We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Calm In The Storm”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Ranked #4 of 281 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 October 2011

We stayed at the Grand Bretagne Hotel for three nights. The hotel is stunning, the staff own up to their 5 Star Rating (not as common in the luxury hotels in Europe), the roof top restaurant serve authentic Greek food with a view of the Acropolis that will wow you.
Our butler (George) took care of all the fine details and special needs of our trip so that we could relax. If you've ever had to drive into or out of Athens to explore you will know exactly what I mean.
Overall, we were very pleased with our stay and will be back.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MichaelSGayle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,414)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,427 - 2,433 of 3,414 reviews

Reviewed 13 October 2011

Situated on historic Syntagma Square and within walking distance to all the major sites. The restaurant at the top was perfect for dinner and drinks our first evening when we were too tired to venture out. THE place to be to view the "peaceful protests" below in the square in the evenings (even though we had to elbow our way through the very large crowds encroaching onto the hotel steps each night). We were glad we'd booked at this well-respected hotel because of its security and the peace of mind we felt being at a "name" place during the protests. We traveled with our teens, who had an adjoining room. We only had a slight view of the square, but given the protests, we were happy to not have the crowd pointing laser pens into our windows! Small business center was helpful for printing boarding passes. Pleasant, but packed pool at top of hotel. Service in general at the hotel was good, but not great. I think this is the best it gets near the big sites.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking square are noisy during protests. Interconnecting rooms available for families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 75205Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2011

delightful, elegant, warm, charming - i could go on. everything you want from a 5 star hotel - from the service to the sheets.... this is THE place to stay in Athens. Look no further.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lazydaysNyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Htl_Grande_Bretagne, Manager at Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for sharing your comments with us after your recent stay at the Hotel Grande Bretagne. We are glad you enjoyed your stay in every aspect. Feedback such as yours motivates us even more, to exceed our guests’ expectations and offer the best service and facilities. Looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2011

Stayed here one night before a cruise and, after some begging at the front desk, was upgraded to a superb Acropolis view room, albeit a tiny one, with step out balcony--thanks to Marina. The property is in excellent condition--our room was perfectly maintained, clean, and quiet. Unlike many other Grande Dame hotels, this one is not surviving on reputation alone. The rooftop restaurant has a spectacular view, and although I reserved prior to arrival via email and requested a "best view" table, we were put on the side terrace with a good, but not great view of the hill. We arrived a bit late due to flight delays and needed to postpone the reservation by an hour to get cleaned up for dinner, which we informed the front desk upon arrival. We were told we could only be accommodated thirty minutes later, so we rushed to dinner to arrive at the new prescribed time, yet when we arrived, the place was half empty, as it remained during dinner, and was when we left--long past our preferrred dining time--very odd not to accommodate a hotel guest, especially one who has reserved in advance and has run late due to an unforeseeable circumstances.
That said, I've stayed here before and will do so again if in Athens--it's the best location and offers reliable luxury and service. But, a guaranteed uprade would be a nice touch the next time around as a reward for repeat business.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank QueerTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2011

I was surprised to read some negative reviews on the HGB in Athens as my recent experience there (September 17, 2011) was nothing short of fabulous. I cannot wait to go back. Unfortunately, it was only for one evening prior to embarking on a cruise, but I found the rooms, roof-top restaurant and the staff to be outstanding. Everyone -- from the doormen to the front-desk staff, the concierge to the chambermaids -- was helpful, organized and enthusiastic. Even the two lazy "mascot" dogs who live and sleep outside on the sidewalk were charming and friendly ambassadors!
Our room was certainly not large but it was very well appointed and the bathroom was downright palatial! One of the main advantages of this hotel is its location -- within an easy walking distance of most of the primary tourist sites.
If you choose to stay at this hotel, try to make reservations for the rooftop garden restaurant. After dark, the view of the acropolis at night, all lit up, is magical. Sipping wine there on a warm, summer night overlooking the city was truly a life-experience for my husband and I, and one we'll remember for many years to come. As an aside, the food at the rooftop garden was excellent for both breakfast and dinner. The exquisite breakfast buffet was included with the price of our room and it was a joy to watch the sun come up over the hills from that vantage point.
One other comment about the staff -- whilst we waited for the transfer to the cruise ship a fairly large crowd of travellers assembled in the large HGB lobby. To make the wait less tiresome, two staff members brought out a tea cart and served complimentary iced tea and/or ice water to the assembled guests. How's that for helpful service?!

Room Tip: You can save some money if you choose a room that looks out on the inner courtyard. We didn't ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank schwabcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2011

Rooms were great. View was unbelievable! Service was good.
Food overall was outstanding.
# time at theis hotel and i would go back. It is very expensive!!!

Room Tip: pay to the square and Acropolis view!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cchriscap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2011

We stayed at this hotel one nite precruise. Old world charm, friendly staff. Great food and priceless view. Would definetely return for a longer stay!
Beautiful lobby and pool area. Breakfast was included in our package and it was held on the rooftop restaurant overlooking the Acropolis.
Room was comfy and helped us to overcome our jetlag before embarking on our Greek Isles cruise. Bathroom was large and shower had plenty of hot water. No iron or ironing board in room, but a call to the front desk solved that and they were delivered almost immediately.
Our room overlooked the Parliament Building. We were able to watch the changing of the guard from our balcony. A small demonstration that took place across the street from the Parliament Building in the evening seemed peaceful, but was broken up almost immediately by the police (contrary to what was written in the press around the world).
We would not hesitate to return to this wondferul hotel!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KathieLongIslandNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Htl_Grande_Bretagne, Manager at Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your comments about your recent stay at the Hotel Grande Bretagne. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed our facilities and services as our staff always aim to exceed our guests’ expectations. And may we take this opportunity to wish you a Happy Anniversary and for many more years of joy to come! Looking forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Athens.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Syntagma
King George, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#11 of 281 in Athens
3,200 reviews
Plaka
Electra Metropolis Athens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Athens
#17 of 281 in Athens
3,750 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
The Athens Gate Hotel
The Athens Gate Hotel
#14 of 281 in Athens
3,886 reviews
Syntagma
New Hotel
New Hotel
#8 of 281 in Athens
1,550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel

Address: Vas. Georgiou A' 1 | Constitution Square, Athens 105 63, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Syntagma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 281 Hotels in Athens
Price Range: £255 - £664 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 321
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With breathtaking views of the famed Acropolis and Parthenon, regal Constitution Square and the Parliament, lush Lycabettus Hill, or the original Olympic Stadium, the Hotel Grande Bretagne offers unrivaled perspectives of Athens' mythical history. Each of the 320 guest rooms offers enchanting views of the hotel courtyard or a spellbinding panorama of the city's timeless landmarks, while the exquisite interiors pay homage to Greek culture with intricate moldings and classic decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing