We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing view, beautiful rooms, great service!”
Review of Plaka Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Plaka Hotel
Ranked #12 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing view, beautiful rooms, great service!”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We had an Acropolis-View room, but even if you don't splurge for one, the rooftop bar offers the same great view! The rooms were beautiful. Small, but with everything you need. Modern bathroom with a wonderful shower. Friendly staff, very eager to help point you in the direction of a good restaurant or site to see.

Room Tip: Splurge for the Acropolis view! Nothing beats laying in bed staring up at one of the world's mos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Keseidman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Dear Kesseidman,
We really like to ensure that our guests are comfortable and are able to benefit from a relaxing break with us and so I was delighted to read that you were happy with your Acropolis room and our breakfast and most of all the service you received from our staff.
I hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back Plaka hotel on a future trip to Athens.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,232 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,762
    1,218
    186
    50
    16
See reviews for
649
1,576
232
85
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (602)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
142 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We only had one night at the Plaka Hotel, but came away feeling as if we'd gotten our money's worth. The hotel itself seems well-maintained and well-serviced. Rooms are modern and clean, beds comfortable, wi-fi connection good, etc. There is a well-lit bar area on the first floor (where a complete breakfast is served in the morning), where you can sit during the day and enjoy complementary coffee, tea, hot chocolate and biscuits. The folks at the front desk are friendly and helpful. The hotel's location is great, with easy access to the Plaka restaurants/sites and the Acropolis. Bottom line: we would definitely stay at this hotel again, but make sure that we had a room with a view, on a higher floor.

Room Tip: We were "underwhelmed" by the view from our second floor rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank twinssing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Dear twinssinf,
We thank you for staying at the Plaka hotel during your short visit in Athens.
We, as well hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back for longer time and offer you a room with a view.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
170 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

This hotel is perfectly situation in the Plaka in Athens. You just need to step out and you will find yourself overwhelmed with shopping and dining options. There are also plenty of taxis waiting outside the hotel to take you to destinations that aren't walking distance.
The staff is very helpful and the views from the roof are once in a lifetime. We checked in early due to our flight and our rooms were ready. They even made sure that our rooms were next to each other. We didn't have a view of the Acropolis, from our rooms, but the view of Athens from our balcony was plenty.
After a day of site seeing the sweets and wine left in your room is a real treat! We enjoyed it on our balcony.
The rooftop bar is not to be missed. The staff is inviting and the whole thing has a lounge vibe. I would go there even if we weren't staying at the hotel.
The bathrooms are more than adequate and the showers are larger than most we saw in Greece. I regret not staying at The Plaka Hotel on our return trip.

Room Tip: Request a room up high for a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cortneyrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We can only recommend staying at Plaka Hotel in Athens. It's very central, yet quiet. The rooms are spacy with air condition and free wi-fi. The breakfast buffet is good, yet nothing special, but it's a nice feature that you have access to the area all day and night with the ability to take a cup of coffee and a biscuit.
The reception staff is friendly and helpful and check-in and -out went smoothly.
Highly recommended for a short stay close to the center of Athens.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Babetoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Plaka Hotel, Athens is magnificently situated with clean comfortable rooms, friendly and helpful staff, lovely breakfast selection catering for all preferences and a stunning rooftop bar. From here you can see the Parthenon, which is lit up at night, providing a magic spot for cocktails in the evening. Tea, coffee and biscuits freely available all day in the dining room. The free wifi service worked well as did the air-conditioning so essential for summer. The hotel is close to the Parliament buildings where you can see the changing of the guard. A 10 minute walk up the street brings you to the bus terminus for the sightseeing bus which takes you on a tour around the city and out to the harbour. A great service to get around to all the main attractions in Athens. The railway station is close by for those who choose not to use a taxi service to and from the airport. The Plaka district is full of quaint alleys, coffee cafes, restaurants, interesting shops, archeological sites and old buildings - an absolute delight. We felt very safe walking around this part of Athens and will definitely stay here again when we pay a return visit to this amazing city.

Room Tip: Ask for a room above the third floor and, if possible, a view of the Parthenon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bronwyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rushden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

This hotel is perfectly located for the highlights of Athens. Only a short walk from all the major historical sights it made planning our time in Athens really easy to ensure we did not miss anything.
The rooms are well presented & clean. We had a small balcony from which we could see the corner of the Acropolis, however some rooms have a full view.
Breakfast was excellent with a good range available for all tastes. If you are leaving early for a trip the hotel will lay on an early breakfast if you tell reception the evening before.
Roof Bar - this amazing roof bar has stunning views, you can sit and relax with a drink whilst watching the sun go down over the Acropolis followed by the lights slowly coming on to reveal its night time look, great photo opportunities! (Excellent service from the lovely Elsa)
Would highly recommend this hotel as a base for Athens

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ruth E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We stayed here for one night prior to a cruise. Great service. Loved complimentary local fruit in room and bottle of wine. 20 minute walk to Acropolis. Good location for shopping in Plaka. Exceeded expectations based on price in a major city. Some rooms have the same view of Acropolis that you get from the roof.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#15 of 325 in Athens
2,197 reviews
Psirri / Gazi
O&B Athens Boutique Hotel
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#14 of 325 in Athens
2,964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
Central Athens Hotel
Central Athens Hotel
#31 of 325 in Athens
1,675 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
The Athens Gate Hotel
The Athens Gate Hotel
#17 of 325 in Athens
3,711 reviews
Plaka
Hermes Hotel
Hermes Hotel
#19 of 325 in Athens
1,502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plaka Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaka Hotel

Property: Plaka Hotel
Address: 7, Kapnikareas street and corner of Mitropoleos | Plaka / Acropolis / Syntagma / Monastiraki, Athens 105 56, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Plaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Athens
#10 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#16 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Plaka Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Most central hotel situated in Plaka district. Strategically located for visiting all main archaeological interests especially the Acropolis and new Acropolis museum, as well as Ancient Agora, Parliament, first Olympic stadium, Benaki museum, Cycladic museum, National garden. Two streets only away from metro station Monastiraki, with direct line from the airport and the port of Piraeus. 50m from the main shopping street Ermou and Plaka touristic shopping area with taverns and bars. Splendid view of the Acropolis from roof terrace not to be missed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Bookgreece.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Plaka Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athens Hotel Plaka
Plaka Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing