We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stylish hotel, walking distance from Acropolis”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Ranked #4 of 282 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 August 2012

We stayed there with a family of four, at a suite for one night, coming back from Club Med in Gregolimano. It is a very nice hotel, with central location, great services and attentive staff (special thanks to the concierge, who provided us with a lot of tips on how to best use one afternoon and morning we had). Stylish, with history, but still comfortable with all usual amenities of a modern hotel.
We could walk with our kids (2 and 6) to Acropolis - it's that close (less than 20 minutes with the smallest one in the stroller).
You definitely need to go to the 8th floor restaurant, for breakfast or dinner and enjoy a great view of Acropolis and don;t forget to get some sun and a bath in outside pool on 7th.

Just a pity the city seems not to attract too many tourists these days... At the beginning of August we saw only few hotel guests and (lucky for us of course) there was even no queue to the Acropolis! We all know why this happens, unfortunately...

Room Tip: Generally the higher floor, the better go for a view on a street, not backyards.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank QbaWarsaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,508)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,326 - 2,332 of 3,508 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2012

Stayed in this hotel for two nights and superb hotel. Room was lovely, clean and excellent view over Parliament. My husband used the well equipped gym twice. We also ate in the hotel twice, and whilst pricey the food was excellent with very attentive service. The second night we ate on the terrace restaurant which has fantastic views of the Acropolis. Would highly recommend this experience and the hotel. To cap it all President Bill Clinton was there for one of our nights though we didn't meet up.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank enyard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2012

The best location and service in Athens even in crisis! Perfect rooms and comfortable bed. I have had superior room - balconies should be bigger. Perfect SPA and service there.
Good restaurant with great and fresh steaks. Hotel is direct in cty centre next to main shopping street in Athens. Connection with airport is aroun 40 minutes and taxis have special rates for hotel guests.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xboard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2012

I stayed at this Hotel overnight prior taking a cruise to the Greek Islands with my wife. It is centrally located, close to the Acropolis, shopping, restaurants. At the rooftop there is a pool and also there is a restaurant with a beautiful view of the Acropolis and the city of Athens. This is a Luxurious Large Hotel. The room was very clean and nicely decorated. I would highly reccomend it.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rayhal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2012

This hotel is such a grand dame. We enjoyed our 2 nights in a deluxe room. Loved the little luxuries - turn down, slippers and treatments as well as the spacious marble bathroom. What really made this memorable was dinner at the rooftop restaurant with one of the most magnificent views one can ever expereinece - the Acropolis. The food was very good as well.
Location is extremely convenient with easy access to shopping strips (mid-range as well as upmarket) and tourist sites. Loved the Acropolis Archaelogical musuem - building design and display inclusions were impressive.
Would definitely stay here when we return to Athens.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MaryFifi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2012

We went to Hotel Grande Bretagne for light lunch and day spa and we absolutely loved it. Great spa facilities and highly experienced therapists. I went with a friend and we both left raving about how good our therapists were. Make sure you plan enough time (at least 45 min to an hour) before your treatment to experience therapeutic steam rooms and showers in the pool area. You have to pay 45 euro extra and it's 100% worth it!

Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
Thank TshegoTee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2012

I had stayed at the Hotel Grande Bretagne in Athens before embarking on a cruise of the Greek Isles. The hotel is magnificent. The rooftop restaurant and bar/lounge has a stunning view of the Acropolis. I highly recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Athens

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Syntagma
King George, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#12 of 282 in Athens
3,289 reviews
Plaka
AVA Hotel Athens
AVA Hotel Athens
#2 of 282 in Athens
1,749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Athens
#16 of 282 in Athens
3,873 reviews
Syntagma
MET34 Athens Hotel
MET34 Athens Hotel
#1 of 282 in Athens
146 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
The Athens Gate Hotel
The Athens Gate Hotel
#14 of 282 in Athens
3,964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel

Address: Vas. Georgiou A' 1 | Constitution Square, Athens 105 63, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Syntagma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 282 Hotels in Athens
Price Range: £222 - £630 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 321
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With breathtaking views of the famed Acropolis and Parthenon, regal Constitution Square and the Parliament, lush Lycabettus Hill, or the original Olympic Stadium, the Hotel Grande Bretagne offers unrivaled perspectives of Athens' mythical history. Each of the 320 guest rooms offers enchanting views of the hotel courtyard or a spellbinding panorama of the city's timeless landmarks, while the exquisite interiors pay homage to Greek culture with intricate moldings and classic decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Expedia, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing