We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely incredible views from roof garden”
Review of Plaka Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Plaka Hotel
Ranked #13 of 282 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Room was a nice suite, great for two people, a little tight for three, which the hotel readily accommodated. It was clean, modern and well furnished. Internet access was very good and hotel offered a computer to print out boarding passes. But most important was the roof garden bar. Just sit there every night (or day) and view the Aropolis in all its glory. We never went out in the evening-just had a drink on the roof, chatted and appreciated the view! Service at the hotel was wonderful. All the staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast was also terrific, with a large selection of all sorts of meats, cheeses, vegetables, and the like. Access to the city was great, restaurants galore, shopping everywhere. Just two bocks from all sorts of public transportation (tram, underground) as well as tours such as the hop on hop off. I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Get one of the suites on the top flooir (6th) with easy access to the roof!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Basan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear Basan,
Your brilliant review is incredibly motivating for us and our team and we are very grateful for "highly recommending us"!
We provide all little details that our guests may need and I am glad you had a positive experience yourself and returned home with a great memory font only rom our services but also from
"the incredible View of the Acropolis from our roof terrace".
We really hope we will have the chance seeing you again.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,467)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,431 - 1,437 of 3,467 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

This is my third stay in this hotel. The staff are helpful & very friendly and have no hesitation to help you out if you are unsure of anything at all in Athens. It's not 5 star, but centrally located, great value, good breakfast buffet, clean, neat, tidy and air conditioning works well. The Plaka area can get noisy but the windows are double glazed, so it's not a problem. The rooftop bar area is great, with a gentle breeze, comfy chairs and friendly service. A great base if you want to explore the islands too as u can leave your big suitcase and island hop.

Stayed: June 2014
2  Thank Debbie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear Debbie S,
We greatly appreciate the compliments on the hotel especially coming from a Senior Contributor.
It is so important for us to read your positive comments on the friendliness of our well trained staff and the "great value" of the hotel. We also thank you for mentioning your good sleeping experience with our new double glazed windows even if being at the very centre of Plaka.
Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Not a five star hotel but you get five star service from the great staff. The rooms are sparkling clean & have very comfy beds. The breakfast is included in the tariff & is very good, with a great variety of hot & cold to choose from. The hotel has a rooftop bar that serves reasonably priced drinks from a very efficient bar attendant who makes excellent cocktails. From the bar you have an uninterrupted view of the Pathenon, truly breathtaking. The hotel is easy walking distance to the hub of the city but remarkably quiet.

Room Tip: Try for a room higher than the fourth floor so you get a good view from your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nimmo45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear Nimmo45,
There is no better feeling as a manager than to read such a positive post about our hotel and especially about our staff from a senior reviewer!
We will be thrilled to welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Hotel was very nice in a great location. Lots of shopping and restaurants within an easy walk. The lift was very small and appeared to be stuck one night, but they seemed to get it going after a short while. The roof top bar is a perfect place to end the evening with an excellent view of the Acropolis. You could buy a beverage, or just sit there and enjoy the evening. Breakfast was included and there were a great variety of choices. A lot of people went back for seconds. One of the staff went table to table to ask if she could help you with your plans for the day or answer any questions. I thought that was a nice touch. They also had a luggage scale in the lobby, which we used to check the weight before our trip back to the airport. They called us a taxi when it was time to leave. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marcia5656
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Dear Marcia5656,

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your stay in Athens and for mentioning that you you would come back to us if your travels brings you to Athens. It is proven that all our clients believe that the area where Plaka hotel is located, is the best for sightseeing, shopping, eating out and enjoying night life. We are glad you liked the rich buffet breakfast and the roof top bar with "excellent" view. Sorry for the short stop of the elevator. Looking forward to your next visit. Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

My second time at this hotel, plus a previous stay at sister hotel Hermes. I stayed five nights and once again lived up to expectations from the friendly and efficient check-in, to the room, breakfast and the wonderful view from the roof top bar. Had a single room which is small but acceptable, exceptionally clean and good bathroom with walk in shower. Was given room 110 on the first floor and whilst not having a view it did have a small balcony with table and chairs. Breakfast was more than adequate with a good choice each day. The best part of the day was coming back after a full day sightseeing, taking a refreshing shower then heading up to the roof top bar for a drink and the wonderful all round views of Athens. The bar service was excellent and nothing was to much trouble. I will be back next year..

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Dear John W,

It was a great pleasure seeing you again in one of our hotes and reading on TA that you had another "wonderful stay". Please before booking your next trip check our offers on our website and let me know in order to offer you if possible an Acropolis View room. We thank you and look forward to your next visit. Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Offered us complimentary wine and sweets when we arrived. The hotel room is clean, it is not so big, but enough to put our two big luggage and carry on. Friendly staff. Centrally located, Monastiraki and the shopping street of Ermou is just around the corner of the hotel. The hotel is in the shadow of Acropolis, if you have the energy, it is a 20 to 30 minutes uphill walk from the hotel. The Ancient Agora is 15 minutes walk. Lots of restaurants and shopping places around. I highly recommend this hotel when visiting Athens.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mobleydcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Dear Mobleydcat,

Your excellent"review, high score and "highly recommendation" is our reward to our efforts to satisfy our guests. We really appreciate it and thank you very much. We hope seeing you again when visiting Athens. Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

The rooms have been recently refurbished and are comfortable and attractive. The roof terrace is a fantastic draw - so much so that we spent our last day sunbathing there rather than finishing off our sightseeing list. The breakfast is good. The staff are friendly and helpful. Extra touches like complementary tea, coffee and biscuits during the day, an internet terminal and printer, and a safe deposit box for use after checking out are all appreciated.

The only downside is that our room on the 6th floor non-Acropolis side was extremely noisy at night (Friday and Saturday nights). It's a noisy city but I suggest that the next investment for the hotel should be new windows!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SAmbrai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Dear SAmbrai,
We are so glad to read that you liked the renovation of our rooms and bathrooms, as well as all the little details we thought of, for a pleasant stay of our precious clients. Double glazed windows have been changed recently too, and we do not have complains about noise. I am sorry about the disturbance of your sleep. All I can think of is that may be the window door was not well closed or it was some thing very special that week end. Should your travel brings back to the city I would be glad to assist you the best possible way.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#10 of 282 in Athens
2,473 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
The Athens Gate Hotel
The Athens Gate Hotel
#14 of 282 in Athens
3,964 reviews
Plaka
Hermes Hotel
Hermes Hotel
#15 of 282 in Athens
1,606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Psirri / Gazi
O&B Athens Boutique Hotel
Plaka
Central Athens Hotel
Central Athens Hotel
#31 of 282 in Athens
1,832 reviews
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#12 of 282 in Athens
3,293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plaka Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaka Hotel

Address: 7, Kapnikareas street and corner of Mitropoleos | Plaka / Acropolis / Syntagma / Monastiraki, Athens 105 56, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Plaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Athens
#7 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#11 Business Hotel in Athens
#12 Luxury Hotel in Athens
Price Range: £53 - £163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Plaka Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Most central hotel situated in Plaka district. Strategically located for visiting all main archaeological interests especially the Acropolis and new Acropolis museum, as well as Ancient Agora, Parliament, first Olympic stadium, Benaki museum, Cycladic museum, National garden. Two streets only away from metro station Monastiraki, with direct line from the airport and the port of Piraeus. 50m from the main shopping street Ermou and Plaka touristic shopping area with taverns and bars. Splendid view of the Acropolis from roof terrace not to be missed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Plaka Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athens Hotel Plaka
Plaka Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing