We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel in the middle of the Tourist Area”
Review of Plaka Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Plaka Hotel
Ranked #12 of 326 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
140 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Good Hotel in the middle of the Tourist Area”
Reviewed 6 October 2010

We stayed here for three nights in September. The hotel has recently been refurbished. The rooms are clean and fresh as are the bathrooms. The breakfast room is modern and inviting. The range of breakfast items available is one of the largest we have ever seen. The manageress on our first morning went around to each guest checking as how things are going and offering advice as to where and how to go. We have never struck this service before. There is a great rooftop terrace which has a bar open at night. Spectacular views of the Acropolis.Wi fi is not free but available at a very modest cost.
Keep in mind the Plaka area is THE Tourist area of Athens. The streets are packed and traffic in a gridlock. Having said this you are here to see and all sights are within walking distance. Hard to see how you could go wrong

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AusTravellers7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DORINAPLAKA, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this review, 7 October 2010
Dear Guest,
It is with great pleasure and satisfaction that we read your comments following your recent stay in Plaka hotel. Thank you for sharing your experience with us, which will be helpful as well to future clients.
We certainly hope you will be able to stay with us once more on a future visit to Athens.
Best regards
Dorina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,237 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,763
    1,220
    188
    50
    16
See reviews for
650
1,578
233
85
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (602)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2010

Very centrally located, the hotel, recently renovated, has very nice and spacious rooms with a stunning view on the Acropolis.
The top-floor Terrasse is absolutely stunning with a wonderful view on the Acropolis. The kind of place where one would want time to stop.
The generously served breakfast buffet is served in a nice room with lots of windows and space.
The staff is very helpful.
Walking out of the hotel you're in the centre of Plaka with all its cultural and shopping attractions.
Will certainly go back. Can highly recommend it for single, family, but also business trips.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leon158
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DORINAPLAKA, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this review, 6 October 2010
Dear guest,
I thank you very much for your review and your high score!
I really hope to see you again on your next trip to Athens.

Best regards

Dorina Stathopoulou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, Minnesota
1 review
Reviewed 4 October 2010

Plaka Hotel is located in the Plaka section of Athens. The best feature of this hotel is that is within easy walking distance of the major archaeological attractions and many eating establishments. The staff is friendly and courteous. Rooms are small but comfortable. Breakfast is included and is excellent. The rooftop garden/bar is a great place to view the Acropolis at night before or after going out to dinner.

Unless you are familiar with Athens and the Plaka in particular, I would not recommend taking the metro from the airport to the hotel. Emerging from the metro into Monastiraki Square and trying to find the hotel on the myriad of streets leading away from the square would be daunting for the first time visitor.

Also, getting a room with an Acropolis view is unlikely. I estimate that less than a quarter of the rooms have a view of the Acropolis.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dnlikes2walk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
85 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2010

We chose this hotel for its location close to Monastiraki Station, which was an easy 5 minute walk away. We asked for a room with an Acropolis view and when we drew back the curtains on arrival - wow, what a great view we had. The room was very comfortable, had a great shower room and was spotlessly clean. There was an easily operated good-sized safe in the room. The rooftop bar (open in the evening, but accessible all day for relaxing) was a bonus and a great spot from which to see the Acropolis and whole Athens skyline by day and night. There was a wide choice at breakfast - continental with scrambled eggs and sausages as hot items.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UkYorkshirelass99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DORINAPLAKA, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this review, 6 October 2010
Dear guest,
We read your review and are very happy to know that your stay at the Plaka hotel and the view from your window was an unforgettable experience.
I hope to see you again.

Best regards

Dorina Stathopoulou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2010

Don't let the outside of this hotel put you off. Conveniently located on metropolis in plaka, this place is 5 minutes walk to everything....Plaka shops and restaurants, Monastiraki markets and cosmopolitan lifestyle, Ermou shopping district, Syndagma sq for transportation, changing of the gaurs and the botanical gardens.

They offer a daily breakfast that has the usual continental style breakfast but with scrambled eggs, sausages and beans as well.

At breakfast, the hotel manager walked to every table, introduced herself then asked If everyone was alright with peoples stay or if they need help with information and directions. we had a requirement to change rooms and this was met with smiles and sorted within 15 minutes. The friendly staff at the couture we welcoming and always helped with transportation or eating advice.

The rooms are recently renovated and beds comfortable. The bathrooms are aged but clean and new balcony doors are fitted that are double glazed and get rid of any normal traffic noise.

One night we did have some late party noise but it is Greece and it was a Saturday night and after a long day out, it didn't wake my 6 year old, but was more just plain annoying.

The only thing I would have liked was free wifi. Wifi is an extra 8 euro per day.

All things said and done, I would definitely stay here again and again and would recommend it to my friends.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PMandOli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DORINAPLAKA, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this review, 1 November 2010
Dear Guest,

I am glad that you were satisfied with the service you received from our staff, and the location of the hotel. I am sorry you were disturbed from the party near by, which happens once a year.
I am glad still that your young son could have a good sleep. I hope you will choose us again on a future trip to Athens.

Kind regards
Dorina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elwood, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 October 2010

Plaka Hotel is ideally located in the hub of ancient Athens and accessible to all the main sites, rail stations, cafes, restaurants, shopping district including the famous flea market. The hotel has recently been refurbished so it offers fabulous value for money. The hotel staff were extremely helpful and offered valuable 'local' knowledge on getting around Athens.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Taipan190
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DORINAPLAKA, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this review, 8 October 2010
Dear Guest,

We're delighted to read your comments and thank you for sharing your exceptional experience on Trip Advisor. Comments such as these are a tremendous motivation for us all to continue offering the standards of service to our guests. Thank you.

Best regards
Dorina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 2 October 2010

This is a small hotel in a central location.
Our room was very clean and up to date with a large comfortable bed, air conditioning, excellent bathroom with a good hot shower. We asked for, on booking, and were given a room with a view of the Parthenon/ Acropolis.
The service in the hotel was excellent, the management made a point in welcoming all guests and provided any information we wanted........including a daily update of any strikes on public transport (very useful!).
The breakfast room was well run with plenty of variety and good hot coffee.
A roof top bar where one could have a drink whilst watching the sunset over the Parthenon was a bonus.
When we return to Athnes we will stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PETERYVONNE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DORINAPLAKA, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this review, 8 October 2010
Dear Guest,
It is with great pleasure and satisfaction that we read your comments following your recent stay in our hotel. Thank you for sharing your experience with us, which will be helpful to future clients.
We certainly hope you will be able to stay with us once more on future visits to Athens.
Best regards
Dorina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#15 of 326 in Athens
2,199 reviews
Psirri / Gazi
O&B Athens Boutique Hotel
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#14 of 326 in Athens
2,972 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
Central Athens Hotel
Central Athens Hotel
#30 of 326 in Athens
1,678 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
The Athens Gate Hotel
The Athens Gate Hotel
#16 of 326 in Athens
3,715 reviews
Plaka
Hermes Hotel
Hermes Hotel
#19 of 326 in Athens
1,504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plaka Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaka Hotel

Property: Plaka Hotel
Address: 7, Kapnikareas street and corner of Mitropoleos | Plaka / Acropolis / Syntagma / Monastiraki, Athens 105 56, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Plaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#10 Family Hotel in Athens
#16 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Plaka Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Most central hotel situated in Plaka district. Strategically located for visiting all main archaeological interests especially the Acropolis and new Acropolis museum, as well as Ancient Agora, Parliament, first Olympic stadium, Benaki museum, Cycladic museum, National garden. Two streets only away from metro station Monastiraki, with direct line from the airport and the port of Piraeus. 50m from the main shopping street Ermou and Plaka touristic shopping area with taverns and bars. Splendid view of the Acropolis from roof terrace not to be missed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Bookgreece.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Plaka Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athens Hotel Plaka
Plaka Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing