We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely fantastic hotel in a great location!”
Review of Plaka Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Plaka Hotel
Ranked #12 of 327 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Absolutely fantastic hotel in a great location!”
Reviewed 11 September 2010

This hotel was fantastic!!! In a great location and although extra, the buffet breakfast was a great start to the day. Being so close to a metro station made getting to / from the aiport / ferry terminal so easy. We were able to walk absolutely everywhere. Also, a mini mart around the corner was so convenient (for all the bottles of water that we needed for the hot weather!). The roof bar was a lovely place to relax at the end of day and it was quite nice meeting other travellers. A great hotel which we'll recommend!

Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank nz_Tara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,240 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,765
    1,220
    189
    50
    16
See reviews for
650
1,581
233
85
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (602)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City, Mexico
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 September 2010

I returned to Plaka Hotel in summer , the terrace was finished, the view is absolutely breathtaking!!! I enjoyed it very much, the attractions are just a step from this Hotel, which is so cozy, friendly and impeccable.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tasha62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BG
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2010

Everything was great - easily finding the hotel, great service, good breakfast, good rooms. A bit disappointment from the bathroom-quite oldie it was.
Unfortunately our room neighbors air conditioning outer body was on our balcony, right next to the door. It was constantly turned on, blowing hot air into the room, vibrating and making noise. If something can be done for this to be fixed will be great. Otherwise - excellent choice for my next trip to Athens :-)

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iv_iv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DORINAPLAKA, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this review, 18 September 2010
Thank you very much for your review.I am glad you enjoyed your stay.It would be helpful if you could send me your room number in order to check the A/C. Welook forward to seeing on your next visit to Athens Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2010

The Plaka is well located near shopping and the tourist train takes you to everything you could want to see. The Plaka area is charming and safe. Rooms are generous. Elevator incredibly small. Roof top terrace well worth an evening drink, the view is amazing. Breakfast was average but adequate.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bronatla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DORINAPLAKA, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this review, 26 August 2010
Thank you for your review on Plaka Hotel. I am glad you enjoyed your stay, the view to the Acropolis and the area around. Best regards from a still warm Athens. Dorina Stathopoulou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2010

Having been to Greece (and Athens) numerous times over some 20+ years, 2010 will be my seventh visit to the Plaka Hotel. Typically we arrive travel weary from the US flight connections and to be enthusiastically greeted by the truly friendly and helpful staff is refreshing indeed.

The clean rooms, fabulous views, Greek hospitality, fresh breakfasts and super-convenient historic district location all contribute to reminding us why we love coming back to Athens and particularly to the Plaka Hotel !

Have an quick nap and a shower, get on your sandals or walking shoes and go out and explore the plaka district, have a gyro and a drink down the the street and look forward to coming back to the roof terrace and bar to enjoy the fabulous view of the Parthenon.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SteveG38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DORINAPLAKA, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2010
It's a great pleasure to know that you enjoyed once again your stay with us!
I would like to thank you for preffering us and hope to see you next year.
My very best regards

Dorina Stathopoulou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 July 2010

My children and I stayed at the Plaka in June 2010. We only had the opportunity to stay one night, unfortunately. The location is fantastic. Right in the Plaka, steps away from shops and restaurants and below the Acropolis. They have a roof top terrace with a bar in the evenings. The restaurant for breakfast was perfect. My baggage was lost by Emirates days before and the hotel did all they could to help me to speak to Emirates to try and locate it. Thank you again to the staff.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Desiree001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2010

The Plaka hotel was a great little hotel, situated right in the middle of everything in Athens Greece. The room was very clean and the staff was very friendly/helpful. The room was a bit small, which was fine since i was traveling alone. The bathroom was very nice/modern and the shower was great.
Had a great view of the Acropolis (especially at night)!
Would definately stay there again if visitng Athens

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank redgrange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DORINAPLAKA, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2010
I thank you for complimenting Plaka hotel and for recommending it!
I hope that you returned home with nice memories from Athens and Greece.
Best reegards
Dorina Stathopoulou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#15 of 327 in Athens
2,202 reviews
Psirri / Gazi
O&B Athens Boutique Hotel
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#16 of 327 in Athens
2,973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
Central Athens Hotel
Central Athens Hotel
#30 of 327 in Athens
1,682 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
The Athens Gate Hotel
The Athens Gate Hotel
#17 of 327 in Athens
3,720 reviews
Plaka
Hermes Hotel
Hermes Hotel
#19 of 327 in Athens
1,506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plaka Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaka Hotel

Property: Plaka Hotel
Address: 7, Kapnikareas street and corner of Mitropoleos | Plaka / Acropolis / Syntagma / Monastiraki, Athens 105 56, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Plaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#10 Family Hotel in Athens
#16 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Plaka Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Most central hotel situated in Plaka district. Strategically located for visiting all main archaeological interests especially the Acropolis and new Acropolis museum, as well as Ancient Agora, Parliament, first Olympic stadium, Benaki museum, Cycladic museum, National garden. Two streets only away from metro station Monastiraki, with direct line from the airport and the port of Piraeus. 50m from the main shopping street Ermou and Plaka touristic shopping area with taverns and bars. Splendid view of the Acropolis from roof terrace not to be missed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Bookgreece.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Hotel.de and Cancelon so you can book your Plaka Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athens Hotel Plaka
Plaka Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing