We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,723)
Filter reviews
3,723 results
Traveller rating
2,035
1,383
227
59
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,035
1,383
227
59
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rooftop bar great location within walking distance free tea and coffee breakfast room rooftop view syntagma square an amazing view flea market roof garden central location major sites ancient agora restaurants and shops greek yogurt would highly recommend this hotel breakfast was excellent
Filter
Updating list...
1,620 - 1,625 of 3,723 reviews
Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

This is my third stay in this hotel. The staff are helpful & very friendly and have no hesitation to help you out if you are unsure of anything at all in Athens. It's not 5 star, but centrally located, great value, good breakfast buffet, clean, neat, tidy and air conditioning works well. The Plaka area can get noisy but the windows are double glazed, so it's not a problem. The rooftop bar area is great, with a gentle breeze, comfy chairs and friendly service. A great base if you want to explore the islands too as u can leave your big suitcase and island hop.

Stayed: June 2014
2  Thank debbies457
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear Debbie S,
We greatly appreciate the compliments on the hotel especially coming from a Senior Contributor.
It is so important for us to read your positive comments on the friendliness of our well trained staff and the "great value" of the hotel. We also thank you for mentioning your good sleeping experience with our new double glazed windows even if being at the very centre of Plaka.
Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Not a five star hotel but you get five star service from the great staff. The rooms are sparkling clean & have very comfy beds. The breakfast is included in the tariff & is very good, with a great variety of hot & cold to choose from. The hotel has a rooftop bar that serves reasonably priced drinks from a very efficient bar attendant who makes excellent cocktails. From the bar you have an uninterrupted view of the Pathenon, truly breathtaking. The hotel is easy walking distance to the hub of the city but remarkably quiet.

Room Tip: Try for a room higher than the fourth floor so you get a good view from your room.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nimmo45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear Nimmo45,
There is no better feeling as a manager than to read such a positive post about our hotel and especially about our staff from a senior reviewer!
We will be thrilled to welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Hotel was very nice in a great location. Lots of shopping and restaurants within an easy walk. The lift was very small and appeared to be stuck one night, but they seemed to get it going after a short while. The roof top bar is a perfect place to end the evening with an excellent view of the Acropolis. You could buy a beverage, or just sit there and enjoy the evening. Breakfast was included and there were a great variety of choices. A lot of people went back for seconds. One of the staff went table to table to ask if she could help you with your plans for the day or answer any questions. I thought that was a nice touch. They also had a luggage scale in the lobby, which we used to check the weight before our trip back to the airport. They called us a taxi when it was time to leave. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marcia5656
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Dear Marcia5656,

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your stay in Athens and for mentioning that you you would come back to us if your travels brings you to Athens. It is proven that all our clients believe that the area where Plaka hotel is located, is the best for sightseeing, shopping, eating out and enjoying night life. We are glad you liked the rich buffet breakfast and the roof top bar with "excellent" view. Sorry for the short stop of the elevator. Looking forward to your next visit. Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

My second time at this hotel, plus a previous stay at sister hotel Hermes. I stayed five nights and once again lived up to expectations from the friendly and efficient check-in, to the room, breakfast and the wonderful view from the roof top bar. Had a single room which is small but acceptable, exceptionally clean and good bathroom with walk in shower. Was given room 110 on the first floor and whilst not having a view it did have a small balcony with table and chairs. Breakfast was more than adequate with a good choice each day. The best part of the day was coming back after a full day sightseeing, taking a refreshing shower then heading up to the roof top bar for a drink and the wonderful all round views of Athens. The bar service was excellent and nothing was to much trouble. I will be back next year..

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank johnwE9502EP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Dear John W,

It was a great pleasure seeing you again in one of our hotes and reading on TA that you had another "wonderful stay". Please before booking your next trip check our offers on our website and let me know in order to offer you if possible an Acropolis View room. We thank you and look forward to your next visit. Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Offered us complimentary wine and sweets when we arrived. The hotel room is clean, it is not so big, but enough to put our two big luggage and carry on. Friendly staff. Centrally located, Monastiraki and the shopping street of Ermou is just around the corner of the hotel. The hotel is in the shadow of Acropolis, if you have the energy, it is a 20 to 30 minutes uphill walk from the hotel. The Ancient Agora is 15 minutes walk. Lots of restaurants and shopping places around. I highly recommend this hotel when visiting Athens.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mobleydcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Dear Mobleydcat,

Your excellent"review, high score and "highly recommendation" is our reward to our efforts to satisfy our guests. We really appreciate it and thank you very much. We hope seeing you again when visiting Athens. Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews