We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$293
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$287
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$387
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Adrian Hotel(Athens)
US$200
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$327
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$315
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$145
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$116
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$97
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Herodion Hotel(Athens)
US$322
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$283
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$168
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$354
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$277
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Fresh Hotel(Athens)
US$183
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$170
Elvoline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (3,580)
Filter reviews
3,580 results
Traveller rating
2,756
588
142
58
36
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,756
588
142
58
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbutler servicerooftop restaurantwinter gardenbutler floorgb roof gardencigar barsyntagma squareparliament buildingbeautiful hoteldeluxe roomsteam roomindoor poolgreek parliamenttop floormarble bathroomking georgeour honeymoon
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,492 - 2,497 of 3,580 reviews
Reviewed 29 March 2012

The hotel Grand Bretagne is a beautiful historic hotel centrally located at Syntagma Square in Athens. Located across from the Parliament, the square has been the scene of recent protests. I stayed over the weekend of a major protest (11-13 Feb 2012) and have nothing but great things to say about how the hotel handles this situation. Upon arrival via hotel car (arranged in advance) I was brought in through the back entrance to avoid the throngs of people in the front. And when sunset fell and a small number of protesters decided to clash with the police the hotel staff kept operating with a dignified calm. I decided to stay in this self imposed lock-down allowed me time to explore the extensive and luxurious pool/spa area. There is a small pool and whirlpool as well as 4 to 5 other stylized treatment rooms including sauna and an herbal steam among others. It is a very peaceful and wonderful spot to spend an evening. The rooms were well appointed and food service was delicious and well presented. As other reviewers point out the rooftop restaurant cannot be missed. It has an extensive breakfast buffet, and the view is top notch. This hotel is most likely the best in Athens, great location, great service and just a fantastic atmosphere. I look forward to visiting again someday!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dc2005b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2012

I know you're saying "We can't afford it" - but stop right there. You can't afford to miss it. This hotel is by far one of the best places I've stayed, ever. And that includes four and five star hotels in Las Vegas and New York. The staff is impeccable and the epitome of professionalism. The rooms are fantastic - so much so that you probably won't want to leave them. It is pricey but honestly you'll have an experience you'll remember the rest of your life.

Room Tip: If you arrive by metro, look for the "Grande Bretagne" exit, because then you don't have to cross the busy streets in the main square (there's a tunnel beneath the road the comes out right near the hotel's front door).
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jessica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2012

Highly recommend this hotel to anybody travelling to Athens. Its location is a boon to a solo traveller. Just step out and you can explore shops, cafe's and all the while surrounded with some breathtaking ancient sights.

The staff is very friendly and efficient. Requests are promptly attended to. The roof top restaurant with the view of ACropolis is a treat. specially at night with the monument lit the view from this restaurant is truly memorable. The food is good and so is the service. The same cannot be said about the lounge at the lobby level.

The spa was good but definitely not great specially considering the big price tag for the treatments. I found the therapist a bit indifferent.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fivestarholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2012

The Grande Bretagne was fantastic in all respects. The premises are beautiful, the rooms very well appointed, the service outstanding, and the location unbeatable. The view of the Acropolis, parliament and much of the rest of the city from the rooftop restaurant is specatcular. I thoroughly enjoyed the breakfast buffet each morning sitting out on the patio overlooking the acropolis. Walks about the historic district are easy from this location. Even with many protests in Syntagma Square outside the front doors, we never felt unsafe at the hotel. Loved the "house" dogs on the front steps. I highly recommend a stay at the Hotel Grande Bretagne if you can fit it into your travel budget.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the Parliament side of the hotel will have your best view.
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank obxforus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Htl_Grande_Bretagne, Manager at Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2012

Dear Guest,

Receiving your feedback means a lot to us and we would like to thank you for taking the time to post your comments after your recent stay at the Hotel Grande Bretagne. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time with us, especially our GB Roof Garden restaurant and its magical views. Looking forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2012

Real classy hotel. Beautiful clean rooms, very helpful staff, located in the center of the town.GB Winter Garden is really cosy and serves tasteful healthy meals. GB Roof Garden is a nice restaurant serving great food, offering breathtaking view of the Athens and Acropolis.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lidi A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews