address: 7, Kapnikareas street and corner of Mitropoleos | Plaka / Acropolis / Syntagma / Monastiraki, Athens 105 56, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Plaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Athens
#10 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#16 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Plaka Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Most central hotel situated in Plaka district. Strategically located for visiting all main archaeological interests especially the Acropolis and new Acropolis museum, as well as Ancient Agora, Parliament, first Olympic stadium, Benaki museum, Cycladic museum, National garden. Two streets only away from metro station Monastiraki, with direct line from the airport and the port of Piraeus. 50m from the main shopping street Ermou and Plaka touristic shopping area with taverns and bars. Splendid view of the Acropolis from roof terrace not to be missed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Odigeo, HotelsClick, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Bookgreece.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Plaka Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athens Hotel Plaka
Plaka Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing