We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Marvellous experience”
Review of Plaka Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Plaka Hotel
Ranked #10 of 281 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 May 2010

Since arriving to this very nice hotel the hostess receives you with a smile and a very professional and warm attitude. It is an impecable , clean, hotel. My room had an overwhelming view of the Acropolis, ibreakfats was simply delicious , the service of all the personnel was the very best.
This Hotel on the terrace has a magnificent view of the Acropolis in the morning it is beautiful in the morning and at night all iluminated , WOW!!!!
Plaka hotel is very conveniently located , the museum, the Acropolis, is walking distance, and all the beauty of Plaka.
I recommend this Hotel to all my firends.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tasha62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DORINAPLAKA, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2010

I thank you very much for your candid review and high score!
Hope to see you again on a future trip.
Best regards

Dorina Stathopoulou
g.manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,379)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,335 - 2,341 of 3,379 reviews

Reviewed 17 May 2010

Very nice hotel, perfectly situated, close to Plaka, Monastiraki and Syntagma. Dead easy to find, even if its your first time in Athens. Recently refurbished, the rooms are clean and the roof garden was being completed when I was there (May 2010). The staff are very helpful at any time of the night or day. The hotel was on the full side, which is always a good sign, and is good value for money. I would unhesitatingly return.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rfbc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DORINAPLAKA, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2010

Dear Sir,

I thank you for your positive review on Plaka Hotel and I am please we offered you a pleasant stay!

We hope to see you again on your next visit to Athens.

Best regards

Dorina Stathopoulou
G. Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2010

The hotel is very well situated for sight-seeing in Athens and easily reached from the airport by bus or metro.
We were pleasantly greeted on arrival and reception staff were very friendly, helpful and knowledgeable about where to go and what to see.
Our room was excellent and breakfast served in a very pleasant restaurant.
The roof top bar area offered a wonderful view of the city.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank john504167
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DORINAPLAKA, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2010

Dear sir,

Thank you very much for your review and for your high score!
We are working out what we can do best for the internet charge.

Best regards

Dorina Stathopoulou
manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2010

We picked hotel based on other reviews and facilities. In particular having a roof terrace that you could see Acropolis from. Terrace closed whole time we were there and lots of buidling drilling noise during day - so no siesta possible.

Room a bit variable - resonable facilites in bedroom but things like bathroom floor tilles cracked, shower screen leaky.

Would have appriciated if hotel had warned us in advance that this was happening.

Would consider staying again - but would check that renovations are complete.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JAS02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2010

We knew the hotel from a former stay, but it improved a lot. Clean and spacious rooms, nice shower, tasty breakfast and devoted and very polite personnel.
At the reception we got a lot of help : phonecalls, roadmaps to find the embassy after the loss of our wallet, etc...
We enjoyed our stay from March 29th till April 8th 2010 and hope to go back next year or the year after.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mich_claes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DORINAPLAKA, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2010

Dear Sir,

I thank you for your positive review on Plaka Hotel and I am pleased we offered you a pleasant stay though you.

We hope to see you again on your next visit to Athens.

Best regards

Dorina Stathopoulou
G. Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2010

The location of this hotel is great - right in the middle of everything. BUT ... the bed in the room was broken and barely holding together. The bathroom was tiny and don't drop the soap in the shower - you'd have to step outside the shower to retrieve it! (and I'm a size 10). We found the staff to be abrupt and totally unhelpful. Will not be staying there again.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bajangirl2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2010

I spent 1 night at the Plaka Hotel in April 2010. The location was fantastic - just a few minutes from the Plaka shops, the Acropolis, and the metro stop. The room was comfortable and I had a fantastic view - I could see the acropolis from my bed - I stared at it out the window for much of the evening - it was breathtaking!

The hotel staff was very nice and helpful. The hotel has wireless internet (for a nominal charge) and breakfast was included with my room.

The rooftop terrace was closed for renovations, but it looks like that is a really nice feature given the location & view.

I'd stay here again!

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MHC_2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Thissio / Makriyanni
The Athens Gate Hotel
The Athens Gate Hotel
#14 of 281 in Athens
3,880 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#11 of 281 in Athens
2,375 reviews
Plaka
Central Athens Hotel
Central Athens Hotel
#30 of 281 in Athens
1,793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
Hermes Hotel
Hermes Hotel
#15 of 281 in Athens
1,574 reviews
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#12 of 281 in Athens
3,199 reviews
Omonia
Pallas Athena Grecotel Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plaka Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaka Hotel

Address: 7, Kapnikareas street and corner of Mitropoleos | Plaka / Acropolis / Syntagma / Monastiraki, Athens 105 56, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Plaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Athens
#7 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#11 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range: £61 - £237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Plaka Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Most central hotel situated in Plaka district. Strategically located for visiting all main archaeological interests especially the Acropolis and new Acropolis museum, as well as Ancient Agora, Parliament, first Olympic stadium, Benaki museum, Cycladic museum, National garden. Two streets only away from metro station Monastiraki, with direct line from the airport and the port of Piraeus. 50m from the main shopping street Ermou and Plaka touristic shopping area with taverns and bars. Splendid view of the Acropolis from roof terrace not to be missed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Ctrip TA, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Plaka Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athens Hotel Plaka
Plaka Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing