We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,708)
Filter reviews
3,708 results
Traveller rating
2,024
1,380
226
59
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,024
1,380
226
59
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rooftop bar great location within walking distance free tea and coffee breakfast room rooftop view syntagma square an amazing view flea market central location roof garden ancient agora major sites restaurants and shops greek yogurt would highly recommend this hotel breakfast was excellent
Filter
Updating list...
1,621 - 1,626 of 3,708 reviews
Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

Very nicely located in the plaka. We were able to walk to markets, restaurants & sight see.
The rooms are small but clean and we'll maintained.
The staff were very friendly and helpful. When we arrived they brought a small bottle of wine to the room to welcome us.
Do not miss the roof top patio. The views are incredible and it's very enjoyable to sit and watch the sun set. They have a bartender on the roof so you can also enjoy a cocktail!
Breakfast was great. Lots of choices both hot & cold.
We would stay again.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Pink_bootz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2014

Dear Pink_bootz,

Thank you so much for the high praise of our hotel and your positive comments for our "great" breakfast, "friendly" staff, cleanliness and of course the "incredible" view. I am sure the sun set is a memory that you will keep for long, but I mostly hope that you will stay with us again. Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Best hotel, the breakfast was delicious, even had bacon every other day! Hugh selection, even had baklava and dessert.
Our room was a deluxe twin with balcony since I was traveling with my son. It was beautiful
Clean , large and had an excellent bathroom. Plenty of closet space and outlets
For charging. Also a desk/ dressing table with stool and mirror plus hair dryer to sit
And put on your makeup or do your hair. They have coffee-latte machine going all
Day and you could stop and get one plus pitchers of iced water and cucumber
Water that was so refreshing. On our first morning Eva from the hotel went around
The breakfast room and came over and ask how long we where staying and if
We had a plan for our time and she sat down and helped up plan our days give us
Prices for things set up tours and give us directions on the metro, etc. the staff
Was great and even the maid was helpful giving us extra bath floor matts.
The best part of coarse as you can tell from the pictures, is the incredible roof top
Bar and deck with a view of the Acropolis . We went up there every night for 7 nights
And watched the sunset had a coffee or a beer or wine or brought our own. Visited with people in
Comfortable wicker chair and couches and watched the acropolis light up. The
Hotel is right next door to a little grocery store and our room had a a safe and a mini fridge
So we went and stocked up our mini fridge with drinks and snacks which was so
Handy even got an ice bucket from the rooftop bar full of ice every couple of days
And kept ice in,our fridge. Over all a really wonderful experience. Shopping right out
The door. Also flat rate on cabs of $35 euros from the hotel to the airport. Ps I didn't mean
To mark terrible on children and pool I just meant to mark n/a as neither applied to
Us and the hotel has no pool. The wifi worked great everyday. The only negative is
One small elevator, but we just took the stairs except when we had luggage. Super clean
Comfy beds. I would stay here again and again.

Room Tip: We upgraded to a deluxe room with balcony, it was a great, Large and beautiful room and very quite but not much of a view,better to Upgrade to the deluxe room with view of Acropolis without balcony unless like us You just really like having outdoor space.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dptolle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2014

Dear dptolle,

We are very proud to have added to the enjoyment of your stay in Athens. Your comments, photos and high score. are very valuable and we thank you for taking time to review us on Tripadvisor
We certainly hope that you will from now on feel Plaka hotel as being your home away from home; We wish to see you again and again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

My wife and I have stayed at the Plaka Hotel 3 times now, in 2005, 2009, and 2014. We obviously returned the last two times because we found this to be the perfect hotel to stay at in the heart of old Athens. We reserved a room with a view of the Acropolis and would have stayed at the hotel for the view from our room in itself. As others note, though, there are also great views from the rooftop with comfortable seats. Our room was in great shape, updated since our visit in 2009, and more than large enough for the two of us, and most comfortable. The breakfast was also very good, especially for my wife, who has dietary restrictions and so needs more than the carbohydrate-based fare included in most hotel breakfasts. The hotel offers coffee, cookies and the like during the day, which we found to be a useful respite between forays out into the city. Finally, the staff was friendly and helpful as well. We love this hotel, and can't wait for another opportunity to visit Athens and stay at the Plaka. it's the perfect place to experience the best part of Athens!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JamesH064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2014

Dear James H,

Earning recommendation in such an explicit way, on practically every aspect from a repeated client justifies our efforts and our vision of what we want our hotel to communicate to our guests. We are so glad you liked the renovation done a year n a half ago to all bathrooms and the decoration. We all send you our best regards and can't wait to see you again the soonest possible.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We stayed at both the Plaka Hotel and The Athens Gate Hotel while staying in Athens. There is absolutely no comparison. We will not stay at the Plaka Hotel again. Was not a good experience.

Hotel was tired, drab, run down and extremely small. Our room was almost as small as our room in Tokyo (which has famously small rooms due to lack of space in Japan). The only way I could navigate to go to the bathroom, was to scoot sideways between the end of the bed and the built in desk. No room for suitcases on that side of the bed - so I put my carry on on the bed, went to the other side, and then pulled the carry on onto the floor. It wouldn't fit between the desk and end of the bed to wheel it to the other side. So sad.

Bathroom very small - fits one person at a time only. Difficult logistics

Was concerned about the area of town - graffiti everywhere on outside buildings, run down area, could see extensive signs of the economic crisis here, more than in other areas of Athens.

Thank goodness we were only there one night. I wouldn't base a several day visit out of this hotel for sure. Would base out of The Athens Gate Hotel instead - worth the price difference.

On the positive side - rooftop had beautiful view of Acropolis and several comfortable chairs to sit and enjoy the view. However, elevator does not go to rooftop, only the floor below, so if you can't walk steps, you will miss the view.

Hot breakfast available in the 2nd floor restaurant. Delicious, but really didn't make up for the small room and bathroom.

Scale for weighing luggage was available in the small lobby - nice touch to double check our hand held portable scale.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Valerie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Dear Valerie S,
Thank you for writing a review about your stay, though it is always disappointing to learn of a less than perfect stay.
Few points from my point of you:

- You are comparing Plaka Hotel's standard room with a 4 star hotel's room. We as well, have "superior rooms" which are larger, with very big bathroom and a balcony. The experience of our rooms with View of the Acropolis is great. It is a pity you did not ask for a superior room, as we would had offered it with a small sub charge.
Thank you mentioning that the other hotel is more expessive.

- I am surprised you thought that the hotel is run down, as the bathrooms were renovated a year and a half ago and curtains this winter and all linen every year.

- All our clients rave about the roof garden view. Never heard of anybody having a problem to walk up few steps, even after a long day walking up to the Acropolis. Plaka hotel is in the best location, as most sites are just on the door step of our hotel and some within 10 min walk. Also Monastiraki square(Plaka's main square) is just two streets way, as well as Ermou (pedestrian) main shooping street. As for the graffiti, unfortunately this is something that you see now days everywhere in Athens and has nothing to do with the crisis or the area.

I would like to thank you for highlighting the parts that you enjoyed, as our "delicious" breakfast and all little details we have thought off in order to offer our clients a pleasant stay.
I am sorry we did not meet your expectations. We hope to have an opportunity to be of service to you again should your travels bring you back to the city.
Please do not hesitate to contact me directly.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We had a wonderful first visit to Greece and Athens and a lot of credit goes to the women and men at the Plaka Hotel front desk and breakfast room. They do this every day, year in, year out; and yet they seemed aware of how special each guest's trip and visit to Athens might be. When we phoned prior to arrival with questions (e.g., late arrival, what might be open for dinner) they had one or both of information or reassurance about whatever question we might have.

Other highlights include the location as many have mentioned and the rooftop, both day and night.

Room Tip: If morning sleep in is important due to time zone adjustment, having a room on the Kapnikareas Street side means you'll get softer morning light since it's on the west side. A top (6th) floor room means easy access to/from the roof terrace without riding the elevator.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SERUs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Dear SERUs
A great review, thank you for choosing the Plaka and taking the time to write about us. Our team genuinely cares and loves being part of our guests’ experiences so your positive feedback regarding the friendliness and helpfulness of our team is incredibly encouraging and motivating.
We hope we can welcome you back soon.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews