We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hospitality in the heart of the ancient city”
Review of Plaka Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Plaka Hotel
Ranked #13 of 326 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Peak District, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“Great hospitality in the heart of the ancient city”
Reviewed 29 November 2010

It's around 10 years since I stayed a this hotel, and even though the price has gone up considerably since then, it's still good value...clean, functional and in an unbeatable location for seeing the main historical sites in the old city. It is also very accessible - just a few minutes' walk straight up Mitropoleos Street from the Monastikiri metro station - while the view of the Parthenon from the rooftop terrace, which is equipped with stylish sofas and chairs plus sun-loungers, is memorable.

I travelled with my two sisters, so booked a triple room, and was promised three single beds. In fact, the third was a sort of put-you-up, some three inches shorter than the others and with a hard side, presumably generally used for children. That said, it was comfortable and did its job well. The other downside of having a triple room was the lack of space - the third bed made access to the wardrobe somewhat tight! We also had a balcony overlooking the warren of little streets in which the hotel is based, and a well-equipped bathroom.

Breakfast was a help-yourself affair offering fruit juice, cereals, cold meats, tomatoes, jams, bread, tinned fruit, toast and cakes, plus baked beans, scrambled eggs, and small frankfurter sausages. The menu was the same each day, and the highlight was always the greek yoghurt with local honey.

What makes the place stand out, however, was the friendliness of the staff, and a genuine commitment to helping guests make the most of their time in Athens. One of the team greeted us at breakfast on the first day to find out if we needed any help with our plans for the day or stay. We thought she must be selling tours, but far from it - she made no attempt to sell us anything, but took great care to recommend routes tailored to our needs, giving us some great tips along the way. Likewise, the manager came round to ask if we had everything we needed, stressing that if anything wasn't to our liking, we should let them know so they could do something about it.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tourmalina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DORINAPLAKA, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this review, 3 December 2010
Dear Guest,

Thanks for staying with us and for your review. I am glad that you were satisfied with the quality and quantity of our breakfast , the service you received from our staff and the excellent location. Guest comments are really important to us and help us to improve our services.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,298 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,795
    1,242
    194
    51
    16
See reviews for
666
1,610
237
85
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (605)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Saint-Petersberg
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2010

View is the main advantage of this hotel. Several rooms have incredible view to the Acropolis hill. But if you get room without it (as me), do not worry! You may see the most beautiful view from the rooftop bar. I spent here a lot of time admiring parthenon.
The view is the main but not only plus of the hotel. The Overal quality is good for 3-star. Rooms are clean and enough big. Bathroom is good, but has very strange peculiarity: you can hear everything from others rooms bathroom (from higher or lower floor i suppose). I think other people can hear me too :)
The breakfast is rather good and contains some hot food and greek specialities.
The hotel is located right in center of the most charming Athens quarter - Plaka. There are a plenty restaurants, shops and tourists :)
You will not be disappointed if you stay here.

P.S. The bartender women in a rooftop bar makes very good coctails :)

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank primeus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DORINAPLAKA, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this review, 3 December 2010
Dear Guest,

It is with great pleasure and satisfaction that we read that you enjoyed your drinks at the roof top with an excellent view, our breakfast buffet, as well as the charming Plaka location of the hotel.Thank you for sharing your experience with us, which will be helpful to future clients.
We certainly hope you will be able to stay with us once more on future visits to Athens.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indialantic, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2010

We stayed three nights, starting October 31st, which gave us the winter rates for our second two nights. The location is excellent for visiting the major sites. Siting at the rooftop bar watching the illuminated Parthenon was unforgettable. The room was larger than I expected and quite comfortable. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Each morning at breakfast, the owner, Dorina, stopped by our table to see how our stay was going and to help us plan our days activities. If we go back to Athens, we will definitely stay here.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnandLinda042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DORINAPLAKA, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this review, 3 December 2010
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your kind comments on our property. As our main goal is to offer to our guests high quality facilities and services, it is great to read that you were satisfied with your stay. Thank you once more.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Logan, Utah
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2010

Great location in Plaka, great view, friendly and knowledgeable staff, fantastic view from the roof top deck and also our bedroom (4 floor). The hotel and the rooms are very clean. Good breakfast, but no fresh orange juice…….Internet access, but not free. Nice room size, Great hotel!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emphyx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2010

Had a very nice stay here. Nice rooms, really nice breakfast. The roof garden is incredible. I would recommend this hotel.

Was impressed that a representative from the hotel speaks to everyone about their stay each morning. However, myself and my friends were quoted a price when we arrived. This had been signed for, as we were asked to fill out a detailed form. When we went to pay at the end the price had been crossed out and a higher cost written in! Now, it may well have been a genuine mistake, but asking people to fill in a detailed form with passport number etc is an inconvenience, so it's a poor excuse to say the price was a mistake! If they had realised there was a mistake with our price, why did they not discuss it when they came to speak to everyone at breakfast? It's a coincidence it was left until check out, when we were having to rush to the airport.

Double check with the management before signing for your room that the price is correct, and maybe ask for a copy of this.

So, it's great having someone ask you if things are going ok - but it's not much use if when there's an issue no one wants to listen! As such I've taken a mark off my score, and given it an average rating.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GL36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DORINAPLAKA, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this review, 25 November 2010
Dear sir,

Thank you for choosing our hotel and for recommending it to your friends. Please accept my apologies for the incident. For certain, it is not of our policy to correct a rate. You will not find any similar comment from any other client. As your opinion counts to us, I would appreciate very much if you could send me further details by e mail about the dates of your stay.
I thank you in advance for your co operation and look forward to hearing from you soon.
Best regards


I understand that you have not been satisfied with our staff during your stay in our hotel.
I would appreciate very much if you could send further details with person and facts.
Your opinion counts to us a lot.

I thank you in advance for your time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 November 2010

Having been travelling for 50 years, this is one of the best hotels I have ever stayed at.

The manager, Dorina, visited the restaurant every breakfast time, introduced herself and enquired about your individual situation and also gave advice on ways to enhance your visit to Athens. An extremely good touch.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Johnkisby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DORINAPLAKA, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this review, 24 November 2010
Dear Guest,
We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your kind comments. It was really nice to see you in morning at breakfast time. As we are constantly trying to provide the best in accommodation and service, we were very happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Hope to see you again on future trip to Athens.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wroclaw, Poland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2010

In June this year due to airline promotion, we decided to spend a few days in Athens in August 2010.
After having booked tickets, we started searching for a hotel. At first, we booked a room in quite expensive hotel, but with a view to Akropolis. However, it seemed for us too expensive and we started looking for another option. On tripadvisor page we found a hotel called Plaka. Unfortunately, on bookig.com which we mostly use it was not available on dates we were interested in. By accident, again through tripadvisor.com, I checked other reservation services and the hotel was available on otel.com. So, I booked it and got the room. Thank you tripadvisor and otel for this. We arrived in Athens in the middle of the night. We were going to take a taxi, but a bus line X95 was standing in front of the airport, ready to go to Syntagma square, so we didn't hesitate and jump on it. From Syntagma it took around 10-15 minutes on feet.
We checked it and got the nice room for three persons on 1st floor. In addition, the receptionist invited us to the hotel restaurant for a soft drink, coffee or cake. It was very nice.
Location of the hotel is perfect. It quite close to Syntagma or Monastriki squares where metro stations are situated. It is also close to Akropolis and first of all it is located in Plaka - old town in Athens.
Air condition which was very important in August, worked very efficient. Breakfasts were simple but sufficient, so there is a choice of hot (sausages and scrambled eggs) and cold food like fruits, cheese, cakes, salami and tasty bread. In addition there was a Greek food corner with yogurt, honey and olives.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GosiaDL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DORINAPLAKA, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this review, 24 November 2010
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing our hotel during your recent visit to Athens. Guest satisfaction is our primary concern and we are pleased to know that we managed to offer you an enjoyable and memorable stay. I am also pleased to know that the receptionist offered you a nice welcome from your long trip.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Thissio / Makriyanni
The Athens Gate Hotel
The Athens Gate Hotel
#17 of 326 in Athens
3,795 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#16 of 326 in Athens
2,268 reviews
Plaka
Central Athens Hotel
Central Athens Hotel
#30 of 326 in Athens
1,730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#15 of 326 in Athens
3,076 reviews
Plaka
Hermes Hotel
Hermes Hotel
#19 of 326 in Athens
1,540 reviews
Omonia
Pallas Athena Grecotel Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plaka Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaka Hotel

Property: Plaka Hotel
Address: 7, Kapnikareas street and corner of Mitropoleos | Plaka / Acropolis / Syntagma / Monastiraki, Athens 105 56, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Plaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Athens
#10 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#16 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Plaka Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Most central hotel situated in Plaka district. Strategically located for visiting all main archaeological interests especially the Acropolis and new Acropolis museum, as well as Ancient Agora, Parliament, first Olympic stadium, Benaki museum, Cycladic museum, National garden. Two streets only away from metro station Monastiraki, with direct line from the airport and the port of Piraeus. 50m from the main shopping street Ermou and Plaka touristic shopping area with taverns and bars. Splendid view of the Acropolis from roof terrace not to be missed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Bookgreece.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Plaka Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athens Hotel Plaka
Plaka Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing