We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel in great location”
Review of Plaka Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Plaka Hotel
Ranked #10 of 281 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Stayed for 3 nights from 6 August 2014 and found hotel perfect as a base to see all the sights. Right in the middle of bustling old district and near flea market as well as ancient sites. Staff very helpful and rooms clean and pleasant. Lovely rooftop bar with great view of Acropolis - lighting up time is particularly magical.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Emma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

Dear Emma S,
We are very proud to have earned such a "magical" review with details that will help future clients make their decision. Thank you !
Best regrads

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,384)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,306 - 1,312 of 3,384 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2014

Stayed there because of the good tripadvisor reviews. This hotel is great value for money!
It is close to the shops and touristic areas (3-4 mins walk), the room was spacious, modern and we had a great view. The breakfast buffet was generous and fresh and the staff very friendly.
The best part of the hotel was the roof top bar where Elza made us tasty drinks while we enjoyed the fantastic views.

A great thanks to Lisa, the receptionist who did a fantastic job and was very friendly and efficient. I wish more hotels had staff like her.
This hotel has all the amenities you need for a town hotel and still doesnt lack the special attention for each customer. We will be back next year!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Jemina_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

Dear Jemina_11
Your promise to come back next year is the best we could read! Please do not hesitate to contact me directly before booking your trip. Thank you again
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Stayed here for 4 nights and will be back in a week. The hotel is in a great location. Everything is very close to the hotel. Everything such as shops, restaurants, subway, and sights.

One of their staff, Eva, is a true gem. Very charming and helpful. She's truly sincere in assisting guests and I find that a big plus when you're new to a place.

The room is basic but very clean. It's not too small and has everything you need in a hotel room. There maybe other hotels in the area but I find this hotel to be perfect location wise. It's not on a main street so it's quiet but very close to the action in Plaka.

The elevator is too tiny, good for 4 people without baggage, but it's not a deal breaker for me and I take the stairs if needed. Don't mind doing it for exercise. :)

The breakfast is pretty basic but good. You get all the food groups you need. Nothing fancy but it ties you over for a long day ahead.

I highly recommend this hotel if you want the basic no frills accommodation and if you want value for your money.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank bang8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

Dear Bang8888
"Location and value for money" is what, we too think, characterises Plaka Hotel.
We thank you for your review and for highly recommending us.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

This hotel is great for a short stay in Athens. The rooms are small but clean and nicely appointed, and the air conditioning works well. The staff are helpful and speak reasonable English. A nice touch was that when we first entered our room, waiting for us was a carafe of ice water, a small bottle of complimentary wine, and some Greek sweet pastries. The breakfast was diverse and had a good choice of quality ingredients. The hotel is located near many sites and the metro, making it convenient for sight seeing and getting around the city. The roof top bar has a wonderful view on the parthenon, especially after dark, and the woman running the roof top bar was friendly and had a great sense of humor.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank car94102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Dear car94102,
Thank you for your warm comments about your stay at Plaka Hotel.
It is always so nice to read such complimentary comments about our staff as they aim to make every guests’ stay memorable. I will ensure that your kind words are passed onto them and that their service is duly recognized.
I do hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the hotel.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed here rooms r terrible small and not clean enough
Arrived told them it was our honeymoon and she sent us to a room that wasn't even cleaned yet then got upgraded to a superior room and still was horrible
Never go back
I would not suggest this at all

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
5  Thank Nicole S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

I have to admit that it comes as a huge surprise that, contrary to the opinion of everyone else, you did not enjoy the friendliness and professionalism of our knowledgeable staff.
I am sorry you did not let us know in advance about your honeymoon, as Plaka Hotel is well know for the excellent service especially for newly married.
I wish you all the best and hope we will see you again in order to make up.
Please do not hesitate to contact me directly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Our flight arrived just before noon and I knew we would be exhausted that day, so I booked us into the Plaka Hotel because of its location in the heart of the Plaka. Our room was ready when we arrived at 1pm so we were able to have a refreshing shower before heading out in search of lunch. We found a lovely courtyard restaurant less than three blocks away. After lunch we did some window shopping, then retired to the hotel for a recuperative nap. Post-nap we walked the Plaka to Syntagma Square and back, then found another lovely restaurant for a sunset repast. That was followed by some more window shopping, then we returned to the hotel and enjoyed drinks in the rooftop garden -what amazing views! Our room also had a view of the Acropolis, and we quite enjoyed seeing it lit up at night. The hotel is truly amazing, and reasonably priced for the location.

Room Tip: Check to see if the Acropolis view rooms are available at a discount. They are well worth the extra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Rowena H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Dear Rowena H,
We are more than happy when we are thought of as "... the hotel is truly amazing and resonably priced .." Our efforts are towards offering our guests a relaxed and enjoyable atmosphere when with us. Thank you for your feedback and high score.
Hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

My sister and I chose this hotel based off other Trip Advisor member’s praises. We were not disappointed. Rather the contrary. We were amazed at what a gem of a hotel this. Nestled in the very heart of the Plaka (central) part of Athens, it was the perfect location for getting to all the sites Athens has to offer. Literally 100 yards from the hotel entrance was the ruins of Hadrian’s Library. The rooftop terrace offered a breathtaking view of the Acropolis and a nearly 360 degree unobstructed view of the rest of Athens. It was a great place to relax with a glass of wine or just take in some Greek sunshine. The breakfast buffet at the hotel was wonderful. For such a small hotel, their breakfast was on par with some of the fancier luxury brand hotels I have stayed in. It offered a huge pastry selection, Greek delicacies like spinach and feta cheese in crispy phyllo dough, eggs, bacon, and Greek yogurt with local honey. They also offered free tea and coffee until mid-afternoon. This was a great way to take a break in the middle of the day. With free, high speed, wi-fi, we could enjoy an afternoon tea while planning out that evenings outings.

The staff was incredibly friendly. From the moment we checked in, they made us feel like houseguests; always smiling, always a warm hello and quick to respond to needs, like extra towels, or helping with directions to sites.

My sister and I are avid walkers and were able to walk to everything we wanted to see. The hotel was about a 15 minute walk to the Acropolis, the Acropolis museum, the Temple of Olympian Zeus and the ancient Agora. The hotel is no more than 50 meters from one of the main shopping streets in Athens and a 5 minute walk to the nearest metro. It was surrounded by dozens of great places to eat. Other perks included a taxi stand just outside the hotel, a convenience shop next door, a mini-fridge to store all the goodies we bought at said convenience shop, comfortable beds, and a great shower.

I highly recommend this fantastic little hotel to anyone travelling to Athens.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank FedMed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Dear FedMed,
We are more than happy when we read that our guests choose Plaka hotel based on TripAdvisor reviews and are "surprisingly satisfied'!! Mentioning us as a "gem" makes us really proud and we all thank you very much!
I hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel on a future trip to Athens.
Best regards to your sister.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Thissio / Makriyanni
The Athens Gate Hotel
The Athens Gate Hotel
#14 of 281 in Athens
3,895 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#11 of 281 in Athens
2,385 reviews
Plaka
Central Athens Hotel
Central Athens Hotel
#31 of 281 in Athens
1,801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
Hermes Hotel
Hermes Hotel
#15 of 281 in Athens
1,576 reviews
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#12 of 281 in Athens
3,206 reviews
Omonia
Pallas Athena Grecotel Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plaka Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaka Hotel

Address: 7, Kapnikareas street and corner of Mitropoleos | Plaka / Acropolis / Syntagma / Monastiraki, Athens 105 56, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Plaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Athens
#7 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#9 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#11 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range: £62 - £243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Plaka Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Most central hotel situated in Plaka district. Strategically located for visiting all main archaeological interests especially the Acropolis and new Acropolis museum, as well as Ancient Agora, Parliament, first Olympic stadium, Benaki museum, Cycladic museum, National garden. Two streets only away from metro station Monastiraki, with direct line from the airport and the port of Piraeus. 50m from the main shopping street Ermou and Plaka touristic shopping area with taverns and bars. Splendid view of the Acropolis from roof terrace not to be missed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Plaka Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athens Hotel Plaka
Plaka Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing