We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Plaka Hotel
Ranked #12 of 282 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 October 2010

Every time we come through Athens we try to stay a night or two in the Hotel Plaka. Our first stay dates back many years, probably close to 20 and we have seen the evolution of the hotel to a very cosy, friendly, clean, affordable and most of all perfectly located place.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank htraitler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DORINAPLAKA, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2010

Dear Guest;

We are very happy to know that your stay at the Plaka hotel was once again an unforgettable experience. We thank you for your time to write a review. Hope to see you again.

Best regards.
Dorina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,439)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,341 - 2,347 of 3,439 reviews

Reviewed 8 October 2010

I recently stayed two nights at the Plaka hotel and cannot speak highly enough about my stay. The room was very comfortable, breakfast was great, staff were excellent in every way possible -- there was nothing that one would ask that they did not go out of their way to help. The hotel is located in an ideal stop to enjoy the offerings of Athens. Getting to the hotel from the airport is easy, just take the metro and you have a couple of blocks to walk once to disembark. My next visit to Athens we definitely see me staying at the Plaka!!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank canada236
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DORINAPLAKA, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2010

Dear Guest,

It is with great pleasure and satisfaction that we read your comments following your recent stay in Plaka hotel. Thank you for sharing your experience with us, which will be helpful to future clients.
We certainly hope you will be able to stay with us once more, on your future visit to Athens.

Best regards
Dorina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2010

Great little hotel right on spot for sightseeing, shopping, eating/drinking, wondering around Athens. Friendly staff, small hotel with a wonderful roof terrace and some rooms have a direct view to Akropolis. Good breakfast - everything worked!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SoloFinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DORINAPLAKA, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2010

Dear guest,
I am so pleased you had a positive experience in our hotel. Thank you for your review and your high score. I wish you a warm winter and hope to see you again on a future trip to Athens.

Best regards
Dorina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2010

We only had a 24 hr stay here and the room 601 was on the small side, but fine. The breakfast was a good hot/cold style buffet in a great bright, welcoming room. The roof top terrace was excellent for relaxing, with amazing views. The location in the middle of it all (shopping malls, cafes & restaurants) was fantastic. Walking distance to everything. Informative staff. We don't like to sleep with the air conditioning on so being on the west elevation of the hotel made our room stuffy at night. If in Athens again I would still stay here, but ask for a room with a different aspect. No noise in room, but I sleep with earplugs when away from home. Husband slept fine without earplugs.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vagabondsydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DORINAPLAKA, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2010

Dear Guest,

I am glad that you were satisfied with the service you received from our staff, and the location of the hotel. We hope on a future trip to Athesn we will be able to offer you an even better room. Please do not hesitate to contact us in advance for special reservation details.

Kind regards
Dorina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2010

The Plaka Hotel, Athens, is very well located. Close to Quality shops,resteraunts and historical sites.Our room was very quiet and clean. The beds and pollows were comfortable and the air conditioning worked well. The rooftop bar and patio was a great place to relax and view the sunset and the Acropolis.The breakfast was nice, with a good variety of hot and cold food. The managment and staff were very friendly and helpfull. We also took advantage of the hotels laundry service, which was very good value.
Overall I think the Plaka Hotel was very good value for the price we paid and have no complaints at all.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vicmarineservices
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DORINAPLAKA, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2010

Dear family,
I thank you for your positive review and your high score. I am so pleased that you had such a confortable stay in our hotel and hope to see you again some time in the future.

Best regards
Dorina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2010

The Hotel Plaka is located, not surprisingly, in the Plaka, which is the mostly pedestrian area north and west of the Acropolis. The attractions near the Acropolis are within reasonable walking distance for an active tourist. The hotel is 7 stories tall, with roof garden/bar which provides a wonderful view of the Acropolis. The roof is not open before 8:00 am, but if you ask the desk clerk you might be able to get up there early if you want to take some sunrise photos. After a tiring day of being a tourist, it was great to lounge on the roof, watch the sun set, and see the lights come on around the Acropolis.

The hotel has recently been remodeled. The rooms small but clean and comfortable. The showers are great. The air conditioning is efficient and quiet. Each room has a safe. The staff is friendly and helpful. If you make an early reservation you can request a room with a view of the Acropolis.

The breakfast buffet is free and consists of fruit, cheeses, cereals, breads, coldcuts, scrambled eggs, and a couple other hot items. Not wonderful, but perfectly acceptable.

The only negative I have to report is that the wi-fi is not free. It costs 1 euro for 15 minutes, with lower rates for longer periods.

This is a good hotel for active tourists who want a decent home base from which to launch their explorations of Athens. If you just want to lounge around the hotel all day, you should look for one with more amenities.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drefson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DORINAPLAKA, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2010

Dear Guest;

We are very happy to know that your stay at the Plaka hotel was very nice experience. In our attempt to improve we surely value all the feedback we can get from our guests. Hope to see you again. Best regards.
Dorina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2010

We stayed here for three nights in September. The hotel has recently been refurbished. The rooms are clean and fresh as are the bathrooms. The breakfast room is modern and inviting. The range of breakfast items available is one of the largest we have ever seen. The manageress on our first morning went around to each guest checking as how things are going and offering advice as to where and how to go. We have never struck this service before. There is a great rooftop terrace which has a bar open at night. Spectacular views of the Acropolis.Wi fi is not free but available at a very modest cost.
Keep in mind the Plaka area is THE Tourist area of Athens. The streets are packed and traffic in a gridlock. Having said this you are here to see and all sights are within walking distance. Hard to see how you could go wrong

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AusTravellers7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DORINAPLAKA, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2010

Dear Guest,
It is with great pleasure and satisfaction that we read your comments following your recent stay in Plaka hotel. Thank you for sharing your experience with us, which will be helpful as well to future clients.
We certainly hope you will be able to stay with us once more on a future visit to Athens.
Best regards
Dorina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Thissio / Makriyanni
The Athens Gate Hotel
The Athens Gate Hotel
#14 of 282 in Athens
3,941 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#10 of 282 in Athens
2,436 reviews
Plaka
Hermes Hotel
Hermes Hotel
#15 of 282 in Athens
1,593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
Central Athens Hotel
Central Athens Hotel
#30 of 282 in Athens
1,825 reviews
Psirri / Gazi
O&B Athens Boutique Hotel
Omonia
Pallas Athena Grecotel Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plaka Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaka Hotel

Address: 7, Kapnikareas street and corner of Mitropoleos | Plaka / Acropolis / Syntagma / Monastiraki, Athens 105 56, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Plaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Athens
#7 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#11 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range: £48 - £154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Plaka Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Most central hotel situated in Plaka district. Strategically located for visiting all main archaeological interests especially the Acropolis and new Acropolis museum, as well as Ancient Agora, Parliament, first Olympic stadium, Benaki museum, Cycladic museum, National garden. Two streets only away from metro station Monastiraki, with direct line from the airport and the port of Piraeus. 50m from the main shopping street Ermou and Plaka touristic shopping area with taverns and bars. Splendid view of the Acropolis from roof terrace not to be missed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Plaka Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athens Hotel Plaka
Plaka Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing