We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location, location!”
Review of Plaka Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Plaka Hotel
Ranked #13 of 282 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 July 2007

Location is always the most important factor for me, especially when you have to depend on walking or public transportation. The Plaka Hotel is right in the Plaka, where you can shop or eat in wonderful tavernas. It is walking distance to the Acropolis, and a trolley bus ride to the National Archaeological Museum. There is a very nice, large Internet cafe one block away with Internet access for 3 euros an hour.

Our room had a view of the Acropolis, which is illuminated at night. The room was small, as was the bathroom. The room and furniture is old and tired, but it was clean. The toilet flushing mechanism was broken so we had to remove the lid and reach in to flush. They kept promising to fix it "tomorrow", but they never did. (Only a minor inconvenience.)

The air conditioner did not work in either of the two rooms we had, and the heat was stifling.

Front desk service was good, the staff was friendly and helpful, the breakfast buffet was good, and there is a roof top bar with a splendid view, but drinks are expensive.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Island_Hopper2733
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,467)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,502 - 2,508 of 3,467 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2007

I've been travelling for awhile and stayed at numerous hotels all over the world - this is by far the worst place. They did not acknowledge that I had a booking even though I had their reference number! The front desk basically looked at me and shrugged! No explanation was given - even though they had taken out a deposit amount from my credit card. I was forced to walk around Athens in searing summer heat trying to look for another hotel! If this was not enough, a few days later, they debited my credit card again for the two nights that I didn't stay there. I've informed my bank that these are un-authorised transactions and my bank will deal with them. Beware!

  • Stayed: June 2007
    • Value
    • Check-in / front desk
11  Thank LondonAvidtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2007

It is a small hotel very close to everything. For a 3 star hotel it is
very good, simple, but clean. Breakfast included eggs and sausage. The staff were friendly and helpful. They charge for internet.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank springtree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2007

My wife and I stayed in the Plaka Hotel for 4 nights in between 2 Insight Trips of Italy and Greece. It was just before the day of the Europa Cup Final in Athens so the place was crowded. It is a very good 3 to 4 star hotel. Pluses were it's position right in the Plaka, the best part of Athens such that casual inexpensive meals were close by and it was a short walk to all the attractions or transport of all kinds. We felt safe and secure with helpful and courteous English speaking staff. A plus was the individual air conditioning unit and the availability of complimentary tea/coffee up to 7pm. Breakfasts were good quality with variety and well presented. The bathroom was small but adequate and good showers. In many respects it wasn't much below some 5 star hotels we stayed in during our tour of Greece. Well recommended for mature couples.

Stayed: May 2007
4  Thank Aussie49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2007

We were 1/2 block from the Agora and right in the center of all the shopping, outdoor dining, walking sites, etc. The hotel is clean, simple and centrally located to the metro system. We would stay here again and again. The roof top has tables, and a bar. You can sit at a table in the evening and enjoy the Acropolis lit up at night. The breakfast was very good and the little breakfast area cute with windows looking over the city center. This is a keeper.

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Going4now
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2007

Worth a stay

Pluses

Great Location, short walk to Acropolis
Good food nearby
Internet Cafe within one block
Great rooftop hangout with kick butt views
Good price

Negative

Rooms are small - We had three adults for 3 nights

Tip

Ask for room with view of Acropolis

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Boston2Bronx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2007

If you want clean and convenience, you can't go wrong here. The rooms are very basic but you don't go to Athens to sit in your room anyway! One downside is the showers. If you're a big person or elderly, you'll have problems. Other than the shower, I cannot think of anything negative. Especially for the money. You cannot pick a better location. Try to get a room with a view of the Accropolis. At night, you'll almost feel like you can touch it! Plenty of shopping, bars, and restaurants close by. Breakfast was included and a very nice way to start the day. I would definitely recommend Hotel Plaka!

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MikeandCarmelyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#10 of 282 in Athens
2,473 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
The Athens Gate Hotel
The Athens Gate Hotel
#14 of 282 in Athens
3,964 reviews
Plaka
Hermes Hotel
Hermes Hotel
#15 of 282 in Athens
1,606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Psirri / Gazi
O&B Athens Boutique Hotel
Plaka
Central Athens Hotel
Central Athens Hotel
#31 of 282 in Athens
1,832 reviews
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#12 of 282 in Athens
3,293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plaka Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaka Hotel

Address: 7, Kapnikareas street and corner of Mitropoleos | Plaka / Acropolis / Syntagma / Monastiraki, Athens 105 56, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Plaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Athens
#7 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#11 Business Hotel in Athens
#12 Luxury Hotel in Athens
Price Range: £53 - £163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Plaka Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Most central hotel situated in Plaka district. Strategically located for visiting all main archaeological interests especially the Acropolis and new Acropolis museum, as well as Ancient Agora, Parliament, first Olympic stadium, Benaki museum, Cycladic museum, National garden. Two streets only away from metro station Monastiraki, with direct line from the airport and the port of Piraeus. 50m from the main shopping street Ermou and Plaka touristic shopping area with taverns and bars. Splendid view of the Acropolis from roof terrace not to be missed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Agoda, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Plaka Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athens Hotel Plaka
Plaka Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing