We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Should be on the bucket list”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Acropolis

Acropolis
Book In Advance
More Info
US$35.53*
and up
Athens Riverside: A Journey in Mythical Athens
Ranked #2 of 345 things to do in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: The most famous site in all of Athens, this large hill lies in the center of the city and contains a cluster of ancient ruins.
Blenheim, New Zealand
Level Contributor
187 reviews
66 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Should be on the bucket list”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

We did this the night before doing the Free walking tour which worked out great because we were then able to link all the information provided by our excellent guide Walter to what we had seen. Definitely worth a visit.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

20,508 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14,967
    4,253
    984
    210
    94
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Kaiserslautern, Germany
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great view at the top!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

My son is a Greek Mythology buff, what a treat for him! Unfortunately it was 96 degrees that day so he was the only one that enjoyed the Acropolis to the fullest.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Annie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Exquisite Attraction for Everybody to Enjoy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

It has been a great experience for us to schedule a visit to the Acropolis. Even though I live in Athens, I had never had teh chance to explore the area and wander through teh sacred rocks, overlooking Athens from the highest spot. Everything was magnificent, it is certainly worth visiting!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank stellajimmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California Hot Springs, California
Level Contributor
161 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“One of the Wonders”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

Absolutely go, and do NOT go with a group. Get up in the morning, enter around 8 to miss the sun and the bus tours. Try to just sit a bit at many spots, think about a past that formed the western world. Keep the phone in your pocket - if you think you can share this via social media, think again. Use your eyes, not your thumbs.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank mafac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Very hot and crowded”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

Boy, it can get very hot and crowded. Wear good shoes (as it is quite a climb up the top) and carry enough water. It was amazing to see the sight that you have seen so often in the history books. However, I think something more should be done to make the visit more interesting - there are hardly any information stands where you could get more info on the sights. Unless you visit the acropolis museum (which is a separately managed sight) or you are part of a guided tour, so don't get the full understanding of the elegance and history of this landmark

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nikhil R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Acropolis also viewed

 

Been to Acropolis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing