We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Ranked #5 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
nyc
Level Contributor
83 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“heavenly”
Reviewed 13 October 2011

delightful, elegant, warm, charming - i could go on. everything you want from a 5 star hotel - from the service to the sheets.... this is THE place to stay in Athens. Look no further.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lazydaysNyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Htl_Grande_Bretagne, Manager at Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, 14 October 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for sharing your comments with us after your recent stay at the Hotel Grande Bretagne. We are glad you enjoyed your stay in every aspect. Feedback such as yours motivates us even more, to exceed our guests’ expectations and offer the best service and facilities. Looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,127 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,399
    517
    127
    51
    33
See reviews for
573
1,541
135
392
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (734)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2011

Stayed here one night before a cruise and, after some begging at the front desk, was upgraded to a superb Acropolis view room, albeit a tiny one, with step out balcony--thanks to Marina. The property is in excellent condition--our room was perfectly maintained, clean, and quiet. Unlike many other Grande Dame hotels, this one is not surviving on reputation alone. The rooftop restaurant has a spectacular view, and although I reserved prior to arrival via email and requested a "best view" table, we were put on the side terrace with a good, but not great view of the hill. We arrived a bit late due to flight delays and needed to postpone the reservation by an hour to get cleaned up for dinner, which we informed the front desk upon arrival. We were told we could only be accommodated thirty minutes later, so we rushed to dinner to arrive at the new prescribed time, yet when we arrived, the place was half empty, as it remained during dinner, and was when we left--long past our preferrred dining time--very odd not to accommodate a hotel guest, especially one who has reserved in advance and has run late due to an unforeseeable circumstances.
That said, I've stayed here before and will do so again if in Athens--it's the best location and offers reliable luxury and service. But, a guaranteed uprade would be a nice touch the next time around as a reward for repeat business.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank QueerTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2011

I was surprised to read some negative reviews on the HGB in Athens as my recent experience there (September 17, 2011) was nothing short of fabulous. I cannot wait to go back. Unfortunately, it was only for one evening prior to embarking on a cruise, but I found the rooms, roof-top restaurant and the staff to be outstanding. Everyone -- from the doormen to the front-desk staff, the concierge to the chambermaids -- was helpful, organized and enthusiastic. Even the two lazy "mascot" dogs who live and sleep outside on the sidewalk were charming and friendly ambassadors!
Our room was certainly not large but it was very well appointed and the bathroom was downright palatial! One of the main advantages of this hotel is its location -- within an easy walking distance of most of the primary tourist sites.
If you choose to stay at this hotel, try to make reservations for the rooftop garden restaurant. After dark, the view of the acropolis at night, all lit up, is magical. Sipping wine there on a warm, summer night overlooking the city was truly a life-experience for my husband and I, and one we'll remember for many years to come. As an aside, the food at the rooftop garden was excellent for both breakfast and dinner. The exquisite breakfast buffet was included with the price of our room and it was a joy to watch the sun come up over the hills from that vantage point.
One other comment about the staff -- whilst we waited for the transfer to the cruise ship a fairly large crowd of travellers assembled in the large HGB lobby. To make the wait less tiresome, two staff members brought out a tea cart and served complimentary iced tea and/or ice water to the assembled guests. How's that for helpful service?!

Room Tip: You can save some money if you choose a room that looks out on the inner courtyard. We didn't ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank schwabcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new jersey
Level Contributor
200 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2011

Rooms were great. View was unbelievable! Service was good.
Food overall was outstanding.
# time at theis hotel and i would go back. It is very expensive!!!

Room Tip: pay to the square and Acropolis view!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cchriscap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Island NY
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 October 2011

We stayed at this hotel one nite precruise. Old world charm, friendly staff. Great food and priceless view. Would definetely return for a longer stay!
Beautiful lobby and pool area. Breakfast was included in our package and it was held on the rooftop restaurant overlooking the Acropolis.
Room was comfy and helped us to overcome our jetlag before embarking on our Greek Isles cruise. Bathroom was large and shower had plenty of hot water. No iron or ironing board in room, but a call to the front desk solved that and they were delivered almost immediately.
Our room overlooked the Parliament Building. We were able to watch the changing of the guard from our balcony. A small demonstration that took place across the street from the Parliament Building in the evening seemed peaceful, but was broken up almost immediately by the police (contrary to what was written in the press around the world).
We would not hesitate to return to this wondferul hotel!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KathieLongIslandNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Htl_Grande_Bretagne, Manager at Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, 12 October 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your comments about your recent stay at the Hotel Grande Bretagne. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed our facilities and services as our staff always aim to exceed our guests’ expectations. And may we take this opportunity to wish you a Happy Anniversary and for many more years of joy to come! Looking forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Athens.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2011

This WOULD be one of the best hotel ever stayed for me if:
-Not overpriced
-service would be nicer

Clean, beautiful rooms, and hall. Liked pretty much everything but overpriced a bit and what is annoying that staff at the desk isnt nice or helpful at all. As if they dont care at all you are spending a way lot of money at a hotel. Everybody should smile and be very friendly, but in fact they just dont care at all...

Other than this hotel was nice really and fancy, also good location.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hun_Nomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Htl_Grande_Bretagne, Manager at Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, 10 October 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments after your recent stay at the Hotel Grande Bretagne. Even though you enjoyed the hotel itself, we were sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with our service. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused. We would like to assure you that we will pass on your comments to the department head in order to take corrective actions wherever necessary. We hope to be given the opportunity to welcome you back on your next trip to Athens.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nyc
Level Contributor
83 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2011

every great thing you have read or heard is true. gorgeous, great service, location, attention to detail and more. the bar on the roof has a great view of the acropolis. i wouldn't stay anywhere else again. five star in every way.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lazydaysNyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Syntagma
King George, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#14 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,916 reviews
Psirri / Gazi
O&B Athens Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#12 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,180 reviews
Plaka
AVA Hotel Athens
AVA Hotel Athens
#3 of 325 in Athens
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,634 reviews
Syntagma
New Hotel
New Hotel
#11 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel

Property: Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Address: Vas. Georgiou A' 1 | Constitution Square, Athens 105 63, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Syntagma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 321
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With breathtaking views of the famed Acropolis and Parthenon, regal Constitution Square and the Parliament, lush Lycabettus Hill, or the original Olympic Stadium, the Hotel Grande Bretagne offers unrivaled perspectives of Athens' mythical history. Each of the 320 guest rooms offers enchanting views of the hotel courtyard or a spellbinding panorama of the city's timeless landmarks, while the exquisite interiors pay homage to Greek culture with intricate moldings and classic decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Bookgreece.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing