We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful view, central location -totally functional hotel”
Review of Plaka Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Plaka Hotel
Ranked #12 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
78 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Wonderful view, central location -totally functional hotel”
Reviewed 21 November 2010

Stayed with friends last week for 3 nights, it was a good hotel- main thumbs up points for the breathtaking view of the Acropolis from the roof-top and the excellent location- very close to the Monastiraki metro station and walking distance from Syntagma Square and the Parliament building. Lots of nice cafes around giving us ample time to check out the life here. Only downer was the tiny lift- and only 1- fitting just 3 of us at the max and we had to take 2 trips to get everyone up to the 6th floor with all our luggages. The breakfast was good and filling ( what is with the Feta cheese there, it was YUMMY!). Rooms were comfortable although small. Washrooms were clean and good too.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thanzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,180 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,734
    1,199
    182
    49
    16
See reviews for
636
1,551
226
85
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (592)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Gainesville, FL
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2010

We stayed at the Plaka Hotel for three nights and enjoyed it tremendously. We'd chosen this hotel because it has a terrace bar with views of the Acropolis, and even in drizzly weather, our time on the terrace was lovely. The bartender knows lots of Greek history, by the way. The room wasn't huge but perfectly comfortable, and everybody on the staff was helpful and patient. The Plaka Hotel's location is perfect for the Acropolis, other ruins on nearby streets, shops, not far from Parliament building, etc.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grantip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami Beach
Level Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2010

The Hotel is very central and one can walk in Athens, pretty much anywhere. The room had a wonderful view and the staff was very friendly and smiled. Breakfast was excellent and the service was really good.

From the Airport, just take the subway and exit on Monastiraki. It is two blocks away.

The bathroom I got was kind of dated, but I think they are going to be renovated. The rooms was already renovated.

I did get a room with an adjacent door to another room and could hear the other TV, but fortunately they were wonderful guests and slept early. I wanted to change to change rooms, but in the end I decided it was OK.

Athens is amazing, and if I go back, I will certainly stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lacuadra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DORINAPLAKA, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this review, 17 November 2010
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your kind comments on our property. As our main goal is to offer to our guests high quality facilities and services, it is great to read that you were satisfied with your stay. I hope to see you in a future trip to Athens.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2010

We recently stayed 1 night at the Hotel Plaka before taking a Mediterranean cruise. The location is superb. It's minutes from Syntagma Square where we arrived from the airport by subway. Be careful of pickpockets. My wife had some credit cards stolen. We picked up a city tour bus a few blocks from the hotel. There is nice shopping in the area along with restaurants,churches and antiquities. The highlight is the view of the Acropolis from the roof top at night...the most awesome sight I've ever seen.
Breakfast is included, but is average. The big negative is the 1 small elevator. 2 people and 2 bags at the most.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jakub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 November 2010

The Plaka was a lovely hotel, very clean, great service, and a spectacular view of the Acropolis. The location in the Plaka was central to touring with great restaurants in the area.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karendalehart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DORINAPLAKA, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this review, 17 November 2010
Dear Guest,
We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your kind comments. As we are constantly trying to provide the best in accommodation and service, we were very happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us. I am glad you had the best breakfast from your trip in our hotel!
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2010

We stayed two separate nights at the Plaka, so experienced two rooms. The front desk staff were reasonably friendly, and breakfast was one of the best we had the whole trip (Greece, Italy and France). The views from the rooftop bar were absolutely amazing, and location of this venue were incredible. A very short walk away was one of the best 'hidden gem' restaurants in Athens also - Old Ithaka.

The rooms were clean, and could easily be observed as small, however as our trip progressed, the rooms at the Plaka, in comparison, were a decent size. Minimal noise also.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nikkileee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 November 2010

This is a very good hotel in Anthens hot area. The rate is also good. In some rooms, you can directly see the Acropolis's good view.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank funster-N96380
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DORINAPLAKA, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this review, 8 November 2010
Dear Guest,

We're delighted to read your comments and thank you for sharing your exceptional experience on Trip Advisor. Comments such as these are a tremendous motivation for us all to continue offering the standards of service to our guests. Thank you.

Best regards
Dorina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Psirri / Gazi
O&B Athens Boutique Hotel
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#14 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,916 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#16 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
Central Athens Hotel
Central Athens Hotel
#31 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,655 reviews
Plaka
AVA Hotel Athens
AVA Hotel Athens
#3 of 325 in Athens
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,634 reviews
Syntagma
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plaka Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaka Hotel

Property: Plaka Hotel
Address: 7, Kapnikareas street and corner of Mitropoleos | Plaka / Acropolis / Syntagma / Monastiraki, Athens 105 56, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Plaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Athens
#10 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#16 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Plaka Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Most central hotel situated in Plaka district. Strategically located for visiting all main archaeological interests especially the Acropolis and new Acropolis museum, as well as Ancient Agora, Parliament, first Olympic stadium, Benaki museum, Cycladic museum, National garden. Two streets only away from metro station Monastiraki, with direct line from the airport and the port of Piraeus. 50m from the main shopping street Ermou and Plaka touristic shopping area with taverns and bars. Splendid view of the Acropolis from roof terrace not to be missed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Bookgreece.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Plaka Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athens Hotel Plaka
Plaka Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing