We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Plaka was great”
Review of Plaka Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Plaka Hotel
Ranked #12 of 326 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Normandy Park, Washington
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Hotel Plaka was great”
Reviewed 3 June 2007

Hotel Plaka is in a great location near Monastariki Square and metro station and in the middle of the Plaka District of Athens. Everything we wanted to see was within walking distance. Clean room, good breakfast.

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Douglas H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,237 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,763
    1,220
    188
    50
    16
See reviews for
650
1,578
233
85
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (602)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Central Florida, Florida
Level Contributor
111 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2007

Defintely not a friendly staff - grudingly helpful
no where close tio a 3 star hotel

Stayed May 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank traveler052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm
Level Contributor
539 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 256 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2007

We were very satisfied with our stay here in May 2006. The room was of a good size and in very good shape. The view from our room was exceptional - a clear view towards the Acropolis. The bathroom was somewhat small, especially the bath which was of the sitting kind. Breakfast was excellent as well as the service from the staff. I had asked for a bottle of bubbly to be served on our arrival which was executed without a hitch. We would like very much to return some day.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — Bath
  • Stayed May 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Ugurd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2007

Hi! We spent a week at Plaka hotel in January - what a great experience! Great location - in the very heart of ancient Plaka. Friendly staff, good room - really good 3-stars. Superb view! We will definitely come back. Recommend to everyone.

  • Stayed January 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Taloura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2007

This is a great tourist class hotel! We were so pleased with our experience. One fellow at the front desk is a little gruff at first, but he seems to warm up after a day. The other staff were veryvery helpful, especially as we were leaving and needed a 4:00 AM wake up call, a taxi, and a little coffee and breakfast (they actually opened the dining buffet for a few visitors who were leaving early).

The rooms and bathrooms are positively spotless. Beds a little harder than we spoiled Americans are used to, but they're comfortable. The candid photos on Trip Advisor are very accurate.

The continental breakfast includes scrambled eggs and little boiled sausages along with the usual cereals, cold meat, cheese, jams, fruit, and coffe/tea/juice. You can really load up and be ready to go until lunch (which is around 3 PM for Greeks).

The location is excellent. We were gleefully congratulating ourselves on finding a hotel so centrally located to the Acropois and the other sights we wanted to see. It's a vibrant area. Even after visiting some of the more posh sections of the city, such as Kolonaki and Syntagma Square, we were glad we chose to stay in Plaka. The swankier areas look exactly like other swanky areas of other European cities, but Plaka is full of life, shops, music, small winding streets, Roman ruins, and great Greek food.

Our experience was also very consistent. We stayed at the Plaka Hotel two times during our trip: when we first arrived in Athens (for 3 nights) and when we returned from Crete on our way back to the States (for 2 nights). Both times we enjoyed the same great experience. We're already planning another trip back to Greece and the Plaka Hotel is where we'll stay when in Athens!

San Diego, California

  • Liked — cleanliness and it felt very comfortable
  • Disliked — honestly, I would have liked some tomatoes at breakfast
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank merrie_007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Finland
Level Contributor
77 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2007

Plaka hotel is situated in the Plaka area. It is a few minutes walk to Monastiraki-square where is a flee market and a metro station. To Syndagma it's not even a ten minutes walk. Plaka hotel is close to everything and therefore is perfect for a trip to Athens.

The triple room is quite small with no extra room to hang out. Our room was clean and had a wonderful view of the Acropolis. Try to get a room on that side of the hotel, because there is no view at all on the other side. Also room facing Acropolis is very quiet.

Breakfast is very basic with bread, cereals and so on. Nothing special, but gets your day started.

There are great pita-places near Plaka hotel, so you won't go hungry.

I would definetely recommend Plaka hotel to everyone, for it's location.

  • Liked — location
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank tessuli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morrisville, NC
Level Contributor
45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2007

This boutique hotel had the perfect location for our vacation. We walked to the Parthenon, Athens flea market, Ancient Agora, National Archeological Museum, Benaki Museum, Hadrian's Arch, restaurants. We did not use a rental car and only used a taxi to and from the airport. We had two adjoining rooms for our family of 4, 2 parents, 2 teenagers. The bathrooms are tiny! The breakfast at the hotel was very convenient. We did not use the small lounge open at all times because we were so busy sightseeing. The roof garden has an amazing view of the Acropolis, which is lit at night and appears almost magical. The front desk was very helpful with restaurant suggestions within walking distance and arranging 2 taxis upon checkout(our luggage was too big for the small trunk of 1 taxi). Their taxis cost less than the one we got ourselves when we first got to the airport. We would definitely stay here again. Only negative was the tiny bathrooms.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Tiny bathroom
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank NCTravMorrisville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#15 of 326 in Athens
2,198 reviews
Psirri / Gazi
O&B Athens Boutique Hotel
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#14 of 326 in Athens
2,971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
Central Athens Hotel
Central Athens Hotel
#31 of 326 in Athens
1,678 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
The Athens Gate Hotel
The Athens Gate Hotel
#16 of 326 in Athens
3,715 reviews
Plaka
Hermes Hotel
Hermes Hotel
#19 of 326 in Athens
1,503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plaka Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaka Hotel

Property: Plaka Hotel
Address: 7, Kapnikareas street and corner of Mitropoleos | Plaka / Acropolis / Syntagma / Monastiraki, Athens 105 56, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Plaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#10 Family Hotel in Athens
#16 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Plaka Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Most central hotel situated in Plaka district. Strategically located for visiting all main archaeological interests especially the Acropolis and new Acropolis museum, as well as Ancient Agora, Parliament, first Olympic stadium, Benaki museum, Cycladic museum, National garden. Two streets only away from metro station Monastiraki, with direct line from the airport and the port of Piraeus. 50m from the main shopping street Ermou and Plaka touristic shopping area with taverns and bars. Splendid view of the Acropolis from roof terrace not to be missed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Bookgreece.com, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Plaka Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athens Hotel Plaka
Plaka Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing