We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, staff, & room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Ranked #4 of 281 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 April 2013

my wife and i stayed at this hotel from 3/24-3/30. we were placed on the 7th floor facing the constitution square, so we were able to see the change of the guards right from our window. We were not aware that in Greece they celebrate their independence day on march 25th and they had a huge parade in the hotel area. again, we were able to see the full parade from our little balcony and take many pictures! our package included breakfast which was sensational. The pastries, the cheeses, the juices.. and many more were delicious! i would say i had the freshest orange juice thous far from this hotel! to die for! the staff made our stay comfortable and we will definitely stay at this hotel next time we visit Athens.
my wife and i are from the united states and we felt that we were always dressed down. i noticed that everyone dresses up at this hotel for everything! so next time i will make sure to bag my nice shirts, slacks, and dress shoes.

Room Tip: try to stay on the high floors facing the constitution square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fngirgis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Htl_Grande_Bretagne, Manager at Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for writing your comments after your recent stay at the Hotel Grande Bretagne. We were delighted to read your review and glad that you enjoyed your experience with us and also had the chance to see the parade on the 25th of March. Indeed, it is a big national day here in Greece. We look forward to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,421)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,076 - 2,082 of 3,422 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2013

This was a great location for walking around the center of the city, including the Plaka. The rooms are not huge but they are comfortable and if you included breakfast in your package you won't be disappointed. The breakfast buffet is plentiful and very good. We arrived on Sunday and Monday was the national holiday so we watched the military parade from our room which overlooked the Parliament building. The concierge staff at this hotel is fantastic and their recommendations for transportation and restaurants were great (the national holiday coincided with the beginning of Lent and the religious calendar day of Evangelismos, so they sent us to a local place for the local dish that celebrates the beginning of Lent - very good). The concierge also got us in to the only Michelin star restaurant in the city on very short notice. Overall, we loved Athens and the Grande Bretagne is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dnbigelow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2013

Hotel Grande Bretagne is a very well located upmarket establishment...Awesome roof top restaurant with stunning views overlooking the city ...Will definitely revisit when in Athens...highly recommended... :)

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sanzahr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2013

I have just spent five nights at the Grande Bretagne in Athens. This is a very traditional luxury five star hotel, with a lot of extravagance, a lot of cream, a lot of large and deep mattresses, thick pillows, luxury spas, very traditional bar and restaurants - we loved it. For me the staff were fantastic (with the exception of one in the breakfast bar who gave me a lecture about Greek austerity whilst i got stuck in to my rather expensive and opulent breakfast in a five-star hotel (guilt!)).

We had a balcony room overlooking the Greek parliament, with a view out to the Panathenaic Stadium. Many of the rooms also have views towards the Acropolis so make sure you ask for this when checking in. The rooms are small but again this is a traditional luxury hotel with a lot of history so i was entirely happy with that.

One of the best things about the hotel was the breakfast bar (without the political lectures). I normally struggle to get out of bed for breakfast on my holidays however i was up fresh every morning to enjoy the incredible views from the 8th Floor - they really were stunning (and the food is decent).

Apologies for using the word 'traditional' a lot - it just was.

PS. Be very careful on booking websites not to confuse this hotel with the Grande Bretagne in Nafplion, about two hours away. This is the first time i ever made such a mistake and it was a costly one.

Room Tip: Room 618 was fantastic, no view of the Acropolis but the balcony looking out to the parliament and s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LondonGuy1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Htl_Grande_Bretagne, Manager at Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write your comments after your recent stay at the Hotel Grande Bretagne. It is always a pleasure to receive such positive feedback on our hotel and services offered, as we always strive to make your stay a memorable experience. We are looking forward to welcoming you back to our Hotel on future visits to Athens.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2013

When I decided to visit Athens I asked around to find out what was the best hotel in Athens and everyone I asked said the same thing, The Grande Bretagne. In fact its probably one of the nicest hotels in Europe. Its right in the center of the city with a view of he acropolis from the top floor. The hotel is very well maintained and the staff were all pleasant. I was a little upset that the hotels spa was closed during our visit It was suppose to be opened on the first day of our stay. The front desk was clueless about the closure and kept telling me it would be open later that day. It did not open my entire stay even though it was scheduled to be open. I would not have stayed in the hotel as long as I stayed if they would have made us aware of the closure. Also, Despite booking directly with SPG I was placed in the worst room in the hotel. A small dark room with a view of the interior courtyard wall at the very end of a long hallway. The front desk would not change my room. I mentioned this at check out and no compensation was offered for the spa being closed and we were not allowed to check out early. Management response could have been better.

Room Tip: dont get stuck with a courtyard room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hugh C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Htl_Grande_Bretagne, Manager at Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for posting your comments after your recent stay at the Hotel Grande Bretagne. First, we would like to apologize for the inconvenience caused by the closure of the GB Spa and by not informing you appropriately when enquired about it. Rest assured that the matter has been communicated to the Spa and Front Office Managers in order to be taken into serious consideration and correct any shortcomings. We truly appreciate your feedback as it gives us the opportunity to improve. Hopefully we will be given the opportunity to welcome you back on your next trip to Athens, were you will be able to fully enjoy the GB Spa and the relaxing services it offers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2013

Is not my first stay at this magnificent hotel, as always everything was excellent, the reception staff and the winter garden staff were fantastic, one of the best hotels in Europe and for sure the best in Greece

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank COSI77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Htl_Grande_Bretagne, Manager at Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2013

We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed your recent stay at the Hotel Grande Bretagne and would like to thank you for your comments. The hotel always tries to exceed the expectations of its guests and such warm words give us all the motivation we need. Looking forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2013

For luxury and comfort, hard to beat. Attentive service, good food, intelligently equipped room, fabulous view, very expensive, but worth it. We spent four nights there and did not encounter a misstep once.

Room Tip: If possible you want a high floor on the south side, facing the Acropolis. The seventh floor has li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RobinClem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Syntagma
King George, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#12 of 281 in Athens
3,206 reviews
Plaka
Electra Metropolis Athens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Athens
#17 of 281 in Athens
3,761 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
The Athens Gate Hotel
The Athens Gate Hotel
#14 of 281 in Athens
3,893 reviews
Syntagma
New Hotel
New Hotel
#8 of 281 in Athens
1,554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel

Address: Vas. Georgiou A' 1 | Constitution Square, Athens 105 63, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Syntagma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 281 Hotels in Athens
Price Range: £254 - £663 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 321
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With breathtaking views of the famed Acropolis and Parthenon, regal Constitution Square and the Parliament, lush Lycabettus Hill, or the original Olympic Stadium, the Hotel Grande Bretagne offers unrivaled perspectives of Athens' mythical history. Each of the 320 guest rooms offers enchanting views of the hotel courtyard or a spellbinding panorama of the city's timeless landmarks, while the exquisite interiors pay homage to Greek culture with intricate moldings and classic decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing