We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location!”
Review of Plaka Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Plaka Hotel
Ranked #12 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Oakville, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect location!”
Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

Very nicely located in the plaka. We were able to walk to markets, restaurants & sight see.
The rooms are small but clean and we'll maintained.
The staff were very friendly and helpful. When we arrived they brought a small bottle of wine to the room to welcome us.
Do not miss the roof top patio. The views are incredible and it's very enjoyable to sit and watch the sun set. They have a bartender on the roof so you can also enjoy a cocktail!
Breakfast was great. Lots of choices both hot & cold.
We would stay again.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Pink_bootz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Dear Pink_bootz,

Thank you so much for the high praise of our hotel and your positive comments for our "great" breakfast, "friendly" staff, cleanliness and of course the "incredible" view. I am sure the sun set is a memory that you will keep for long, but I mostly hope that you will stay with us again. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,184 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,736
    1,200
    183
    49
    16
See reviews for
638
1,552
226
85
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (592)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Reno
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Best hotel, the breakfast was delicious, even had bacon every other day! Hugh selection, even had baklava and dessert.
Our room was a deluxe twin with balcony since I was traveling with my son. It was beautiful
Clean , large and had an excellent bathroom. Plenty of closet space and outlets
For charging. Also a desk/ dressing table with stool and mirror plus hair dryer to sit
And put on your makeup or do your hair. They have coffee-latte machine going all
Day and you could stop and get one plus pitchers of iced water and cucumber
Water that was so refreshing. On our first morning Eva from the hotel went around
The breakfast room and came over and ask how long we where staying and if
We had a plan for our time and she sat down and helped up plan our days give us
Prices for things set up tours and give us directions on the metro, etc. the staff
Was great and even the maid was helpful giving us extra bath floor matts.
The best part of coarse as you can tell from the pictures, is the incredible roof top
Bar and deck with a view of the Acropolis . We went up there every night for 7 nights
And watched the sunset had a coffee or a beer or wine or brought our own. Visited with people in
Comfortable wicker chair and couches and watched the acropolis light up. The
Hotel is right next door to a little grocery store and our room had a a safe and a mini fridge
So we went and stocked up our mini fridge with drinks and snacks which was so
Handy even got an ice bucket from the rooftop bar full of ice every couple of days
And kept ice in,our fridge. Over all a really wonderful experience. Shopping right out
The door. Also flat rate on cabs of $35 euros from the hotel to the airport. Ps I didn't mean
To mark terrible on children and pool I just meant to mark n/a as neither applied to
Us and the hotel has no pool. The wifi worked great everyday. The only negative is
One small elevator, but we just took the stairs except when we had luggage. Super clean
Comfy beds. I would stay here again and again.

Room Tip: We upgraded to a deluxe room with balcony, it was a great, Large and beautiful room and very quite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dptolle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Dear dptolle,

We are very proud to have added to the enjoyment of your stay in Athens. Your comments, photos and high score. are very valuable and we thank you for taking time to review us on Tripadvisor
We certainly hope that you will from now on feel Plaka hotel as being your home away from home; We wish to see you again and again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

My wife and I have stayed at the Plaka Hotel 3 times now, in 2005, 2009, and 2014. We obviously returned the last two times because we found this to be the perfect hotel to stay at in the heart of old Athens. We reserved a room with a view of the Acropolis and would have stayed at the hotel for the view from our room in itself. As others note, though, there are also great views from the rooftop with comfortable seats. Our room was in great shape, updated since our visit in 2009, and more than large enough for the two of us, and most comfortable. The breakfast was also very good, especially for my wife, who has dietary restrictions and so needs more than the carbohydrate-based fare included in most hotel breakfasts. The hotel offers coffee, cookies and the like during the day, which we found to be a useful respite between forays out into the city. Finally, the staff was friendly and helpful as well. We love this hotel, and can't wait for another opportunity to visit Athens and stay at the Plaka. it's the perfect place to experience the best part of Athens!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Dear James H,

Earning recommendation in such an explicit way, on practically every aspect from a repeated client justifies our efforts and our vision of what we want our hotel to communicate to our guests. We are so glad you liked the renovation done a year n a half ago to all bathrooms and the decoration. We all send you our best regards and can't wait to see you again the soonest possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, PA
Level Contributor
635 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 269 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We stayed at both the Plaka Hotel and The Athens Gate Hotel while staying in Athens. There is absolutely no comparison. We will not stay at the Plaka Hotel again. Was not a good experience.

Hotel was tired, drab, run down and extremely small. Our room was almost as small as our room in Tokyo (which has famously small rooms due to lack of space in Japan). The only way I could navigate to go to the bathroom, was to scoot sideways between the end of the bed and the built in desk. No room for suitcases on that side of the bed - so I put my carry on on the bed, went to the other side, and then pulled the carry on onto the floor. It wouldn't fit between the desk and end of the bed to wheel it to the other side. So sad.

Bathroom very small - fits one person at a time only. Difficult logistics

Was concerned about the area of town - graffiti everywhere on outside buildings, run down area, could see extensive signs of the economic crisis here, more than in other areas of Athens.

Thank goodness we were only there one night. I wouldn't base a several day visit out of this hotel for sure. Would base out of The Athens Gate Hotel instead - worth the price difference.

On the positive side - rooftop had beautiful view of Acropolis and several comfortable chairs to sit and enjoy the view. However, elevator does not go to rooftop, only the floor below, so if you can't walk steps, you will miss the view.

Hot breakfast available in the 2nd floor restaurant. Delicious, but really didn't make up for the small room and bathroom.

Scale for weighing luggage was available in the small lobby - nice touch to double check our hand held portable scale.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Valerie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Valerie S,
Thank you for writing a review about your stay, though it is always disappointing to learn of a less than perfect stay.
Few points from my point of you:

- You are comparing Plaka Hotel's standard room with a 4 star hotel's room. We as well, have "superior rooms" which are larger, with very big bathroom and a balcony. The experience of our rooms with View of the Acropolis is great. It is a pity you did not ask for a superior room, as we would had offered it with a small sub charge.
Thank you mentioning that the other hotel is more expessive.

- I am surprised you thought that the hotel is run down, as the bathrooms were renovated a year and a half ago and curtains this winter and all linen every year.

- All our clients rave about the roof garden view. Never heard of anybody having a problem to walk up few steps, even after a long day walking up to the Acropolis. Plaka hotel is in the best location, as most sites are just on the door step of our hotel and some within 10 min walk. Also Monastiraki square(Plaka's main square) is just two streets way, as well as Ermou (pedestrian) main shooping street. As for the graffiti, unfortunately this is something that you see now days everywhere in Athens and has nothing to do with the crisis or the area.

I would like to thank you for highlighting the parts that you enjoyed, as our "delicious" breakfast and all little details we have thought off in order to offer our clients a pleasant stay.
I am sorry we did not meet your expectations. We hope to have an opportunity to be of service to you again should your travels bring you back to the city.
Please do not hesitate to contact me directly.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
US
Level Contributor
81 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We had a wonderful first visit to Greece and Athens and a lot of credit goes to the women and men at the Plaka Hotel front desk and breakfast room. They do this every day, year in, year out; and yet they seemed aware of how special each guest's trip and visit to Athens might be. When we phoned prior to arrival with questions (e.g., late arrival, what might be open for dinner) they had one or both of information or reassurance about whatever question we might have.

Other highlights include the location as many have mentioned and the rooftop, both day and night.

Room Tip: If morning sleep in is important due to time zone adjustment, having a room on the Kapnikareas Stree...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SERUs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear SERUs
A great review, thank you for choosing the Plaka and taking the time to write about us. Our team genuinely cares and loves being part of our guests’ experiences so your positive feedback regarding the friendliness and helpfulness of our team is incredibly encouraging and motivating.
We hope we can welcome you back soon.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Very glad we chose this hotel. It was in an excellent location close to Acropolis (15-20 minutes walk), Syntagma Square (10 mins walk) and in a nice area.

There are quite a number of good restaurants and amenities in Plaka, 5-10 minutes walk from the hotel.

We expected a very small room based on some of the reviews but we were pleasantly surprised - and our room was ready on our arrival even though we checked in early.

Staff were very helpful offering ideas on where to go and giving directions to attractions we wanted to visit.

There was a very good selection of food at breakfast.

The views from the rooftop terrace of the Acropolis and surrounding areas are great we even had a bit of a view of the Acropolis from our room.

Overall very pleased with this hotel and I'd strongly recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Albo123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Albo123
Thank you for sharing your early check-in experience and photographs on Trip Advisor. We are all quite humbled by your compliments, thank your for recognizing the effort behind it all. We are indeed in the center of all the main city attractions and rounded by the most famous restaurants and cafes. Great to hear you enjoyed our breakfast as we are continually enriching it with fresh local products and adding variety to keep the offering nutritious and exciting. We hope to have the chance of welcoming you back.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tarporley, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Each time we pass through Athens we stay here as it provides an excellent base for The Acropolis, Museum, Agora, Plaka and all central attractions, whilst being near Monastiraki Metro which has direct trains to the airport and Piraeus.
The roof bar provides views of the Acropolis which are unrivalled. We love to sit up there on a settee, sipping Ouzo watching the sun set and illuminations come on.
The breakfast restaurant is a bit frenetic with slightly over zealous staff clearing as you eat - well the do have to turn over tables several times each meal. The food is OK, although lacking in fresh cut fruit.
Rooms now all have free wifi.

Room Tip: Lift only takes 4. Maybe lower down if you're claustrophobic! Although the roof bar is on the 7t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear David C
Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor and for the great feedback for a second time on our hotel. It is great to read such positive comments! We are sorry about the incident with the trays, as the staff is always willing to serve you immediately in order to have more space on your table. As per your comment about the fresh fruits I would like to inform you that we are offering a variety of fresh fruits like cherries, oranges, apricots, apples and strawberries in a different combination each day, due to the fact of the market as we want every day to offer them fresh! We certainly hope to see you again when you are back in Athens!
Until next time! Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Psirri / Gazi
O&B Athens Boutique Hotel
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#14 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,920 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#16 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
Central Athens Hotel
Central Athens Hotel
#30 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,656 reviews
Plaka
AVA Hotel Athens
AVA Hotel Athens
#3 of 325 in Athens
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,636 reviews
Syntagma
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plaka Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaka Hotel

Property: Plaka Hotel
Address: 7, Kapnikareas street and corner of Mitropoleos | Plaka / Acropolis / Syntagma / Monastiraki, Athens 105 56, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Plaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Athens
#10 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#16 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Plaka Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Most central hotel situated in Plaka district. Strategically located for visiting all main archaeological interests especially the Acropolis and new Acropolis museum, as well as Ancient Agora, Parliament, first Olympic stadium, Benaki museum, Cycladic museum, National garden. Two streets only away from metro station Monastiraki, with direct line from the airport and the port of Piraeus. 50m from the main shopping street Ermou and Plaka touristic shopping area with taverns and bars. Splendid view of the Acropolis from roof terrace not to be missed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Bookgreece.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Plaka Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athens Hotel Plaka
Plaka Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing