We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Location”
Review of Plaka Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Plaka Hotel
Ranked #10 of 282 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 August 2014

We stayed 3 nights, our welcome included a bowl of fruit and 2 mini bottles of wine. The rooms and bathroom were clean and functional, soundproofing worked well considering the hotels proximity to the Plaka. Breakfast range was excellent and a member of staff wandered the tables to assist with her local knowledge of sites to visit, an excellent touch. All the staff were friendly and willing to assist. On the roof top is an evening bar which affords a pleasant side view of The Acropolis. WiFi is free and we found the speed quite satisfactory.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Michael-Barry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2014

Dear Michael-Barry,
We really thank you as a "Top Contributor" with great experience, for your enthusiastic review and the high score we gained!
We look forward welcoming you back should your travel brings you to Athens.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,342)
There are newer reviews for Plaka Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,256 - 1,262 of 3,342 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2014

We recently stayed at the Plaka Hotel Athens and we were pleasantly surprised.The rooms are fairly basic but very clean. The proximity to everything is excellent, the staff are very friendly and helpful and the breakfast was great.The hotel has a rooftop bar area that has the most spectacular,uninterrupted views of the Acropolis,just beautiful.The only small criticism I have was the size of the elevator,just holds 4 people,difficult with luggage.
We wouldn't hesitate in staying there again

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Diane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2014

Dear Diane M,
We are very proud to have earned your recommendation and thank you for mentioning experience on TA community. Concerning the small elevator, as most hotels in this area of similar category, they were built under different regulations and for static reasons it is not easy to be changed. We thank you again.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights during August. The location is perfect. It's very close to the main street of Plaka where all the shops are and a lot of good restaurants.
The rooftop bar is a great place to watch the sunset over the Acropolis and one night we even saw the lights go up on the hill. It was very beautiful.
The only downside is the wifi, of which the signal is very poor. But it appears that it's the same across all the hotels we stay in Greece...

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank V Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2014

Dear VZ,
Thank you for choosing Plaka Hotel for your stay in Athens. We are so pleased that you as well enjoyed the "perfect" location and the "beautiful" view of the Acropolis. I am sorry you did not have a very strong signal, which is not often any more..
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2014

Partner and I stopped over in Athens for 1 night at end of trip before flight home. Plaka Hotel was the perfect location for this. Having exhausted our map navigation skills by this stage of the trip Plaka was close to shops & Acropolis - the only two things we had left in us. Would highly recommend this hotel for those wishing to spend a bit of time in town. They have a rooftop bar which is fantastic to view the Acropolis at night and a roof bar serving cocktails / wine / beer. Pigeons are mad for the free peanuts though so cover your peanut plate!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Ler0ss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2014

Dear LerOss,
We are so pleased to read that your last impression of Greece was staying at the Plaka Hotel and that you had a relaxing and positive experience.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

This was a very nice hotel in a great location. Close to everything you could want to see. The rooms were a good size, very clean. Amazing staff. Happy to help you with anything you need and we're keen to ask you how your day was. Would definitely recommend this hotel in you're ever in Athens

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Irene T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2014

Dear Irene T,
We are very proud to have earned your recommendation, after your short but "excellent" stay at the Plaka Hotel.
Best regards from all of us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2014 via mobile

I hadn't been to Athens in 29 years and I don't know how I heard about the Plaka Hotel but I am so thankful that I returned to such a great city with my wife and had the opportunity to stay at this lovely hotel.

I had advised the hotel that we would be arriving late from Santorini and much to our surprise, not only was our room ready but there was a carafe of ice cold water, a split of red wine, delicious baklava and a lovely welcome note waiting for us.

The room was perfect size for us, the beds were very comfortable and a beautiful bathroom. In addition, the staff was very friendly and helpful. The breakfasts were delicious and plentiful.

Location, location, location! The Plaka Hotel has the perfect location, walking distance to everything; the ancient sites, fine dining, quick dining, shopping, nightlife, etc.

The view of the Acropolis from the rooftop is completely breathe taking Sitting with a drink in your hand gazing at one of the most important structures on earth was a once in a lifetime experience. And the bartender was so friendly. When I get stressed out, this will be one of my "happy places" to go to.

Thank you for a wonderful stay in Athens.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Travelnica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2014

Dear Travelnica,
Your "spectacular" review on Plaka Hotel makes us very proud and we all thank you for taking the time to share it on TA. We will be expecting you back...hopefully this time it will not take you so long to return! I hope you will keep the memory of the "breath taking view of the Acropolis" as a relaxing one.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2014

This hotel is in the heart of Plaka, and is the perfect central location for sightseeing in Athens. The rooms are bigger than usual for a hotel in a major city and the complimentary breakfast is the best we had in Greece. The rooftop bar is so lovely for enjoying a cocktail and a gorgeous view of the Acropolis all lit up at night. Great service, clean hotel, reasonable rates.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank JJ_Beaudrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

Dear JJ_Beaudrie,
Thank for taking time to comment on your stay at Plaka. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your superior room and that you considered our buffet breakfast to be the best during your trip. Particularly we are glad that you fund the price to be reasonable for the great location and standards. It will be our pleasure to see you through our doors again in the future.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Thissio / Makriyanni
The Athens Gate Hotel
The Athens Gate Hotel
#14 of 282 in Athens
3,845 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#13 of 282 in Athens
2,333 reviews
Plaka
Central Athens Hotel
Central Athens Hotel
#27 of 282 in Athens
1,767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Omonia
Pallas Athena Grecotel Boutique Hotel
Plaka
Hermes Hotel
Hermes Hotel
#15 of 282 in Athens
1,563 reviews
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#12 of 282 in Athens
3,150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plaka Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaka Hotel

Address: 7, Kapnikareas street and corner of Mitropoleos | Plaka / Acropolis / Syntagma / Monastiraki, Athens 105 56, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Plaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#7 Family Hotel in Athens
#9 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#11 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range: £59 - £326 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Plaka Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Most central hotel situated in Plaka district. Strategically located for visiting all main archaeological interests especially the Acropolis and new Acropolis museum, as well as Ancient Agora, Parliament, first Olympic stadium, Benaki museum, Cycladic museum, National garden. Two streets only away from metro station Monastiraki, with direct line from the airport and the port of Piraeus. 50m from the main shopping street Ermou and Plaka touristic shopping area with taverns and bars. Splendid view of the Acropolis from roof terrace not to be missed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Plaka Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athens Hotel Plaka
Plaka Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing