We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Ranked #4 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Newburgh, Indiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Kind of sad”
Reviewed 3 October 2011

The hotel could not handle reservations that were placed (and paid for) 11 months in advance. We had to wait all day to get into a room. This was an anniversay present from my husband and he is keen on getting the 'best' for me as a gift. I felt sorry for my husband when I became disgusted due to traveling and exhaustion...and actually, I felt sorry also for the staff that had to pretend this place was 'the best' (except for the obnoxious ones).

Overall, it was an expensive joke. Very sad with their 5 star demeanor and lack of providing 3 star care. Next time we will find a Ritz Carlton...have never experienced a bad one. Meantime, give lots of those employees at Hotel Grande Bretagne a thumbs up....but the management needs to get a grip, particularly since tourism is the major industry in Athens. I do not recommend this place.

Room Tip: for gosh sakes, ask for a room with a view. apparently, we did and got the indoor square of other r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Htl_Grande_Bretagne, Manager at Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, 10 October 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments after your recent stay at the Hotel Grande Bretagne. We were sorry to read that you were not satisfied with your visit at our hotel and would like to sincerely apologize for the inconvenience caused. We have already discussed all points raised with the department heads in order for remedial action to be taken where needed. Your feedback helps us become better and for this we would like to thank you. We hope to be given the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel and prove to you that we have very high standards of hospitality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,175 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,435
    526
    129
    52
    33
See reviews for
581
1,563
138
396
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (743)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
NY
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2011

We are about to leave GB after a 4 night stay prior to boarding a cruise through the Greek Islands. From arrival, this has been an excellent experience. We asked for an upgrade and were given a large, beautifully decorated room overlooking Parliament. It is in excellent condition, very well furnished and immaculate. Maid service is often and well trained. Room service was prompt and delicious. We ate twice in the roof garden and breakfast is served there daily. Even if the food were not as good as it is, the view of the Acropolis takes your breath away!
Athens is troubled still but worth a visit and safe. We never felt threatened and knew GB would take care of us.
Highly recommend.

Room Tip: Book through Amex Platinum and you will get the best available
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Indian2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Htl_Grande_Bretagne, Manager at Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, 3 October 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your comments after your recent stay at the Hotel Grande Bretagne. It’s lovely to hear such enthusiastic and positive feedback from our guests and most importantly it motivates our staff to aim even higher and exceed your expectations. Looking forward to welcome you back in the near future to Athens and our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
350 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2011

Stayed here for 4 nights in September 2011, after 3 wks in Turkey. The hotel is very lavishly decorated, as are the rooms, she is a grande lady for sure. We were upgraded from a junior suite to a deluxe, which was a welcome surprise - coming with butler service (which we didn't really optimize, as we weren't really sure what to ask of him!)

The hotel is well located, right in front of Syntagma Square, and next to the parliament buildings (where we watched several protests), immediately next to the metro station and convenient to walk to most sites (Acropolis, Plaka, etc)

The restaurant on the 8th floor has a panoramic view of the city, the food was excellent and the wines extremely well priced.

We would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: choose a courtyard room, the noise from the street can be loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ecowoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2011

We spent the last 2 evening's of our stay in Greece at the G.B. I was in contact with the hotel prior to our stay,I am a SPG gold member,we were upgraded to a suite,with a balcony,facing the Acropolis,and parliament,and it was a surprise stay for my wife,celebrating her 5oth birthday.The hotel,and it's staff could not do enough to make our stay memorable,and they did not let,the strike's,taxi,metro,get in the way of a memorable stay.From Christos,G.B.roof bartender,Stelios,house driver,Concierge George,just to mention a few,the professionalism and attention to customer satisfaction shown to us was outstanding.The location of the G.B. was perfect for wining,dining,and we were in history,and it was all around us.We had dinner res.,but there was a taxi strike,problem,not.The house car was called we were driven to,and picked up from the restaurant after our meal.No charge.That's service,it's the detail's that make a great hotel,that's The Grande Bretagne.Thank's to Maria and all her staff for making Louise's birthday,one to remember.Gia Sas

Room Tip: Our suite had a balcony was facing the parliament building's,The Acropolis,3rd floor even numbe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mamasboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2011

Definitely did not live up to reputation.Firstly when we emailed concierge for details of cost of car from airport and found out it was going to be 140 Euro compared to taxi of 35 euro we said we would catch taxi instead the next day.We weren't told there was taxi strike.Airport was chaos and we had to get bus with 4 weeks of luggage.Then turned up at hotel with no-one to help us.
We unloaded and went to Acropolis and came back at 4:30 for a swim and a drink by the pool as it was 90 degrees.There were only 30 chairs for 300 rooms,all occupied all saved.Get some more chairs and don't let people save them all day.
Bar staff were hopeless.It took 15 minutes to get drink order and only after complaining .Whoever was loudest and most demanding got served.Quite a few others complained.The bar person apologised,took my order and then started stacking glasses.
This was our last night and we had booked rooftop restaurant 3 months earlier for my 50th birthday and last day of trip.It was suppose to be one of tables looking at the Acropolis.Firstly the smug manager took us to a table with other people,then gave us crappy table,then told us he had not lost our booking so lucky I could produce the email.He then gave us a table out back with with impaired view as by now all good tables taken.
The waitress was really nice.This was our only bad experience in 4 weeks of travel.If it was one thing fine ,but taken together very ordinary service and planning.Food ,wine and room good.When we told concierge of above ,response was sorry you were disappointed.Others rave about this hotel but we had ordinary experience

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank wenmic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Htl_Grande_Bretagne, Manager at Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, 3 October 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your comments after your recent stay at the Hotel Grande Bretagne. We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy all aspects of your stay with us and wish it would have been different. However, we would like you to take into consideration the fact that this hotel has a 137-year history and it first opened its doors back in 1874. And even though it was completely renovated back in 2003, it will be quite difficult to find another hotel in the center of Athens combining such historic architecture and a swimming pool on its roof top. Nevertheless, this is no excuse for the service you received while at the Pool Bar or the GB Roof Garden and for this please accept our apologies. We assure you that we will attend to the points you highlighted. In regards to the transfer from the airport to the hotel, this would have been arranged by limousine service, since taxis were on strike. It is our Concierge’s standard practice to inform our guests of the service arranged for them and the price details, and of course of any upcoming strikes that might impede on their transportation and plans. We do hope to be given the opportunity to welcome you back in the future and may we also belatedly wish you, Happy Birthday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fort lauderdale
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2011

The Grande Bretagne is one of those hotels from the majestic era of hotels. Common areas are beautiful and well maintained, the spa is very nice with great service (a little on the expensive side), room service was quick, accurate and tasty, the outdoor pool is on the small side with limited seating. The rooms are opulent, but not well maintained. I am a platinum member of the SPG family which entitles me to a suite, but on their first attempt to give me a room they gave me a very small standard room; however, after reaching out to management I was upgraded to a nice suite. One of my biggest pet peeves is having to go to management to ask for something that should already be in their consideration. I detest when a hotel tests the waters to see what they can get away with when dealing with a client that is a loyal customer. Athens doesn't have a whole lot to choose from when it comes to fine hotels, so if I were to return to Athens I would stay at this hotel again; however, I would call ahead to be sure that everything is arrange to my liking.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wpj26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC
Level Contributor
54 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2011

Check in is 5 stars. Butler service with Angelos and Gianni is exceptional. Deluxe suite upgrade. Glasses of champagne in 6th floor VIP reception and 2 complimentary beverage at pool bar while waiting for the room to be ready. 

Right next to Parliament an close walk to museum Zeus and acropolis 

Fruit water and liquer gift from tim GM was nice touch.

Fast internet. 

Across street from Sytanga station so breeze to airport an back on Blue Line- make sure has airplane decal on window or turns into yellow line commuter train a couple of stops from CDG

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spgISLANDtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Syntagma
King George, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#14 of 325 in Athens
2,966 reviews
Plaka
Electra Metropolis Athens
Electra Metropolis Athens
#11 of 325 in Athens
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Syntagma
New Hotel
New Hotel
#10 of 325 in Athens
1,453 reviews
Psirri / Gazi
O&B Athens Boutique Hotel
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#12 of 325 in Athens
3,232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel

Property: Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Address: Vas. Georgiou A' 1 | Constitution Square, Athens 105 63, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Syntagma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 321
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With breathtaking views of the famed Acropolis and Parthenon, regal Constitution Square and the Parliament, lush Lycabettus Hill, or the original Olympic Stadium, the Hotel Grande Bretagne offers unrivaled perspectives of Athens' mythical history. Each of the 320 guest rooms offers enchanting views of the hotel courtyard or a spellbinding panorama of the city's timeless landmarks, while the exquisite interiors pay homage to Greek culture with intricate moldings and classic decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TravelUp, Odigeo, Bookgreece.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing