We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent quality and location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Ranked #4 of 282 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 March 2013

Enjoyable experience at the GB. Rooms are small by American standards, but good sized by European standards and very thoughtfully laid out and furnished. Unbeatable location within walking distance to the main historical sites as well as fab shopping and restaurants. Rooftop restaurant great for breakfast and a stellar view. Indoor pool was nice, but temperature could have been warmer. Staff were very friendly. I recommend an interior courtyard room if noise is an issue for you. The road outside the hotel is quite busy with traffic (including taxis and buses) and home to somewhat frequent demonstrations outside of Parliament. The demonstrations were never a concern security wise, just noisy. :-)

Room Tip: Interior courtyard rooms are quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Noelle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,478)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,134 - 2,140 of 3,478 reviews

Reviewed 12 March 2013

The hotel Grande Bretagne is probably the finest hotel in Athens, located right next to the parliament and constitution square (Syntagma). There's a lot of history in (and around) the hotel and the overall feel is one of old world luxury and opulence.

Service was impeccable and our butler knew exactly what we were looking for and made arrangements for a low key late dinner in the Plaka.

We got high tea at the hotel's Winter Garden, which if you've had high tea at places like the Dorchester in London or even the Empress in Victoria you will be disappointed.
But for only €29, it's good enough and the restaurant seemed to be filled with a mix of Greek old money dressed in their finest and curious tourists with cameras dangling from their necks.

Upstairs is the roof garden restaurant, which has undeniably one of the best views of the city extending from the northern suburbs to a majestic view of the acropolis.

Being winter, the outdoor pool was closed and the indoor pool was, for whatever reason, not heated.

If you're an SPG gold member, you might get upgraded to one of the nicer rooms. The rooms, are of course, beautiful and the real reason you want to stay here. The location, is very central, but personally, we preferred the quieter, more charming feel of the Plaka neighborhood.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank umeshunni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2013

Just on Syntagma square, it s the best location in Athens, provided here is no demonstration in front of the Parliament, as in such case you will not be able to enter/leave the hotel and, on bad days, will need to support the tear gas...
However, now when the situation in Athens seems to calm down, Grand Bretagne remains the best property in the city, very classic with great service. During summer time small pool on the roof allows to refresh a bit while the fitness center let you stay in a good shape.
Most of the rooms are large; however the decoration is clearly too heavy/classic and needs a bit of refreshment. Do not miss a nice bar on the first floor - I discovered its existence after a year or two of coming here. Lastly, the breakfest at GB Roof provides for an outstanding view of the city and especially Acropolis.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Scipion-Paris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2013

I only have positive things to say about this hotel. It is as the title states...Grand! Coming back from the islands, we decided to stay a night in Athens to discover the city. If you have been to Athens recently, city blocks will look very spectacular, and then the block over could be in ruins. This hotel however is impressive throughout. Good location close to the main square. As you enter the hotel, it has a grand lobby. We checked in, no problems. We booked a Jr Suite, and had butler service. Once we got on our floor, our butler was waiting for us, and letting us know what he could do for us. He was very attentive to our needs. Our jr suite was opulent. Comfortable bed, huge balcony, large closet, beautiful washroom. We went to tour the city, and when we came back on arrival, we had a bottle of champagne, little condiments, and ouzo waiting for us, with a personalized letter from the GM saying thank you for staying at the GB. This was totally unexpected, but welcomed. We had the chance to relax in the pool area and sauna's....excellent. We did not get a chance to book a spa, but when we go back, definitely will do so. I recommend, if you have the time, to check out pool, sauna area...very relaxing.
We ate at the rooftop restaurant...and the view of Athens is spectacular. You get to take the best pictures up here as the backdrop of the Acropolis and other historic structures are beautiful. While I can't say much for the city of Athens...this hotel is great, and you will not be disappointed. Only negative thing though is, and not in relation to the GB, because it is right in the square, be prepared for protesters outside. Fortunately, inside the hotel, you are isolated from that. While it will cost you, it is worth every penny/euro. Total luxury and a historic landmark...you can't go wrong with the GB. Looking forward to coming back!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jia24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2013

The hotel offered an very reliable booking service and airport transfer which was arranged very professionally. I asked for a room with balcony facing thwe main square.. very impressive view of the historic downtown core and Acropolis. Roads are bust but rooms are very quiet. The roof top restaurant offered a great buffet, included in certain room rates. Staff was extremely courteous and helpful in all regards. Free wifi in lobby was nice also.

Room Tip: Ask for room facing main square, with balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DEK007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Htl_Grande_Bretagne, Manager at Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write your feedback after your recent stay at the Hotel Grande Bretagne. We were glad to read that you had an enjoyable time with us and that everything ran smoothly, from making your reservation to arriving at the hotel. We look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2013

I have stayed here three times in the last few years. My stay lasted from one weekend to nearly two weeks.

This is an exceptionally luxurious property with opulent public rooms, excellent cuisine, and butler service in some rooms. I have had excellent meals from room service and all hotel services have operated flawlessly. Such luxury does not come cheap with room rates routinely reaching 300-500 Euro per night. Despite these eye-watering prices, I feel the hotel is worth the substantial price tag.

Beyond the luxury, the hotel provides peace of mind. I have stayed at the hotel both during and in the immediate aftermath of several major protests in Athens as the result of political and economic conditions. I knew staying here would minimize the damaging effects of these events. That is not to say the hotel can shield its guests entirely, the location across the street from the Grand Palace means that some guests will see the protests. Nonetheless, I knew the hotel was protected by both the staff and Greek authorities. During major events there is always a large police presence in the lobby.

The quality of this hotel is outstanding and could certainly be considered a "once in a lifetime" stay. If you have the money, I believe you will find the Grand Bretagne well worth it! Happy traveling.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank twainandwhitman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Htl_Grande_Bretagne, Manager at Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for writing your comments after your recent stay at the Hotel Grande Bretagne. We were delighted by the warm words you wrote about us and are very happy that you enjoyed our services and atmosphere. We always strive to offer the very best and feedback such as yours makes it worthwhile. Looking forward to welcome you back on your next trip to Athens.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2013

Stayed at GB for 3 nights. One of the most luxuriuos hotels in Europe. Excellent location, efficient and attentive staff, confortable bed, classic, old style and very clean rooms. Ask for high floor. Don't miss the spa !! A luxury stay in the very heart of Athens. It is a historic landmark. Try to read the history of the hotel. It served as the headquarters of the greek, the german and then the british army durring the WWII. Behind the hotel don't miss the Pallas Theater and enjoy the best greek performers !!! Make reservation in time.

Room Tip: high floor, inner rooms are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gti1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Syntagma
King George, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#11 of 282 in Athens
3,263 reviews
Plaka
AVA Hotel Athens
AVA Hotel Athens
#2 of 282 in Athens
1,743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Thissio / Makriyanni
The Athens Gate Hotel
The Athens Gate Hotel
#14 of 282 in Athens
3,943 reviews
Hilton Athens
#17 of 282 in Athens
3,838 reviews
Syntagma
MET34 Athens Hotel
MET34 Athens Hotel
#1 of 282 in Athens
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel

Address: Vas. Georgiou A' 1 | Constitution Square, Athens 105 63, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Syntagma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 282 Hotels in Athens
Price Range: £201 - £698 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 321
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With breathtaking views of the famed Acropolis and Parthenon, regal Constitution Square and the Parliament, lush Lycabettus Hill, or the original Olympic Stadium, the Hotel Grande Bretagne offers unrivaled perspectives of Athens' mythical history. Each of the 320 guest rooms offers enchanting views of the hotel courtyard or a spellbinding panorama of the city's timeless landmarks, while the exquisite interiors pay homage to Greek culture with intricate moldings and classic decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing