We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fabulous hotel with character and style”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Ranked #4 of 282 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 February 2012

This is an hotel not to miss if you have a chance of visiting Athens on business or pleasure. The hotel is old and stylish and the service is excellent. Local is top notch. Most of all, the rooftop bar/cocktail lounge has a stunning view over the Acropolis, Parliament square and the rest of Athens reaching out towards the see. Not to be missed for a drink at least if you happen to be in Athens. An hotel I would fully recommend.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mariodibi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,508)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,450 - 2,456 of 3,508 reviews

Reviewed 11 February 2012

It is a pricey hotel, but you are in the center of everything. I love this location because you are close enough to the Acropolis, yes you can easily get on a tram and go to the sea. The views from the bar are outstanding too. Rooms are ok.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank technoelectra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2012

I stayed here twice in 2011 and enjoyed the experience immensely on both occasions. One room was at the front of the hotel on the 7th floor, where there was supposed to be a butler, but I didn't ever meet him (which I didn't mind). The view from the balcony was breathtaking. All of the staff were efficient and courteous. On my second visit I was at the back of the hotel on a lower floor. The room was fairly similar to the previous one but without the view. Breakfast in the top floor restaurant was an unforgettable experience (the food was fine, but the it was the fantastic view that really made it). The staff servicing the meeting rooms were also very attentive. On my second visit, the booking agent had got the wrong dates, but the hotel staff sorted it out and with only a short delay found a room which I could use for my stay. The hotel is not cheap, but an experience worth paying for.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front and enjoy the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hampshire-resident
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2012

I would say it was really great experience to stay again at this hotel. It has been some months that I am coming every two weeks and they are taking such personal care for every guest. As Platinum member I am also receiving the SPG benefits but what matters most is that they are recognizing their guests and make you feel very good.
See you at the end of the month.

Room Tip: Over looking the Acropolis
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fernando R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2012

My family's experience at this grand hotel surpasses what can be described within the English vocabulary. We always felt at home at GB, warmly welcomed in luxury right in the centre of Athens (in an unbeatable location at Constitution Square opposite Parliament House, near Plaka, the Acropolis and Ermou shopping strip). As soon as you are greeted by the concierge on the marble steps protruding from the hotel, there is no doubt in your mind that there is anywhere better to stay in Athens. The fresh smell of lillies, the smiles on all the staff's faces go hand in hand with the fresh and top quality food and beverage on offer at the GB Roof Garden Restaurant to ensure that you get the best of Greek hospitality - and we sure did. My mother fell ill on our final night in Athens, before we were to fly out for a long-haul and gruelling flight back to Australia. She was vomiting and the Hotel immediately arranged for a doctor to visit and check my mother, who gave her an injection, wrote an entire medical report on the spot and whose bill was organised hassle-free by the hotel, which we only had to pay upon check-out.

The rooms are glorious and immediately full of grandeur and old world charm and elegance. The views of Parliament which we had on Christmas Eve, and of the atrium on our second stay of the trip before we left Europe, are superb. Many thanks to the Hotel which complimentarily upgraded us to a Junior Suite upon check-in. Very large with a bed so wide that my parents couldn't even touch each other at different ends!

The breakfast buffet is delicious, with a vast array of American, French and Greek pastries, cheeses, delicatessen and hot food. Coupled with the amazing Acropolis view, breakfast was certainly something we looked forward to evryday! Thanks to Harry and Vicki who looked after us for our second and third time, as they graced us on our first visit during Easter 2010. Every day, we were able to choose from an omelette of our selection, pancakes, french toast - all of which we could order as part of the service, as well as the frothy cappuccinos, frappes and hot chocolates, which added a different and more exciting dimension to breakfast everyday!

The personalised yet not over-the-top and in-your-face service can be exemplified when my mother, on our final day before checking-out, and recovering from her sickness, was specially made chicken soup to settle her stomach, when we were at the Roof Garden for breakfast.

The facilities and amenities of the hotel certainly top it off. They are quite new, very well maintained, very clean, with the pool and 4 saunas and steam rooms (steam rooms varying from herbal, to German and Italian variations) like a sanctuary for guests from the organised chaos of Athens. My mother had her hair blow-dried and styled, all for only 16 or 24 euros, which just shows the great value you get at GB, despite being the playground of the Athenian aristocrats.

Staying at the GB over Christmas and enjoying the Champagne Tea the hotel threw into our "Stay 4, Pay 3" package in the prestigous Alexander's Bar in the lobby truly confirmed for us the high-class, elegant yet inclusive nature of GB. For me, I was fortunate enough after having turned 18 to enjoy my very first drink amongst this ambience of seclusion, aristocracy. Scenese of waiters wearing bow ties, waitresses wearing black Grecian dresses and a piano man in the background exemplify the diversity of this hotel and how it is truly one of Europe's true gems.

Look no further than the Grande Bretagne when staying in Athens, and in Greece. The service is unrivalled, the location is central, the facilities are luxurious and the ambience is truly warm. the value is spot on. We will definitely return to this amazing hotel to live like true Athenian aristocrats once more!

Special thanks to Hotel Managing Director, Tim Ananiadis, for even meeting us, sending a bottle of Champagne to our room to celebrate Christmas and for making our family stay extra special.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade if possible at check-in and for a view of Parliament or of the Acropolis if avail...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jiannis T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Htl_Grande_Bretagne, Manager at Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review after your recent stay at the Hotel Grande Bretagne. We were delighted to read such riveting comments and have made sure to share with all the staff. Reviews such as yours are very inspiring and encourage us to exceed our guests’ expectations each and every time. We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2012

This is a true old world luxury hotel. The rooms are richly appointed with dark wood and all of the modern amenities (updated plumbing, internet, etc.), a wonderful combination of old and new. The concierge service is impeccable and very helpful. Everyone is devoted to making your stay as pleasant as possible, as well as helping you with the rest of your trip to Greece. Most people in the concierge department speak English. If there is anything your concierge doesn’t know, he will take your name, get an answer to your question and contact you later. The restaurant’s food is also wonderful. Be sure to have dinner on the upper level where you have a view of the Parthenon, illuminated at night.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yondan20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2012

1st class all the way. You must have dinner (or at least drinks and snacks) on the rooftop. Staff attentive and helpfull. Rooms, halls and lobby every bit as nice as the pictures.
We paid big$ as a pre-cruise package but on-line prices are very reasonable for luxury.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank afm00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Syntagma
King George, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#12 of 282 in Athens
3,289 reviews
Plaka
AVA Hotel Athens
AVA Hotel Athens
#2 of 282 in Athens
1,749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Athens
#16 of 282 in Athens
3,873 reviews
Syntagma
MET34 Athens Hotel
MET34 Athens Hotel
#1 of 282 in Athens
146 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
The Athens Gate Hotel
The Athens Gate Hotel
#14 of 282 in Athens
3,964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel

Address: Vas. Georgiou A' 1 | Constitution Square, Athens 105 63, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Syntagma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 282 Hotels in Athens
Price Range: £222 - £630 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 321
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With breathtaking views of the famed Acropolis and Parthenon, regal Constitution Square and the Parliament, lush Lycabettus Hill, or the original Olympic Stadium, the Hotel Grande Bretagne offers unrivaled perspectives of Athens' mythical history. Each of the 320 guest rooms offers enchanting views of the hotel courtyard or a spellbinding panorama of the city's timeless landmarks, while the exquisite interiors pay homage to Greek culture with intricate moldings and classic decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing